Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ENLT 2526: American Environmental Fictions

Mary Kuhn · Fall 2017

This guide contains links to resources that will help you find objects of analysis and supporting research materials for your second writing assignment.  If you have questions or need help, don't hesitate to get in touch!  

Using the library catalog

VIRGO, the U.Va. Library’s primary search tool, contains catalog records for books, print journals, DVDs, maps, and digitized materials, as well as links to online articles from our rich array of subscription journals.  You can search catalog materials and articles together, or view those results separately, using the "facets" provided to limit your results by author, format, publication period, and more.  

Finding digitized books online

HathiTrust includes millions of scanned books from academic libraries, including UVA. Features better bibliographic data and better treatment of multi-volume works than Google Books.

The Internet Archive is large repository of open resources across different types of media.  The American Libraries collection contains books scanned from research libraries, including some not found in Google or Hathi.

Finding scholarship on literary sources

The MLA International Bibliography (MLAIB) indexes the broadest range of resources about literature in all languages, including over 4,000 journals as well as books and dissertations.  It is not a full-text resource, meaning that you can only search the description of an article, rather than the text of the article.  To get the full text of an article, click on “Find article @ UVa Libraries”, or look up the journal title in VIRGO.

Project Muse provides full-text searching of recent articles from major scholarly journals, including about 120 journals about literature.  Not as comprehensive as MLAIB, but the full-text search will do a better job of picking up matches for specific themes or subjects.  Articles are immediately available as PDFs.

JSTOR contains back issues (usually five years old or older) of significant scholarly journals in many subjects, including language and literature.  Like Project Muse, JSTOR is not as comprehensive as the MLAIB, but offers the advantages of full-text searching and instant access to PDFs.

Finding newspaper and periodical content

The library has vast collections of newspapers and periodicals, historical and current, in print, on microfilm, and online.  Listed below are just a few of the online resources for finding historical newspapers and periodicals; consult the newspapers guide for more information.  For current newspapers, LexisNexis and Factiva are your best bets.


19th Century British Library Newspapers includes searchable full text and page images of 48 national and regional British newspapers from the collections of the British Library.

ProQuest Historical Newspapers is a searchable archive of mainstream US newspapers, including the NY Times (1851-1999), the Wall Street Journal (1889-1995), the Chicago Tribune (1890-1969), the Washington Post (1877-1987), and the LA Times (1881-1985), as well as prominent black newspapers including the Chicago Defender, Norfolk Journal and Guide, Pittsburgh Courier, Baltimore Afro-American, and NY Amsterdam News.

American Periodicals (Series 1) includes full text of over 1000 journals published in the US between 1740 and 1900.

British Periodicals includes hundreds of periodicals from the late seventeenth century to the early twentieth, reproduced in high-resolution facsimile page images. Topics covered include literature, philosophy, history, science, the social sciences, music, art, drama, archaeology and architecture.

Finding images

ARTstor is a digital library of nearly one million images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences.

The American Memory Project contains primary source documents and archives for American history and culture from the Library of Congress. It includes printed text, collections of photographs, and some scanned manuscripts.

A sub-site of Flickr, Flickr Commons is a collection of images from cultural institutions, including the Smithsonian, the Library of Congress, and more. Many of these images are in the public domain.

Citing your sources

MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing
Chicago Manual of Style
Purdue OWL: Research and Citation Resources