French Studies

Among many other sources, WBIS Online includes the complete online version of the ABEPI : Archivo Biográfico de España, Portugal e Iberoamérica. ABEPI is a biographical repertoire, published by Saur between 1989 and 2005 which consists of the copy of the biographies of all kinds of characters from Roman times to the middle of the last century, including Spanish, Portuguese and Ibero-American characters. These articles have been compiled from more than 600 biographical works published between 1600 and 1959, of which covers, prologues, parts of texts, etc. are reproduced.

The Enciclopedia universal ilustrada europeo-americana (also called Enciclopedia Espasa, or Enciclopedia Espasa-Calpe, after its publisher) is a Spanish encyclopedia comprising the following parts:
1. The Body : 72 volumes (numbered from 1 to 70) published from 1908 to 1930 (in alphabetical order from A to Z)
2. The First Appendix (1930-1933) : 10 vol. published from 1930 to 1933. (in alphabetical order from A to Z)
3. First Annual Supplements 1934-2002 , 32 vol. Published biannually and organized thematically. An index was published in 1996 to help to find information between 1934 to 1996.
4. Second Appendix (1996) . A single vol. published in 1996. (in alphabetical order from A to Z). [cataloged at UVA with First Supplement 1934-2002.
5. Third Appendix (1934-2002) . 8 vol. published in 2004. Called Complemento Enciclopédico (in alphabetical order from A to Z). It is a comprehensive summary of all vol. from the First Annual Supplement.
6. Second Annual Supplements (2003-2014) . Published biannually and organized in alphabetical order from A to Z. [cataloged at UVA with First Supplement 1934-2002. At UVA missing 2009-2014
Encyclopedia stop publication in 2014. Some volumes available at Hathi Trust or Archive org

You can consult here a summary of its content

Biographical dictionary published in France annually. Electroncic access by Factiva and Lexix Nexis.

Qui est qui en France : dictionnaire biographique de personnalités françaises vivant en France et à l'étranger et de personnalités étrangères résidant en France.
1st-23rd (1953/1954-1991/1992)
Last edition in UVA: 2021.

Biographical dictionary published in France

Le Dictionnaire de biographie française contient des notices biographiques sur des personnages connus ou moins connus, ayant influencé leur époque, dans toutes les disciplines, et décédés à la date d’édition des fascicules. Il couvre la France, y compris l’outre-mer, ainsi que les anciennes colonies. On y trouve également des personnages nés à l’étranger et ayant joué un rôle important dans l’histoire et la culture françaises (Marie Curie, John Law ou Eugène Ionesco par exemple). Certaines notices portent sur de grandes familles ou dynasties (Colbert par exemple). Sa couverture chronologique s’étend des origines à la date de publication des fascicules. Les notices, toutes signées de leur auteur, comportent des sources et références bibliographiques, et une liste des œuvres des personnages.

Aussi connue sous le nom de Roman d’Amat, un de ses premiers éditeurs, cette entreprise au long cours, avec un premier volume paru en 1933, en est actuellement à la lettre L, au nom de Levaditi. Un Supplément au DBF a été lancé en 2009 et couvre aujourd’hui les lettres A à Bazin. Il porte en priorité sur la période contemporaine, avec de nouvelles entrées, et offre des corrections et compléments aux notices existantes.

Attention ! Le Dictionnaire de biographie française n’est pas dépouillé dans la grande base de données biographique des Archives biographiques (ou World Biographical Information System). Il est disponible en libre accès au sein du pôle biographique de la salle X (cote 920.044 DICT), ainsi que dans de nombreuses salles de lecture de la bibliothèque : Bibliothèque tous publics (E, H) et Bibliothèque de recherche (L, S, V), site Richelieu, Bibliothèque de l’Arsenal.

Les enseignants et les étudiants connaissent la difficulté de repérer la documentation critique sur les œuvres actuelles : certains outils sont incomplets, plusieurs bibliographies ne sont pas à jour ou disséminées sur nombre de sites au statut plus ou moins clair. Mise en place en 2006, la banque de données sur les Auteurs contemporains contribue à atténuer cet irritant. Collaboratif, toujours en élaboration et constamment mis à jour : voilà les caractéristiques de cet outil consacré aux écrivains d’aujourd’hui

Also known as Klapp due to its original editor. A comprehensive annual bibliography of books, journal articles, Festschrifts, conference papers, and theses. Coverage includes French literature outside France, and extends from the Middles Ages to modern times. Literature is organized by time periods; subsections include genres and individual authors. Subject and author indexes are provided in each volume.

You can consult also the print edition

Vols. 1-2 arranged alphabetically by author, with place and date of birth and death given, followed by a chronological arrangement of (1) his books, with date of publication and publisher of each (2) his periodical articles (3) reviews of the writer in book form (4) reviews in periodicals. Vol. 3 classified and has added half-title: Seconde partie. Ouvrages et articles à consulter sur l'histoire de la langue, de la littérature et de la civilisation française. This work is a revised and enlarged edition of the author's Guide bibliographique de la littérature française de 1800 à 1906 . Paris, 1907. Yo can consult in print or in electronic format

Includes works by and about the author/subjects presented in alphabetical order from A - Morgan with brief biographical information. Volumes 16 and 17 consist of indexes of titles and authors of works indexed in Volumes 1-15 (A - Mirbeau). Volumes 20 and 21 incorporate title indexes into the individual volumes.

