It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Primary Resources for Distinguished Majors Project
New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Chicago Defender, Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, Norfolk Journal and Guide, Pittsburgh Courier, NY Amsterdam News, Baltimore Afro-American, Washington Post, and The Guardian & The Observer.
This comprehensive news collection is ideal for exploring issues and events at the local, regional, national and international level. Its diverse source types include print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts and videos. It currently contains over 9,600 sources from 160 countries.
Information by and about the U.S. Congress: documents and reports, Legislative Histories, hearings, and members and committees. Search the Congressional Record, Federal Register, Federal Regulations, The Hill, and Roll Call. Formerly LexisNexis Congressional.
The digital Loeb Classical Library makes Greek and Latin literature accessible to the broadest range of readers. Harvard University Press presents an interconnected, fully searchable, perpetually growing, virtual library of all Greek and Latin literature: Epic and lyric poetry; tragedy and comedy; history, travel, philosophy, and oratory; the great medical writers and mathematicians; those Church Fathers who made particular use of pagan culture — in short, our entire Greek and Latin Classical heritage with up-to-date texts and accurate English translations. More than 520 volumes of Latin, Greek, and English texts are available in a modern interface, allowing readers to browse, search, bookmark, annotate, and share content.
With more than 12,000 primary source documents, this database provides comprehensive data for the study of contemporary Chinese Anti-Rightest history and other closely related political movements. Fully searchable in either Chinese or English interfaces, and by author, keyword, title, date, subject, and place.
Largest online database for the study of the Cultural Revolution, consisting of primary source documents such as CCP notices, instructions, proclamations, and speeches, with new material added monthly. Searchable by author, subjects, title, dates, keywords, and place in either Chinese or English interface.
The Journal Database for the Republican Period (1911-1949) covers over 20,000 journal titles. The journal database contains information on all aspects of life, including political, economic, military, social, and livelihood. It provides first-hand information to study the history of the Republic China.
U.Va. has a trial through May 30 to Adam Matthew databases, including "Migration to New Worlds," a valuable resource for this topic. Search using keywords, then limit by collection. This can be a tricky interface, and is new to us, so please contact Keith Weimer (firstname.lastname@example.org ) if you have difficulty.
Klondike Gold Rush
See VIRGO, Proquest Congressional, Historical Newspapers
Retrospective, full-text .pdf coverage of hundreds of legal periodicals, U.S. Supreme Court cases, the U.S. Statutes at Large, Congressional Record, hearings and other legislative history materials, Federal Register, U.S. Attorney General opinions, U.S. treaties and agreements, Foreign and International Law, Israel Law Reports, English Reports, Hague Academy Recueil des Cours, Parker School of Foreign and Comparative Law collection, and the Virginia Law Weekly archive. Searchable by citation, author/title, and keyword.
News and business information from sources around the world; book reviews, biographical, and other reference sources; U.S. Code, constitution, and court cases. Includes many newspapers. Most entries are full-text, some updated daily.
For most of the twentieth century the American Civil Liberties Union (ACLU) was the principal defender of the rights that citizens can assert against government. These files cover numerous topics that resonate for contemporary research. Subjects include: the first “Red Scare” following the Russian Revolution of 1917; debates in the 1920s on immigration; the American Birth Control League; lynchings in the 1930s; debates on aliens and immigrants in the years immediately preceding the U.S. entry into the Second World War; and the ACLU’s involvement in two of the mid-century’s most important issues: the Vietnam War and the Civil Rights movement.