A French open access interdisciplinary humanities and social sciences portal with four complementary platforms: OpenEdition Books (ebooks), OpenEdition Journals (scholarly journals), Calenda (academic announcements), and Hypothèses (research blogs). Most of the 20,000 ebooks are available as open access in html format.
Important. Access to these ebooks prepared for e-readers, tablets, and smart phones (ePub, PDF, etc.) is only available for institutions with subscriptions. Please contact us, if you think we should acquire this product.
HathiTrust Digital Library is a large-scale collaborative repository of digital content from research libraries (University of Virginia library among them) including content digitized via Google Books and the Internet Archive digitization initiatives, as well as content digitized locally by libraries.
Search the books, magazines, and journals Google has scanned from libraries and publishers.Choose "About this book" for abstract, table of contents, and books and articles related to the book.
Multi-lingual online collection of digitized items from European museums, libraries, archives and multi-media collections, with procedures for content providers.
Munich Digitization Center (MDZ) handles the digitization and online publication of the cultural heritage preserved by the Bavarian State Library and by other institutions. It provides one of the largest and fastest growing digital collections in Germany, now comprising more than 900,000 titles available online. Access is free of charge!
Electronic books by university presses and other scholarly publishers, as well as a collection of older titles by major authors. Individual titles are listed in Virgo.
Topics include history, archaeology, area studies, art, folklore, literature, music, philosophy, political science, religion, and women's studies. Individual titles are listed in Virgo.
Classiques Garnier Numérique offers online access to databases in the fields of literature and the humanities. Access is available to the following eBook collections: French literature, Francophone literatures, Comparative literature, Foreign Literature, and Minard Modern Literature. Important: Every title included in this database is included also in Virgo
Sabin reaches into all aspects of American history and culture. It touches upon the political and religious life in North America and at times South America and the Caribbean. It features American and European views of the colonization of the Americas, the American Revolution, the days of the early Republic and Jacksonian period, the antebellum period, Civil War, era of Reconstruction and post-Reconstruction, the settlement of the West and the onset of the Gilded Age. Through published pamphlets, tracts, memoirs, congressional legislation, correspondence, broadsides, biographies, histories, fiction and poetry, eulogies, sermons and innumerable other genres, Sabin opens a window onto the Americas.
A global digitization and publishing program focusing on primary source collections of the long 19th century. Content consists of monographs, newspapers, manuscripts, pamphlets, ephemera, maps, photographs, statistics, etc. in both Western and non-Western languages. Include 4 modules: Asia and the West: Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange; British Politics and Society; British Theatre, Music, and Literature: High and Popular Culture; European Literature, 1790-1840: The Corvey Collection.
Searchable full text and page images for books, almanacs, broadsides, magazines, pamphlets, etc in any language from the British Isles and North America, and in English from the rest of the world. See also Early American Imprints.
Every significant work published in English from 1475 to 1700. Searchable text and page images of books, pamphlets, prayer books, proclamations, almanacs, calendars,etc. in all subjects
institution provides access to:
UVA has access:
a) all four EEBO collections: 1. STC, 2.Wing, 3.The Thomason Tracts and 4. the Tract Supplement.
b). EEBO-TCP Phase I
c) EEBO-TCP Phase II
Consult more information in: In Proquest and/or Chadwyck-Healey
Searchable full text with page images of books published in 17th- and 18th-century America. Browsable by genre, subject, author, printer, place of publication, and language. See also Early English Books Online and Eighteenth Century Collections Online.
Searchable full text with page images of books published in early 19th-century America. The collection can also be browsed by genre, subject, author, printer, place of publication, and language.
You should use Virgo to find the call number of the book you are trying to find. If UVA libraries does not have a copy of the book you are trying to find, you can use the Interlibrary loan services to borrow a copy from another library.