Welcome
Welcome to the RELJ library dashboard. The dashboard provides quick links to the resources you need to succeed in your course. Whether you are online or on-Grounds, UVA Library services and support are available to all students.
Your Librarian
Your Librarian is Keith Weimer.
Each school/department at UVA is assigned a research librarian. Connect with Keith for help with your assignments. This service is available to all RELJ students, and meeting with a librarian early in your research process can help you save time and get a better grade.
Keith can help with: learning how to use the Library online, brainstorming your research topic, developing your search strategy, capstone/thesis/dissertation planning, identifying relevant databases/journals for your literature reviews, tracking down resources, and citation management. Keith can meet with you in-person or online via Zoom.
Ask a Librarian
Sign Up for Library events
Sign up for Library orientations, workshops, and events with our online calendar. UVA Library programming is offered in-person and online.
Consult Handbooks
- Responsa Project This link opens in a new windowThe Online Responsa Project encompasses the best of the Jewish sources representing a period of over three thousand years of heritage and tradition. The database includes the Bible and its principal commentaries, the Talmud Bavli and Talmud Yerushalmi with commentaries, Midrash, Zohar, Halachic Law (Rambam, Shulchan Aruch with commentaries), a large Responsa collection of questions and answers ('Shut' in Hebrew), the Talmudic Encyclopedia, etc. The overall volume of the online project, is reaching to 200 million words. The ‘Shut’ includes 100,000 Halachic laws over a period of thousand years, from all over the world. Extensive biographical data on the authors of Responsa texts have been added as well. Our access is limited to 5 concurrent users.
- Encyclopedia of Jewish History and Culture Online This link opens in a new windowFrom Europe to America to the Middle East, North Africa and other non-European Jewish settlement areas, the Encyclopedia of Jewish History and Culture covers the recent history of the Jews from 1750 until the 1950s.
- Encyclopaedia Judaica This link opens in a new windowComprehensive encyclopedia with over 21,000 entries on all aspects of Jewish life, culture, history, and religion.
Search for academic articles
Academic databases contain peer-reviewed articles, scientific papers, reports, and more. These are the most used databases for RELJ research.
- RAMBI: The Index of Articles on Jewish Studies This link opens in a new windowA selective bibliography of scholarly articles in Hebrew, Yiddish, and European languages in all fields of Jewish studies and the study of Israel.
- ATLA Religion Database with ATLA Serials This link opens in a new windowLists articles on all aspects of religious studies from journals in many disciplines. Includes citations to book chapters and to book reviews. ATLASerials adds the full text of many journals.
- Religion and Philosophy Collection This link opens in a new windowAbstracts and full-textfrom some 300 journals covering such topics as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowJSTOR provides access to millions of journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. The Archive Journal Collection is included.
API available, more information here: APIs for Scholarly Research
Search Virgo
News Sources
- Newspapers & Other News MediaGuide to News resources available at UVA.
- American Hebrew & Jewish Messenger Archive This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1857 - 1922
The American Hebrew was a weekly Jewish newspaper published in New York City. In 1903 it merged with the Jewish Messenger. The paper covered many topics of Jewish interest internationally. Many prominent Jewish writers and communal workers in the United States have been contributors to its pages. - American Israelite Archive This link opens in a new windowCoverage is from 1905-1990
The Jewish Advocate serves as a primary source of news and information as well as a forum for discussion and debate, providing lines of communication uniting the community and supporting the efforts aimed at reinvigorating and broadening Jewish religious and cultural life. - Jewish Advocate Archive This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1854 - 2000
The American Israelite is the longest-running English-language Jewish newspaper still published in the United States. The newspaper's two goals were to spread the principles of Reform Judaism, and to keep American Jews in touch with Jewish affairs and their religious identity. - Jewish Exponent Archive This link opens in a new windowCoverage is from 1887-1990
The Jewish Exponent has carried news of developments in Israel, efforts to rescue Jews the world over from repressive regimes, and the ever-expanding role of Jews in American public life. Along the way, it has garnered honors each year from the American Jewish Press Association for excellence in Jewish journalism for its news, features, reviews and commentary.