Services
- Purchase Recommendation: Ask the Library to purchase books, videos, etc. to add to the Library collection. Instructors may request the purchase of items for student course reserves. Talk to me more about adding to the collection according to your research interests.
- Request an Interlibrary Loan (ILL): Students and faculty who need materials not owned by the UVA Library can have them borrowed from another library.
- Schedule a research consultation with a library liaison: Subject liaisons are the Library’s advisers to the academic departments. They are available to answer questions about library resources and assist with in-depth research.
Special Collections and Labs
- Albert and Shirley Small Special Collections Library: Strong collections across literature and adjacent fields, particularly American literature, Virginiana, book history and book arts.
- Scholars' Lab: Provides consultation and training on digital humanities methods, with particular strength in textual and spatial analysis.
- Research Data Services: Provides support and training for data analysis, computation, and visualization, including methods for text analysis.
Off-Grounds Access
Reload button @UVA: Add the button to your browser's bookmark toolbar (see instructions below). Whenever you come across a journal or article you think you should be able to access, click the button to reload the page through the UVA Library proxy.
- Firefox: Drag the button to the bookmarks toolbar or right click and select the "Bookmark This Link" option.
- Chrome or Safari: Drag the button to the bookmarks toolbar. If the bookmarks toolbar isn't visible, press Ctrl + Shift + B (in Chrome).
*Note: Reloading the page through the proxy still won't give you access if it's a resource we don't subscribe to. To verify access, look up the journal or database in the appropriate list.
Google Scholar
Google Scholar is good for tracking down PDFs of journal articles and figuring out metrics/impact. To set up preferences to recognize UVA as your "home institution":
- Settings--> Library Links --> University of Virginia Libraries --> "Find this @UVA"
- Save preferences. (Note: Cookies must be enabled for this to work.)