Welcome
Welcome to the HILA library dashboard. The dashboard provides quick links to the resources you need to succeed in your course. Whether you are online or on-Grounds, UVA Library services and support are available to all students.
Your Librarian
Your Librarian is Keith Weimer.
Each school/department at UVA is assigned a research librarian. Connect with Keith for help with your assignments. This service is available to all HILA students, and meeting with a librarian early in your research process can help you save time and get a better grade.
Keith can help with: learning how to use the Library online, brainstorming your research topic, developing your search strategy, capstone/thesis/dissertation planning, identifying relevant databases/journals for your literature reviews, tracking down resources, and citation management. Keith can meet with you in-person or online via Zoom.
Ask a Librarian
Sign Up for Library events
Sign up for Library orientations, workshops, and events with our online calendar. UVA Library programming is offered in-person and online.
Search for academic articles
Academic databases contain peer-reviewed articles, scientific papers, reports, and more. These are the most used databases for HILA research.
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new windowFind articles about the history of the world from 1450 to the present, published in over 2,000 journals from many countries. Includes book reviews. Does not include articles about the US or Canada. For these see America: History & Life.
- HLAS Online: Handbook of Latin American Studies This link opens in a new windowAnnotated list of selected new publications on social sciences and humanities concerning Latin America. Choose English, Spanish, or Portuguese interfaces.
- Hispanic American Periodical Index This link opens in a new windowThe Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI) provides over 275,000 journal article citations about Central America, South America, the Caribbean, Mexico, Brazil, and Hispanics/Latinos in the United States. HAPI currently provides over 60,000 links to the full text of articles appearing in more than 600 key social science and humanities journals published throughout the world.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowJSTOR provides access to millions of journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. The Archive Journal Collection is included.
API available, more information here: APIs for Scholarly Research
Search Virgo
Help me with Chicago citations
For most courses in HIST our preferred citation style is The Chicago Manual of Style
- Use Zotero to organize your sources and generate bibliographiesGuide to downloading and using Zotero, a free application that collects, manages, and cites research sources.
- Use Zoterobib to generate example citationsConvenient citation generator (for both footnotes and bibliographies) in any style. Some citations may need manual editing. Check them against your original source, and when in doubt, refer to the Chicago Manual of Style of ask a librarian.
Stay up to date with news
- World Newspapers Archive - Latin American Newspapers, Series 1 & 2 This link opens in a new windowThis collection provides access to nearly 300 newspapers from across Latin America from the 19th and early 20th centuries.