-- v. 1. The medieval period / edited by Urban T. Holmes, Jr.
-- v. 2. The sixteenth century / edited by Raymond c. LaCharité (rev. 1984)
-- v. 3. The seventeenth century / edited by Nathan Edelman
-- v. 3A suppl. The seventeenth century / edited by H. Gaston Hall
-- v. 4. The eighteenth century / edited by George R. Havens, Donald F. Bond
-- v. 4. suppl. The eighteenth century / edited by Richard A. Brooks
-- v. 5. Nineteenth century / edited by David Baguley (2 v.)
-- v. 6. The twentieth century / edited by Douglas W. Alden and Richard A. Brooks (3 v.).

Vol. 1 covers literature published during 1921-1935, Vol. 2: 1936-1945, Vol. 3: 1946-1955. A section Ouvrages Généraux is followed by entries listed in three sections by century: 16th, 17th, and 18th. Within each section, the entries are further sub-divided into two parts: "general works" and "authors."

2nd ed. also in 5 vol. 1911-14.
New ed., rev. also in 5 vol. with the title Manuel bibliographique de la littérature française moderne, XVIe, XVIIe, XVIIIe, et XIXe siècles Paris, Hachette, 1921. | copy 2 | New ed. Paris, Hachette, c1925 ed.

Further supplements: 1960-1980

"An annotated, serially published bibliography of current scholarship on early Romance epics. Covers new editions and translations, critical books and articles, reviews, work in progress, and reports of meetings. Appears irregularly" (Larson)

"An annual bibliography of books and articles on the matière de Bretagne. Each national branch of the Arthurian Society prepares a chapter documenting its country's contributions. Chapters include sections for texts, translations and adaptations; critical and historical studies; reviews; and theses for higher degrees. Entries are annotated in French or English" (Larson)

"A comprehensive critical bibliography of the Old French epic cycle of Guillaume d'Orange. As well as covering editions and studies of the twenty principal poems of the full cycle, including fragments, the bibliography includes works on La Chanson de Guillaume, the fifteenth-century prose romance derived from the cycle, and the four poems conserved only in the so-called Geste de Monglane. It offers exhaustive coverage of material published between the mid-nineteenth century and the year 2000, including book reviews. As well as listing and commenting on editions and studies of individual poems the bibliography has sections dealing with manuscript studies, studies of the cycle as a whole and groups of poems, thematic studies of characters, motifs, geography and history related to the poems. For ease of consultation it is completed by an index of scholars and an index of authors, titles and themes (from the publisher)"

Les Archives de littérature du Moyen Âge (ARLIMA) ont été fondées à l'intention des étudiants et chercheurs spécialistes du Moyen Âge, pour qui la constitution d'une bibliographie sur un auteur ou un texte est devenue une tâche de plus en plus ardue, en raison de la multiplication non seulement des publications mais également des outils bibliographiques imprimés et électroniques à leur disposition

Annual. Lists books & journal articles on the history, arts, humanities, & social sciences of the 15th and 16th centuries in Europe. Arrangement by broad subject area and country.

Arranged in two parts: Généralités and Auteurs (A-Z). A general index concludes the work.

Also 2nd ed.: 1969
Consists of two parts: Généralités and Auteurs (A-Z). Part 1 has twelve sections, several of which focus specifically on literature and literary history. Indexes, including authors and subjects, are found in Vol. 3.

After 1977 continues as French 17 , published for Seventeenth Century French Division of Modern Language Association of America by Colorado State University. 1978 - to date

You canalso consult this title online

Organized in two parts: Généralités and Auteurs (A-Z). Part 1 has ten sections, which focus on literature and literary history as well as on related topics. Indexes, including authors and subjects, are found in Vol. 3.

A section, "Literary Studies," lists entries alphabetically by the last name of the author of the article. A name index at the end helps to locate entries mentioning the name of a person, e.g. Diderot or Voltaire. Multilingual in English, German, and widely known romance languages

t. 1. 1716-1722
t. 2. 1723-1729
t. 3. 1730-1736
t. 4. 1737-1742. t.5. 1743-1747
t.7. 1753-1756
t.8. 1757-1760
t.9. supplement: 1716-1760
t.10. Index des titres 1716-1760
t.11. Index des auteurs A-K 1716-1760
t.12. Index des auteurs L-Z 1716-1760
t.13.1761-1763
t. 14.1764-1766
t. 15.1767-1769
t. 17. 1773-1775
t. 18. 1776-1778
t. 19. 1779-1781
t. 20. 1782-1783
t. 21. 1784-1785

Material is divided into 2 parts. Part 1 includes general topics; Part 2 consists of an alphabetical array of author/subject entries.

Part 1, General Subjects, which is sub-divided into various categories, such as literary genre; Part 2, author/subjects in alphabetical order, and Part 3, cinema

Includes the works of 19th and 20th century authors pub. for the most part between 1930 and 1939. Arranged alphabetically by author, with place and date of birth and death given, followed by a chronological arrangement of (1) his books, with date of publication and publisher of each (2) his periodical articles (3) reviews of the writer in book form (4) reviews in periodicals.

"Suite de l'oeuvre de Hugo H. [sic] Thieme qui avait été continuée de 1930 à 1939 par Mesdemoiselles Dreher et Rolli."
Includes the work of 19th and 20th century authors published for the most part between 1940 and 1949.

Archives de la Bibliographie de la France disponible sur Gallica, bibliothèque numérique de la BnF.