Learning Resources
- Online Thinking ToolBrainstorming exercise to develop your topic and keywords
- Getting Started with VirgoAn introduction to Virgo, the Library's catalog of resources.
- Finding a Book in the LibraryLearn about the process of locating a book at the UVA Libraries.
- Databases 101This video introduces viewers to conducting research in library databases.
- Databases 102This video introduces viewers to strategies for searching in library databases.
Librarian
UVA Databases of Primary Sources
- Indigenous Peoples: North America This link opens in a new windowDatabase of primary sources relating to indigenous peoples in the US and Canada. Researchers can explore the impact of invasion and colonization on Indigenous Peoples in North America, and the intersection of Indigenous and European histories and systems of knowledge through the use of manuscripts, monographs, newspapers, photographs, motion pictures, images of artwork, and more.
- Indigenous Histories and Cultures in North America This link opens in a new windowExplore manuscripts, artwork and rare printed books dating from the earliest contact with European settlers right up to photographs and newspapers from the mid-twentieth century.
- Indigenous Peoples of the Americas: History, Culture & Law (HeinOnline)Access different types of legal documents related to American Indians, including government documents, treaties, Supreme Court cases and briefs, and much more.
- Indigenous Digital Archive: IDA Treaties Explorer This link opens in a new windowWhile treaties between Indigenous peoples and the United States affect virtually every area in the USA, there is as yet no official list of all the treaties. The US National Archives holds 374 of the treaties, where they are known as the Ratified Indian Treaties. Here you can view them for the first time with key historic works that provide context to the agreements made and the histories of our shared lands.
- ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new windowInformation by and about the U.S. Congress: documents and reports, Legislative Histories, hearings, and members and committees. Search the Congressional Record, Federal Register, Federal Regulations, The Hill, and Roll Call. Formerly LexisNexis Congressional.
- American Indian Newspapers This link opens in a new windowAmerican Indian Newspapers aims to present a diverse and robust collection of print journalism from Indigenous peoples of the US and Canada over more than 9,000 individual editions from 1828-2016.
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new windowNew York Times, Wall Street Journal, Chicago Defender, Chicago Tribune, Norfolk Journal and Guide, Pittsburgh Courier, NY Amsterdam News, Baltimore Afro-American, Washington Post, and The Guardian & The Observer.
Primary Sources Available Outside of the UVA Library
- DPLA (Digital Public Library of America)The DPLA makes digitized primary sources available online from libraries, museums, and archives across the U.S.
- Viewing American Indian Treaties - U.S. National ArchivesThe National Archives contains documents and records created by the U.S. Federal government, including many treaties between the government and Native American tribes. There are multiple ways to view treaties linked from this page.
- Native American History and Culture: Finding Pictures at the Library of CongressAn overview of Prints & Photographs Division visual resources, including photographs, drawings, engravings, lithographs, posters, and architectural drawings, related to North American Indigenous communities. Includes search strategies and tips.
UVA Databases of Secondary Sources
- VirgoSearches books in the UVA Library as well as a number of articles, films, and Special Collections materials
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowJSTOR provides access to millions of journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. The Archive Journal Collection is included.
API available, more information here: APIs for Scholarly Research - America: History & Life (1964-present) This link opens in a new windowCovers the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to present with records from 2,000 English-language journals published worldwide. Includes book reviews.
- Hein Online This link opens in a new windowIncludes legal analysis, articles published in law reviews and legal journals, numerous government documents, and more.
- Databases A-Z listSee the full list of databases UVA subscribes to at this link