STAT 4996: Finding and Evaluating Data portal: Students
Welcome
Welcome to the Statistics department library portal. The portal provides quick links to the resources you need to succeed in your course. Whether you are online or on-Grounds, UVA Library services and support are available to all students.
Your Librarian
Your librarian is Erich Purpur.
Each school at UVA is assigned a research librarian. 
Connect with Erich for help with your assignments. This service is available to all Statistics students, and meeting with a librarian early in your research process can help you save time and get a better grade.
Erich can help with: learning how to use the Library online, brainstorming your research topic, developing your search strategy, capstone/thesis/dissertation planning, identifying relevant databases/journals for your literature reviews, tracking down resources, and citation management. Erich can meet with you in-person or online via Zoom.
Ask a Librarian
Sign Up for Library events
Sign up for Library orientations, workshops, and events with our online calendar. UVA Library programming is offered in-person and online.
Research Support - StatLab
The UVA Library StatLab provides free consulting and training to UVA students, faculty, and staff. StatLab can help with the following:
- Statistical analysis
- Cleaning and wrangling data
- Selecting an appropriate statistical model
- Data Visualization (plotting or graphing)
- 1 on 1 training with statistical software
- Debugging or resolving code issues
To set up an appointment, email us at statlab@virginia.edu. We can work with you in person, over zoom, or via email. Walk-in Hours are available during the fall and spring semesters
Connect with the Library
- Get help finding dataConnect with the library to get help finding data for your assignments and research
- Find a Liaison LibrarianFind a list of liaison librarians to talk to. There is a contact person for all departments at UVA.
Find Data
Academic databases contain peer-reviewed articles, scientific papers, reports, and more. These are the most used databases for your field of study.
- Data & Statistics Research GuideThis guide lists a number of "top" datasets organized by discipline.
- ICPSR This link opens in a new windowThe Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) provides a vast archive of social science data for research and instruction. Users may view documentation, download raw data, and search a bibliography of data-related literature. (You must create a personal ICPSR account with your virginia.edu email address in order to download data.)
- Sage Data This link opens in a new windowSage Data repository contains over 18.9 billion datapoints from over 400 databases sourced from 70 public and private organizations. The datasets contained in Sage Data are structured and homogenized to permit correlation of multiple, diverse indicators. The Sage Data repository continues to grow regularly with the addition of new datasets drawn from public and private sources.
- Social Explorer This link opens in a new windowInteractive Maps and Reports provide easy access to demographic information about the United States. Data comes from the Census beginning in 1790 and from the Religious Congregations and Membership Study beginning in 1980. Also has crime and health data.
- Library Licensed Downloadable DatasetsAll the library licensed downloadable datasets are listed here. Of particular interest would be election data, Historical Business Data, and Gallup Survey Data.
- Google Dataset SearchGoogle Dataset Search lets you find datasets hosted in data repositories only. Searching here first is a good choice when looking for data that might be hosted in a repository. This covers most of the repositories listed on this page.
Look for government data
- Data.govUS federal government's open data portal
- Our World in DataNice resource for finding international data on all kinds of policy-related topics. Note that you can download the data as a CSV file. Check out the Source tab for information about the data file and the original source of the data. Because they use data from third parties, you might want to check out how to cite OWiD sources correctly.
Use the US Census
For those of you using the US Census, you might want to check out these resources:
- Social Explorer This link opens in a new windowInteractive Maps and Reports provide easy access to demographic information about the United States. Data comes from the Census beginning in 1790 and from the Religious Congregations and Membership Study beginning in 1980. Also has crime and health data.
Find data from news sources
Also see News sources’ GitHub repos: NYTimes, Washington Post, BuzzFeed News, etc.
- ProPublica DataLink was not working on 9/13/2024
- BuzzFeedNews/everything repoAn index of all of BuzzFeed's open-source data, analysis, libraries, tools, and guides.
Track down sources in academic literaure
Every empirical academic paper is going to have a methods section. Look for articles similar to a topic you are interested in, and check the methods section. What data are they using?
Here is a real-life example. A group of students asked Jenn about Major League Baseball injuries, and she found this: Injury Rates in Major League Baseball During the 2020 COVID-19 Season. The very first line of the Methods section states, “Data from the 2018-2020 MLB transaction reports were extracted online at mlb.com/transactions.”
Remember to iterate
Start in one place and keep iterating. Use the first place to see if sources are cited, and work from there.
Statista is a great place to try this strategy. Statista only offers basic statistics (tables and charts, not full datasets). However, they always cite their sources. Keep digging at the source to see if you can find an original dataset. You can use the same strategy with PolicyMap as well.
- Statista This link opens in a new windowStatista.com consolidates statistical data on over 80,000 topics from more than 22,500 sources.
- PolicyMap This link opens in a new windowPolicyMap is an online data and mapping tool that enables government, commercial, non-profit and academic institutions to access data about communities and markets across the US. Use it for research, market studies, business planning, site selection, grant applications and impact analysis.