Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HIUS 4501: Capitalism and Slavery

Online Resources for North American Slavery

Black Abolitionist Archive From the University of Detroit Mercy. 1830s-1860s covered. Search by keyword, subject, name, date, organization, newspaper.

America's Historical Newspapers Searchable full text collection of US newspapers. For additional titles see 19th Century U.S. Newspapers 

African-American Newspapers (1827-1860) Searchable text and page images for 7 African-American newspapers published between 1827 and 1860. The Accessible Archives Collections is in fact much broader and includes a range of early American newspapers from a number of localities throughout the 18th and 19th centuries, including the South Carolina Newspapers.

Sabin Americana 1500-1926Sabin reaches into all aspects of American history and culture. It touches upon the political and religious life in North America and at times South America and the Caribbean. It features American and European views of the colonization of the Americas, the American Revolution, the days of the early Republic and Jacksonian period, the antebellum period, Civil War, era of Reconstruction and post-Reconstruction, the settlement of the West and the onset of the Gilded Age. Through published pamphlets, tracts, memoirs, congressional legislation, correspondence, broadsides, biographies, histories, fiction and poetry, eulogies, sermons and innumerable other genres, Sabin opens a window onto the Americas.