Newspapers & Other News Media

The papers below represent the most widely read, distributed, and longest running papers in Virginia.

Use the links below to access each paper online, in print, and/or on microform. Merged papers are listed under their most recent title. 

Central Virginia

• Charlottesville: Cavalier Daily 1890-present
• Charlottesville: Daily Progress 1893-present
• Harrisonburg: Daily News-Record 1904-present
• Standardsville: Greene County Record 1914-2003, 2008-09

Lynchburg

• News and Advance 1894-present

Hampton Roads (Coastal, Northern Virginia): 

• Newport News: Daily Press 1896-present
• Norfolk: New Journal and Guide 1939-present
• Suffolk News Herald 1873-present - access via Library of Virginia
• Norfolk: Virginian-Pilot 1899-present

Northern Virginia

• Fredericksburg: Free Lance-Star 1885-present

Richmond

• Richmond News-Leader 1888-1992
• Richmond Times-Dispatch 1903-present
• Index: The Freeman File ​​​​: An index to the Richmond Times Dispatch and the Richmond New Leader (1920s-1985)

Southeast Virginia

• Bristol Herald-Courier 1865-present - access via Library of Virginia
• Roanoke Times 1866-present

Chronicling America - Virginia Newspapers (years vary, none later than 1922) 

• The Library of Congress offers 105 Virginia newspapers. Coverage varies with each title, but most titles span the late 19th to early 20th century.

Virginia Chronicle  

• Virginia Chronicle is the Library of Virginia's online newspaper database and repository, and contains content from 70 Virginia papers. Coverage varies with each title, but most titles span the late 19th to early 20th century.

Virginia Newspapers 1821-1935: a Bibliography with Historical Introduction and Notes by Lee Cappon

• Lists newspapers published in Virginia for this period by town, city, and county from 1821-1935. Includes publication dates and names of editors. The standard reference work on this subject.

Virginia Newspaper Database

• A Bibliography of American Newspapers cataloged and inventoried by the Virginia Newspaper Project.

Virginia Press Association Directory

Historical Newspapers and Indexes On The Internet 

• Scroll down for a few indexes on Virginia newspapers.

Visit Shannon's 4th floor Reference Room to read newspapers in print. You'll find the following papers just inside the south entrance, in the current periodicals area: 

• Cavalier Daily (UVA, Virginia)
• Daily Progress (Charlottesville, Virginia)
• New Journal and Guide (Norfolk, Virginia; Black news)
• Virginia Law Weekly (UVA , Virginia)
• News Leader (Staunton, Virginia)
• Richmond Times-Dispatch (Richmond, Virginia)
• Virginian Pilot (Hampton Roads, Virginia)

Find African American Newspapers in Virginia: 

• Use the Library of Virginia's directory of African American Virginia Newspapers to locate newspaper titles by city and county. Many available online. 

Highlighted Resources: 

The Richmond Planet - selected transcribed articles

• Selected transcribed articles from the Richmond Planet (1890-1906, 1934). "The Planet was edited by John Mitchell and was one of the largest and most widely read black papers in Virginia. The Planet had a "Charlottesville correspondent" who reported on news from the African-American community that was of interest to Richmond readers. We selected articles from or about Charlottesville or Albemarle for inclusion in this collection." From the Virginia Center for Digital History and the Carter G. Woodson Institute of African and Afro-American Studies.