Newspapers & Other News Media

For general US newspaper research across regions,states, and time, start with these broad-coverage databases. 

Print copies are held in Shannon Library:

• Atlanta Historic Newspaper Archive (1857-1922) 

  Over a dozen Atlanta newspapers covered from the period 1857-1922, including The Southern Confederacy from 1861-1864. From the University of Georgia.

• Brooklyn Newsstand 

  Brought to you by the Brooklyn Public Library. The Brooklyn Daily Eagle was published from 1841 to 1955, then revived for a short time from 1960 to 1963. Also has Brooklyn Life (1890-1924) and Brooklyn Life and Activities of Long Island Society (1924 – 1931).

• Farm, Field and Fireside 

  The Farm, Field and Fireside collection contains historically significant U.S. farm weeklies published in the late 19th and early 20th centuries. Brought to you by the University of Illinois.

• Free Digital U.S. Historical Newspaper Collections 

  Scroll down to "More U.S. Digital Newspaper Collections" for links to digital newspapers from California, Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Illinois, Kentucky, Louisiana, Massachusetts, Minnesota, Missouri, Nevada, New York, Pennsylvania, Utah and Wyoming. From the University of Illinois.

• Friend of Man (1836-1842) 

  Abolitionist newspaper 1836-1842, published in New York State. From Cornell University.

• The New South Newspaper, 1862-1866 

  From Port Royal and Beaufort, SC. Brought to you by the University of South Carolina.

• North Georgia Historic Newspapers Archive 

  Brought to you by the Digital Library of Georgia. The North Georgia Historic Newspapers Archive spans the years 1850-1922 and includes the following titles:
  Gainesville News, 1902-1922
  Georgia Cracker (Gainesville), 1894-1902
  North Georgia Citizen (Dalton), 1868-1921
  Rome Courier, 1850-1855
  Rome Tri-Weekly Courier, 1860-1880
  Rome Weekly Courier, 1860-1878

• Pittsburgh Jewish Newspaper Project 

  Composed of The Jewish Criterion (1895-1962), The American Jewish Outlook (1934-1962), and The Jewish Chronicle (1962-current). From Carnegie Mellon University.

• Stars and Stripes 

  Complete run of this World War I newspaper. Brought to you by the Library of Congress.

• Southern Courier 

  Archives from 1965-1968 of Civil Rights newspaper based in Montgomery, Alabama. See more information about this newspaper.

• 20th Century American Newspapers, Series I  This link opens in a new window

  Searchable full text collection of US newspapers. For additional titles see Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers and Historical Newspapers.

• Accessible Archives  This link opens in a new window

  Texts and page images from The Pennsylvania Gazette (1728-1800), 7 African-American newspapers from 1827-1860, and 3 Civil War newspapers: New York Herald, Richmond Enquirer, and Charleston Mercury.

• African American Newspapers: Parts I-XIIS  This link opens in a new window

  This collection contains a wealth of information about African American cultural life and history and the abolition movement during the 1800’s and is rich with first-hand reports of the major events and issues of the day. The collection also provides a great number of early biographies, vital statistics, essays and editorials, poetry and prose, and advertisements embodying the African American experience.

• African American Newspapers: Part XIII  This link opens in a new window

  Newspapers include:
  Freedmen’s Record, Jan 1865-Aprl 1874; The Negro Business League Herald, April-Nov. 1909

• African American Newspapers in the South  This link opens in a new window

  These newspapers document the African American press in the South from Reconstruction through the Jim Crow era. Written by African Americans for African Americans, this collection provides a unique journalistic record of the African American experience in segregated southern America. Includes complete runs of representative newspapers from the District of Columbia, Georgia, Louisiana, North Carolina, Oklahoma, Tennessee, and West Virginia.

• America's Historical Newspapers  This link opens in a new window

  Coverage: 1690-1991
  Searchable full text collection of US newspapers. For additional titles see 19th Century U.S. Newspapers.

• Chronicling America  This link opens in a new window

  Brought to you by the Library of Congress. Search digitized versions of America's historic newspaper pages from 1836-1922. Some may find the Chronicling America site easier to use than WorldCat.

• Gale Newsvault  This link opens in a new window

  Covers 17th-19th century collections of British newspapers and 19th century US newspapers.

• Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980  This link opens in a new window

  Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980, represents the single largest compilation of Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries. The distinctive collection features hundreds of Hispanic American newspapers, including many long scattered and forgotten titles published in the 19th century. It is based on the “Recovering the U.S. Hispanic Literary Heritage Project,” a national research effort directed by Nicolás Kanellos, Brown Foundation Professor of Hispanic Studies at the University of Houston.

• Newspaper Source Plus  This link opens in a new window

  Full text of major American newspapers and some foreign newspapers plus selected stories from other US regional newspapers. Also includes full-text of transcripts for television and radio network news broadcasts.

• Proquest Historical Newspapers 

New York Times (1851-2010), Wall Street Journal (1889-1996), Chicago Defender (1910-1975), Chicago Tribune (1849-1990), Los Angeles Times (1881-1990), Norfolk Journal and Guide (1916-2003), Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002), NY Amsterdam News (1922-1993), Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988), and Washington Post (1877-1997).

https://guides.loc.gov/directory-of-us-newspapers

LIbrary of Congress: https://guides.loc.gov/african-american-newspapers/introduction

• Ulrich's Periodical Directory 

  Listings of 250,000 periodicals, serials, annuals, continuations, and conference proceedings in 2600 subject areas from over 200 countries. Includes indexing information and some full-text reviews. Updated weekly. Also available in print in Shannon,

• American journalism: a history of newspapers in the United States through 250 years, 1690-1940 
• American Newspapers, 1821-1936 
• Chronological tables of American newspapers, 1690-1820; being a tabular guide to holdings of newspapers published in America through the year 1820 

  See also Brigham's History and Bibliography of American Newspapers, 1690-1820 (2v).

• History and annotated bibliography of American religious periodicals and newspapers established from 1730 through 1830 with library locations and microform sources 
• History and bibliography of American newspapers, 1690-1820 

  Lists over 2000 newspapers, including dates of publication, title changes, editors, frequency, and other historical notes.

• Print Indexes to Individual U.S. Newspaper Titles at UVA 

  Historical indexes to major U.S. newspapers.