Skip to Main Content

ORCID at UVA

Add works to your ORCID record

"Works are your research outputs, including publications, data sets, conference presentations, and more. While it is possible to add works manually, we recommend that you permit trusted organizations to add and update this information for you - look for the green ID icon next time you submit a paper, book chapter, or book (learn more about auto-updates). Allowing trusted organizations to add information to your record ensures the data connected with your ORCID ID is authoritative and trustworthy, as well as saving you time entering information manually. The organization which added the work to your record will be listed as the source of the item. The maximum number of works you can add to your ORCID record is 10,000." (Source: Add works to your ORCID record.)

There are several ways to add a work to an ORCID record. 

  • Auto-Update from trusted organizations (e.g., publisher or third-party system). If you have connected your ORCID iD to UVA, all works you deposit to UVa’s Institutional Repository, LibraOpen and LibraETD (Theses/Dissertations), will automatically be added to your ORCID record.
  • Add works by using Search & Link tools to directly import citations from other systems (e.g., databases)
  • Add works by using an identifier
  • Import works from a BibTeX file
  • Add works manually

 

When you add a duplicate citation for a work to your ORCID record you will be prompted to choose which source for the citation is preferred.  Learn more by viewing the short video Grouping works on your ORCID record

Auto-update your ORCID record using Crossref and DataCite

Graphic flowchart text: If you authorize Crossref and DataCite to update your ORCID record; and you add your ORCID to your paper or dataset submission; when your publication gets a DOI, your ORCID record will get updated automatically!

How to get a work into an ORCID record by using

If you include your ORCID ID when you submit a work for publication or deposit a dataset, you can authorize Crossref and DataCite to automatically update your record when the content is registered and has a DOI. To automatically get datasets deposited in UVa’s data repository, LibraData, added to your ORCID record, include your ORCID when depositing and enable “auto-update” on DataCite (see below for link).

  • For CrossRef, the auto-update system is activated by invitation from your ORCID Inbox
  • For DataCite, you must enable auto-update in your personal DataCite profile.

 

For more details, please see:

How to import works into your ORCID record using a Search & Link wizard from ORCID on Vimeo.

Recommended as the best way to populate your ORCID record, Search & Link tools (or wizards) to databases makes it easy to import accurate and complete citations into the works section of your ORCID record.  The Search & Link process can begin on the ORCID site or at some databases.

A. If you begin in your ORCID record:

  1. Go to Add Works and choose "Search & Link"
  2. Select the database that matches your subject area.
  3. Click on the Authorize Access button.
  4. After authorizing, you are taken to the database where you can search your name.
  5. Citations in the search results will include an "Add to ORCID" link (look for ORCID's green ID).

Popular databases available include: CrossRef, DataCite, Europe PubMed Central (includes PubMed), the MLA International Bibliography, and Overleaf.

B. If you begin in a database:

  1. Login to your ORCID account on one tab.
  2. Choose what database to search from the list below and start a search session using another tab.
  3. In the database, sending citations to your ORCID record only works when you use a personal login.
  4. Search your name as an author and select the citations of your publications.
  5. Look for the ORCID icon on the search results page or by your personal account.  There will be a link to send the citations to your ORCID record.  
  6. You will be prompted to Authorize Access for the database to send your citations to your ORCID record.

Popular databases with wizards for directly importing your citations into your ORCID record include: Scopus and MLA International Bibliography. Dimensions Plus is not on the Search & Links list but supports direct import of search results to ORCID after registering and logging in to database with your SUNet ID.  In addition to doing searches on-demand, alerting services offered by databases notify you about your new works (this is helpful if your works won't have a DOI).

For more help, please see: Add works by direct import from other systems

You can add a work using any of the following identifiers:

Click Add works, then +Add ArXiv ID, + Add DOI, or + Add PubMed ID.   After selecting the type of identifier, type or paste the full URL or just the identifier value.

For more help, please see: Add works using an identifier.

Using the BibTeX import tool, you can import your research works from systems that have not yet built a connection with ORCID.  ORCID has tested their import tool with BibTeX generated from standard BibTeX providers, including Google Scholar Citations. For more information on how to export your Google Scholar citations to a BibTeX file, please see Google Scholar Citations help.  However, ORCID strongly recommends using Direct Import from other systems, rather than relying on BibTeX.

For more information, please see Importing works from a BibTeX file (includes Import works using BibTeX, BibTeX import errors, Help make our BibTeX parser better).

 

To add a work yourself, click Add works, then +Add manually, and a box will appear enabling you to complete for a manual work citation. See ORCID's works metadata article for a description of all the fields. 

For more help, please see: Add works manually

How to group works on your ORCID record

Contact Us

About the Library

Using the Library

Other Sites

Terms   |   Feedback
Login to LibApps