Welcome to the Spanish Linguistics Library dashboard. This dashboard provides quick links to support your research about Spanish Phonetics and Phonology, Morphosyntax, Sociolinguistics, Applied Linguistics, and Bilingualism. Moreover it includes related resources about Hispanic Culture that can be useful.
Whether you are On- or Off-Grounds, UVA Library services and support are available to all students. If you are Off-Grounds don’t forget to learn how to access all subscribing library resources.
My name is Miguel Angel Valladares Llata or simply ([MEE] + [GEL])
I am available whenever you have difficulties locating, using, or discovering all kinds of resources that are useful for your process of acquiring the Spanish language.
I am available to all students researching any Latin American or Iberian topics. If you need to do a large or brief research, meeting with a subject librarian early in your research process is key to save you time and and improve the content of your work or class presentations.
I am also very interested in hearing about your opinion on how to improve our library; let me know If you discover new material that may be useful for your research or have an opinion on how to improve our services and resources when you are working in Spanish language..
The most immediate way to contact me is through email. email@example.com. I can meet you either by zoom or in person.
Using Library Facilities.
How do I... ?
Consult tutorials, tips, and tricks about all the Library has to offer. Learn to use Virgo, discover databases & subject guides, explore Information Literacy training, download lesson plan templates, and much more.
To expand your research, consult: Linguistics (Spanish) Guide
Or, the entire list of databases UVA provides access: A-Z databases list:
To find other specific book catalogs, consult this: LibGuide
Most Recommended Web Based Dictionary:
Diccionarios.com (Vox / Larrouse)
A Multi languages & Multi uses dictionary created by Larouse/Vox company with more that 50 different dictionaries in a single interface. Among them: Medical Spanish Dictionary (Spanish-English-Spanish plus diccionario médico de consulta), Diccionario de la lengua española (Spanish-Spanish) or Diccionario enciclopédico.
Important. When accessing this dictionary if you can not see in the upper right corner: Bienvenido University of Virginia, it means that you are not using our subscription. In that case, you can access this resource following the steps for Off-grounds access.
Web version: Spanish/ Spanish :
The application for online access from mobile devices can be downloaded from here;:
Google Play: https://goo.gl/LXTLnu
Apple Store: https://goo.gl/MtBXi3
It is also possible to download the entire resource for consultation without an internet connection::
Google Play: goo.gl/YUJGgO
Apple Store: goo.gl/aHk0MM
If you need more language resources in print or in electronic format (Usage,Synonyms, Grammar, Stylistics, Spanish language in America, etc), please click on this libguide link.
To search a large number of news outlets in Spanish language:
If you need more news resources, please click this tab
An open source database:
For more resources, please click in this tab