Skip to main content

French Studies

Provides annotated links to scholarly resources of particular interest to students & faculty researching at U.Va.

       Citation Management Tools

Reference managers software allows a user to organize and retrieve information, such as citations for books, articles, and Web sites, by interfacing with library databases.

The reference manager then works with word processing software to insert properly formatted footnotes or citations into a paper and create a properly formatted bibliography.

Although in UVA you can have access to three different programs (Refworks, Zotero and EndNote), only Refworks and Zotero are (so far) available in the web. This means you can do all your work in a server online--not in your hard drive.

 

 

For more information about Refworks at UVA, consult the following: information:

Use Refworks to manage my citations and articles,

Comparison of Reference Managers: RefWorks vs. Zotero vs. EndNote
What is Refworks? Refworks is an online research management, writing and collaboration tool. It is designed to help researchers easily gather, manage, store and share all types of information, as well as generate citations and bibliographies.
 

 

 

       Citing Sources

1) Documenting Sources

In the process of writing a research paper, you must document the cited sources with footnotes or/and end notes and a bibliography which appears at the end of your paper. In this bibliography you need to lists every work you have cited in your notes; in addition, it may include works that you consulted but did not cite.

The terminology in French language is: "notes" (de pied de page); ¨"bibliographie consultée" or "bibliographie citée" or "bibliographie d'intérêt général".

To cite your sources properly, first you need to select the appropriated manual of style. Visit the library if you need to consult a print copy of one of these style guides:

  • Modern Language Association (MLA) Style Guide. (Humanities)
  • MLA handbook for writers of research papers. (Online Catalog Records)
  • Edition Location (Copy 2)
    7th ed. (2009) Alderman Ref LB2369 .G53 2009 Clemons / Fine Arts/ Health Sciences Reference  LB2369 .G53 2009
    6th ed. (2003)  Alderman Ref LB2369 .G53 2003

     Clemons / Brown / Law                Reference  LB2369 .G53 2003


2) More information: