Style Manuals & Citation Help
MLA style is a popular citation style for English language and literature, but it is not the only one. Some professors (or publishers, if you are writing an article to be published) may prefer a different style, such as Chicago style, so always check before you format and submit your work.
MLA Handbook 8th ed. by
The Modern Language Association, the authority on research and writing, takes a fresh look at documenting sources in the eighth edition of the MLA Handbook. Works are published today in a dizzying range of formats. A book, for example, may be read in print, online, or as an e-book--or perhaps listened to in an audio version. On the Web, modes of publication are regularly invented, combined, and modified. Previous editions of the MLA Handbookprovided separate instructions for each format, and additional instructions were required for new formats. In this groundbreaking new edition of its best-selling handbook, the MLA recommends instead one universal set of guidelines, which writers can apply to any type of source. Shorter and redesigned for easy use, the eighth edition of the MLA Handbook guides writers through the principles behind evaluating sources for their research. It then shows them how to cite sources in their writing and create useful entries for the works-cited list. More than just a new edition, this is a new MLA style.
ISBN: 9781603292627Publication Date: 2016
MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers. 7th edition by
Widely adopted by universities, colleges, and secondary schools, the MLA Handbook is the guide millions of writers have relied on for over half a century. The seventh edition, taken out of print by the MLA in spring 2016 upon publication of the eighth edition, provides the MLA's previous recommendations on documentation style for use in student writing. Please note that copies of the seventh edition of the MLA Handbook include a code for accessing an accompanying Web site. The Web site is no longer available.
ISBN: 9781603290241Publication Date: 2009
- The MLA Style Center - Using MLA FormatThe official website on MLA style. This site will show you how to document sources, set up your paper, and improve your writing.
- Purdue OWL: MLA Formatting & Style GuideAn essential resource from Purdue University with examples and advice for creating in-text citations and bibliographies using MLA style.
- Chicago Manual of StyleThe official style guide for CMS.
- Purdue OWL: Chicago Manual of StyleA great resource from Purdue University with lots of examples for citing sources in CMS.
- Chicago Style: Notes and Bibliography: Sample CitationsExamples of note and bibliography citations for books, chapters from edited volumes, electronic resources, newspaper articles, interviews, websites, and social media content.
What is a Citation Manager?
Citation management software can be a useful tool for anyone doing research. A citation manager like Zotero allows you to:
- Create bibliographies quickly and automatically format in-text citations with word processing software (Word, Google Docs, Open Office).
- Collect citations as you research, and save them in a personal account.
- Add citations automatically from UVA's Library's Virgo catalog and databases without having to cut and paste or retype the information.
- Annotate citations and link them to full-text documents.
- Organize citations into folders.
More information on Zotero is below. If you would like help learning how to use Zotero, contact Sherri (slb4kt@virginia.edu) or click here for a list of upcoming workshops on how to use this citation management tool.
Zotero
How it works:
- Desktop download and browser plugin. Citations are saved on your computer and to the Zotero server, and may be synced across devices.
How to get it:
- Download at https://www.zotero.org/download/. Options to download Zotero for your computer (Windows, macOS, Linux), and plugins to connect Zotero to Chrome, Firefox, or Safari or add a bookmarklet that works in any browser.
Strengths:
- Easy to access and use from your desktop and either Chrome, Safari, or Firefox; importing citations can be accomplished with one click.
- Share citations with other users and the public using the Groups feature.
- Excellent for capturing information about web resources. Allows you to save and annotate websites.
- You can save attachments to Zotero’s server or your personal computer.
Weaknesses:
- Use on more than one computer requires syncing; not designed for use on public or shared computers.
How to get help:
- See the Zotero research guide for detailed information, visit the Zotero website, or Ask a Librarian.