Researcher Support

Resources from UVA Library for Researchers

Get Help with Your Research

Find your Subject Liaison Librarian
Meet your Subject Specialist
Research Guides by Subject
Resource guides to help you begin a research project, explore databases in your field, and find the information you need at any stage of your research.
Faculty Research Sprints
Research Sprints offer an intensive work environment for faculty who want to concentrate their energies on a new or existing project. Individuals or teams get the undivided attention of a team of librarians for projects related to any phase or aspect of their research, scholarship, or teaching.
Research Data Services
Research Data Services offers support in the areas of data management, data wrangling, statistical consulting, data discovery and access, and research software.
Robertson Media Center
The RMC provides consultations, training, studios, professional film making gear, and editing software, along with self-service tools for transferring media from legacy formats.

UVA Library Digital Humanities Center: Scholars' Lab and IATH

Institute for Advanced Technology in the Humanities consultation
IATH provides consultations around XML,TEI, PHP, relational databases, and 3D cultural heritage modeling. Faculty can also apply for annual fellowships.
Scholars' Lab consultation
The Scholars' Lab offers guidance on digital humanities pedagogy and research, cultural heritage 3D scanning, VR applications, scholarly making, and GIS/geospatial analysis.

Find Resources for Your Research

Virgo - the Library's Catalog
Search the Library's catalog. Should contain all print materials, and will contain many (but not all) electronic resources.
Databases A-Z listing
A listing of all 1000+ electronic resources/databases available through the Library. Contains many journals, books, and other specialty resources.
Journal Finder
Locate journals available through the Library by title.

The Library provides access to a wide range of print and electronic resources. All print materials are listed in the Library catalog, Virgo. Many electronic resources, however, are available through specialized databases rather than Virgo. Tools are also available to help you locate and access materials directly from publishers’ websites—whether downloading a PDF from a journal the Library subscribes to or requesting one through Interlibrary Loan if it is not available.

Accessing Electronic Resources

Quickest Path to Full-Text Articles

Libkey Nomad Browser Extension - Instantly locates the full text of scholarly articles, whether through the Library’s subscriptions or open access sources. It works even when you are working remotely and not connected to the VPN. Simply visit the article’s page on the publisher’s website. If full text is available, you will see a link to the PDF; if not, the extension automatically prepares an interlibrary loan (ILL) request for you. This is the fastest way to access the article you need.

Data Storage Finder

The Data Storage Finder is a tool that helps to match your research data storage needs to available resources at UVA. It covers a variety of data storage scenarios, and includes resources from ITS, the Library, Research Computing, and others.

Funding and Grants

Library Support for 2022 OSTP Public Access Policy Memo
Library support for the 2022 OSTP Public Access Policy Memo (the "Nelson Memo"). Public Access Policies impact all federally funded research projects.
Data Management Plans
Get help in preparation and review of DMPs (and DMSPs), as well as assistance in implementing the plans after proposals are funded.
Funding Discovery Tools
Tools for creating searches for grant funding in specific areas.
ORCID
Get help creating, updating, and maintaining your ORCID identity - your unique researcher profile.

Citation Management

Zotero
Help with the Zotero citation management software. UVA Library can offer group libraries with unlimited storage for UVA researchers involved in collaborative research projects. Contact your Subject Liaison for assistance.
Citation Managers - a brief comparison
Brief summary of Zotero, Mendeley, EndNote, and RefWorks.

Publish and Share

Writing and Publishing Resources
Includes Open Access publishing opportunities available from specific publishers through the UVA Library.
Copyright Resources
Information on copyright law, user's rights, author's rights, etc.
Choosing a manuscript open access repository
Share an open-access version of your manuscript. Federally funded research publications need to be deposited in the funder-specified repository (PubMedCentral for NIH, PAR for NSF, DOE Pages for DOE, etc.). UVA offers an institutional repository, LibraOpen, for researchers to use.
LibraOpen
UVA Library's open scholarship repository. Even if you deposit your Author Approved Manuscript in another repository, you can still link to it in LibraOpen.
Choosing a Data Repository
For sharing data related to your publication. Sharing is mandated by federal funders, and may also be required by your publisher.
LibraData
UVA Library's open access research data repository. You're funder may require you to deposit your data in a specific repository. You may also want to share your data in a discipline specific repository. UVA also provides an institutional repository for your data.
Exploring Open Scholarship
For more information on Open Access, you can explore this UVA Library guide on Open Scholarship

Style Guides

APA Style (matching results from across our subject guides)
MLA Style (matching results from across our subject guides)
Chicago Manual of Style

Research Impact

Research Impact Guide
How the impacts of an individual’s research can be quantified.
ORCID
Get help creating, updating, and maintaining your ORCID identity - your unique researcher profile.