It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Provides annotated links to scholarly resources of particular interest to students & faculty researching at U.Va.
Need research help?
During pandemic times I am available for meetings virtually using Zoom. You can schedule an appointment by contacting me directly at firstname.lastname@example.org. When you make an appointment, I will send you a Zoom link for us to meet. If Zoom will not work for you, please email me and we will find another option for meeting.
Need help right away? Please contact a librarian using one of our Ask a Librarian options.
Contactless Pickup for Physical Collections. Paging and Pickup. This process allows faculty, staff, and students to check out physical materials by making a request in the Virgo catalog and picking up materials at Clemons Library (see hours). No appointment needed: simply place a request in the Virgo catalog. You will receive an email when your item is ready. Items will be held for 10 days, and are available for pickup during the library’s open hours. Learn how to make a request in Virgo.
Books available through HathiTrust which are also in UVA’s collections will be available online without the additional step of requesting a digital scan. HathiTrust’s online collection contains more than half of the UVA Library’s book collection.
"...The Internet Archive announces: As of today, March 24, 2020, the Internet Archive will suspend waitlists for the 1.4 million (and growing) books in our lending library by creating a National Emergency Library to serve the nation’s displaced learners. This suspension will run through June 30, 2020, or the end of the US national emergency, whichever is later, to meet students’ and readers’ needs while schools and libraries are closed at global scale.
This library brings together all the books from Phillips Academy Andover and Marygrove College, and much of Trent University’s collections, along with over a million other books donated from other libraries to readers worldwide that are locked out of their libraries
____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ Please visit French Primary Resources and Archives for French Historical News to expand this list.
Repositories from France. Subject : Humanities and Social Sciences
Isidore is a platform of search allowing the access to digital data of Humanities and Social Sciences. Open to all and especially to teachers, researchers, PhD students, and students, it relies on the principles of Web of data and provides access to data in free access (open access).
Isidore is a realization of the great infrastructure of research Huma-Num (CNRS, Aix-Marseille University, Campus Condorcet).
Persee.fr offre un accès libre et gratuit à des collections complètes de publications scientifiques (revues, livres, actes de colloques, publications en série, sources primaires, etc.) associé à une gamme d'outils de recherche et d'exploitation.
Persée is a program which was created for the digital publication of scientific journals in the field of the humanities. The entire printed collection of journals is digitized and published online through a portal which offers access to the collections as well as advanced functionalities which facilitate and enhance use of the portal’s resources. The journals are selected by an editorial board, thereby guaranteeing the collection’s scientific coherence." -- website
A French open access interdisciplinary humanities and social sciences portal with four complementary platforms: OpenEdition Books (ebooks), OpenEdition Journals (scholarly journals), Calenda (academic announcements), and Hypothèses (research blogs). Most of the 20,000 ebooks are available as open access in html format.
Important. Access to these ebooks prepared for e-readers, tablets, and smart phones (ePub, PDF, etc.) is only available for institutions with subscriptions. Please contact us, if you think we should acquire this product.
You can access the full texts of about 60% of the indexed documents for free (Open Access). BASE is operated by Bielefeld University Library.
We are indexing the metadata of all kinds of academically relevant resources – journals, institutional repositories, digital collections etc. – which provide an OAI interface and use OAI-PMH for providing their contents (see our Golden Rules for Repository Managers).
Google Scholar is a freely accessible web search engine that indexes the full text or metadata of scholarly literature across an array of publishing formats and disciplines. Released in beta in November 2004, the Google Scholar index includes most peer-reviewed online academic journals and books, conference papers, theses and dissertations, preprints, abstracts, technical reports, and other scholarly literature, including court opinions and patents.
An interdisciplinary open access repository of both published and unpublished scholarly materials, mostly from Europeans scholars. As of October 2015, more than a million resources had been posted to the site and 359,000 of which were full text content.
L'archive ouverte pluridisciplinaire HAL, est destinée au dépôt et à la diffusion d'articles scientifiques de niveau recherche, publiés ou non, et de thèses, émanant des établissements d'enseignement et de recherche français ou étrangers, des laboratoires publics ou privés.
Le CCSD (Centre pour la Communication Scientifique Directe - UMS3668) est une unité mixte de service du CNRS, INRIA et Université de Lyon, créée fin 2000 et principalement dédiée à la réalisation d’archives ouvertes. L'unité est basée dans les locaux du Centre de Calcul de l'IN2P3 et est rattachée à la Direction de l'Information Scientifique et Technique (DIST).
The primary aim of DOAB is to increase discoverability of Open Access books. Academic publishers are invited to provide metadata of their Open Access books to DOAB. Metadata will be harvestable in order to maximize dissemination, visibility and impact. Aggregators can integrate the records in their commercial services and libraries can integrate the directory into their online catalogues, helping scholars and students to discover the books. The directory is open to all publishers who publish academic, peer reviewed books in Open Access and should contain as many books as possible, provided that these publications are in Open Access and meet academic standards.
The OAPEN Library contains freely accessible academic books, mainly in the area of humanities and social sciences. OAPEN works with publishers to build a quality controlled collection of open access books, and provides services for publishers, libraries and research funders in the areas of deposit, quality assurance, dissemination, and digital preservation.
Munich Digitization Center (MDZ) handles the digitization and online publication of the cultural heritage preserved by the Bavarian State Library and by other institutions. It provides one of the largest and fastest growing digital collections in Germany, now comprising more than 900,000 titles available online. Access is free of charge!