Skip to Main Content

French Studies

Provides annotated links to scholarly resources of particular interest to students & faculty researching at U.Va.

NEW RESOURCES FOR FRENCH STUDIES

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________________

 
1. NEW COLLECTIONS acquired for French Studies: In Electronic Format
You need to be aware that since 2022 the library has made a sustained effort and a strong investment to acquire material in electronic format in perpetuity, especially in underrepresented areas of study. These tools are important for research and for teaching. So far, we have acquired more than 300 new products or databases for all fields of knowledge and counting. You can consult the entire list here. < For French Studies we recently acquired these major collections in electronic format:
 
NEW ELECTRONIC FRENCH NEWSPAPERS:
_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________
NEW FRENCH DATABASES

  •    Classiques Garnier Numérique (see Tab above for more information) |
  •    L'Harmathèque (see Tab abovefor more information) |
_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________
NEW ELECTRONIC DATABASES RELATED TO FRENCH AND FRANCOPHONE HISTORY

Classiques Garnier

      The firm Garnier Frères (Garnier Brothers) was founded in 1833 by Auguste and Hippolyte Garnier. In 1893 the firm launched its Classiques Garnier series of literary texts with its famous yellow covers and accompanied by a critical apparatus (notes, introductions, etc.) and sold at a modest price.

      In 2009, after a long history,  this firm has expanded its catalog under the editorial direction of Claude Blum.  Editions Classiques Garnier now include all aspects of literature and the humanities, publishing both editions of texts and studies and essays by top specialists in French literature, foreign literature, linguistics, history, art, music, law, economics and social sciences.

      Classiques Garnier publishes books in three formats (large, digital and paperback) and it has created a electronic platform. Presently Garnier offers a catalog with almost 6.000 titles, 5.000 of them are in electronic format.  UVA library offers in our catalog 645 titles in print, 23 journals and since 2022, we have acquired 1263 titles in electronic format. Our commitment is to continue acquiring every year new titles to support the French Studies at UVA.

 You can find in Virgo every title of this publisher in electronic or in print from

__________________________________________________________________________________________________________

 You can consult also a list of eBooks acquired by UVA library organizes by Collection

Féminisme, études de genre

Histoire, histoire de l'art

Littérature comparée

Littératures étrangères

Littérature française

Littératures francophones

Théâtre

Actes, mélanges et collectifs

Harmathèque

      University of Virginia has access to the French platform Harmathèque. This is an online multimedia portal which contains a substantial collection of digitized books, articles, videos, and audio recordings on many subjects in the humanities and social sciences. One notable subject area is Africana.The content of the ebooks comes from a variety of French publishing imprints, (48 in 2022)  including L’Harmattan, Académia EME éditions Fauves éditions Les Impliqués  éditeur, Indigo Côté Femme, etc  All books and journals should be available through Virgo
      The interface is in French, and divides the eBooks by subject into "browsable bouquets". The digitised books can then be read online using Adobe Flash and clicked through, page by page, or downloaded and read using the Adobe Digital Editions reader
 
_______________________________________________________________________________________________
     The university of Virginia library has access (August 2022) to 66,025 eBooks from 48 publishers; 23,370 articles published in journals and edited books, 1,032 videos and 559 audio files. All titles are available through Virgo
________________________________________________________________________________________________
 

 

2. NEW PRINT COLLECTIONS: Acquisition of books published in Haiti

We have created an approval plan for Haiti Studies with a vendor working in Port-au-Prince. Thanks to this book plan the University of Virginia Library will secure to receive the most important titles published in Haiti. This plan will complement the regular material in french language we acquire every year about Haiti published in France and Canada. You can consult a selection of the most recent acquisitions

__________________________________________________________________________________________________

Remember:
If you want the library acquire a book not present in our collection, please use the Purchase Request Form

 

Contact Us

About the Library

Using the Library

Other Sites

Terms   |   Feedback
Login to LibApps