Sources to identify "top" Degas Literature
- Degas in Grove Dictionary of ArtBe sure to check the various Bibliographies (though they are not entirely up to date...)
Research Librarian for Architecture
Finding "The Best Scholarly Sources"
What is a scholarly source?
Scholarly sources (also referred to as academic, peer-reviewed, or refereed sources) are written by experts in a particular field and serve to keep others interested in that field up to date on the most recent research, findings, and news. These resources will provide the most substantial information for your research and papers.
How can I tell if a source is scholarly?
Scholarly journals:
- Are written by and for faculty, researchers or scholars
- Use the language of the discipline
- Are often refereed or peer reviewed by specialists before being accepted for publication
- Include full citations for sources
- Book reviews or editorials are not considered scholarly articles, even when found in scholarly journals
Scholarly vs. Popular ChecklistOne-page checklist used to differentiate between popular and scholarly sources
Research Resources
- *NEW* ONLINE DIGITAL CRITICAL CATALOGMichel Schulman's critical catalog includes images of Degas' works. Information on each work includes a bibliography of where that work appears.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowFind articles from most online scholarly journals plus some books and Web sites. Use Advanced Search if you get too many results; use Preferences to turn on links to Find@UVa and RefWorks.
- Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new windowFull text (PDF) of most US dissertations from 1997 on, many earlier works and some from outside the US plus some master's theses. Also lists all dissertations and theses from 1861 on from US universities and some works from Europe and Asia from 1637 on. Abstracts included after July, 1980.
See also Finding Dissertations - Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new windowArt & Architecture Source is a full-text art research database covering fine, decorative and commercial art, as well as architecture and architectural design. With strong international coverage, it offers hundreds of full-text art journals, magazines and books, plus detailed indexing and abstracts and thousands of images.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowJSTOR provides access to millions of journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. The Archive Journal Collection is included.
- ARTbibliographies Modern This link opens in a new windowAbstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, PhD dissertations, and exhibition reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary art published since the late 1960s.
- Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new windowComprehensive encyclopedia of the visual arts of Asia, Africa, Europe, the Americas, and the Pacific with links to tens of thousands of images.
- BHA: Bibliography of the History of Art This link opens in a new windowFind articles, catalogs, essays, etc.on all aspects of the visual arts, architecture, and design in the post-Classical western world.