Here you can find Portals, Databases and Web sites that include full text French language periodicals publications, (mostly before 1944) published in any Francophone country. Also you can find bibliographic tools that can help to identify old periodical publications. Finally we have decided to include a tab including United States historic newspapers. Please click in the appropriate tab. If not indicated otherwise the source is open access
Include newspapers published in France by department from the origin until 1944. This Portal makes it possible to search among the 29,000 references to newspapers of local interest published from the origins to 1944, and to access more than 2,294 titles of digitized newspapers, on Gallica, the digital library of the BnF and of its partners, as well as on other digital libraries.
Action française (L'); (Disponible de 1906 à 1944.) Aurore (L'); (Disponible de 1897 à 1916) Aurore (L') Organe de la résistance républicaine; (Disponible de 1943 à 1948) Auto (L'); (Disponible de 1900 à 1944) Ce Soir; (Disponible de 1937 à 1944) Charente (La); (Disponible de 1872 à 1913) Combat; (Disponible de 1941 à 1948) Comoedia; (Disponible de 1907 à 1936) Constitutionnel (Le); (Disponible de 1815 à 1914) Corsaire (Le); (Disponible de 1823 à 1858) Cri du Peuple (Le); (Disponible de 1871 à 1922) Croix (La); (Disponible de 1880 à 1944) Dépêche (La ); (Disponible de 1875 à 1901) Echo d'Alger (L'); (Disponible de 1912 à 1943) Echo d'Oran (L'); (Disponible de 1870 à 1946) Echo de Paris (L'); (Disponible de 1884 à 1938) Excelsior; ( diponible de 1910 à 1940) Figaro (Le); (Disponible de 1826 à 1840 et de 1854 à 1942) Figaro (Le). Supplément littéraire; (Disponible de 1876 à 1929) Franc-Tireur (Le); (Disponible de 1944 à 1948) France Soir; (Disponible de 1944 à 1948) Gaulois (Le); (Disponible de 1868 à 1929) Gil Blas; (Disponible de 1879 à 1914, 1921 à 1922, 1931, 1937 à 1938, 1940.) Grand Echo du Nord (Le); (Disponible de 1890 à 1938) Homme libre (L'); (Disponible de 1913 à 1943) Humanité (L'); (Disponible de 1904 à 1939 et 1944) Intransigeant (L'); (Disponible de 1880 à 1943 sauf 1910) Journal (Le); (Disponible de 1892 à 1928) Journal de Paris; (Disponible de 1777 à 1787) Journal des Débats politiques et littéraires (Le); (Disponible de 1814 à 1944) Justice (La); (Disponible de 1880 à 1914, 1916, 1918 à 1931 et de 1939 à 1940) Lanterne (La); (Disponible de 1877 à 1928) Liberté (La); (Disponible de 1865 à 1940) Matin (Le); (Disponible de 1882 à 1944) Monde (Le); (Disponible de 1860 à 1896) National (Le); (Disponible de 1830 à 1836) Oeuvre (L'); (Disponible de 1915 à 1944) Ouest-Éclair (L'); (Disponible de 1899 à 1944 (suivant les éditions)) Paris Journal; (Disponible de 1868 à 1872) Paris Midi; (Disponible de 1911 à 1944.) Paris-Soir; (Disponible de 1923 à 1944) Petit Journal (Le); (Disponible de 1863 à 1944) Petit Journal illustré (Le); (Disponible de 1920 à 1937) Petit Marocain (Le); (Disponible de 1934 à 1938) Petit Parisien (Le) : journal quotidien du soir; (Disponible de 1876 à 1944) Petit Parisien (Le). Supplément littéraire illustré; (Disponible de 1889 à 1912) Petite Presse (La); (Disponible de 1866 à 1914) Populaire (Le); (Disponible de1918 à 1944) Presse (La); (Disponible de 1836 à 1930, 1932, 1934 et 1935) Radical (Le); (Disponible de 1881 à 1931.) Rappel (Le); (Disponible de 1869 à 1933 sauf 1931.) Siècle (Le); (Disponible de 1836 à 1932) Temps (Le); (Disponible de 1861 à 1942) Univers (L'); (Disponible de 1867 à 1914 et de 1917 à 1919) XIXe siècle (Le); (Disponible de 1871 à 1877 et de 1885 à 1887)
Le Gazetier Universel : Ressources numériques sur la presse ancienne
The Gazetier universel is a virtual library portal with a focus on the press of the French Ancien Régime. There are at present (June 2014) some 11.000 links to over 800 titles of in French periodicals (XVII-XVIII) but the revolutionary press. These newspapers are stored in different digital libraries over the world, including Google Books. All newspapers and journals can be browsed fully and freely. It is also possible to search periodicals by year and there are simple and advanced search options available. Users can also create an account to leave comments.
You can consult a portal included here with more digital titles Les gazettes européennes du 18e siècle
Édition électronique revue, corrigée et augmentée du Dictionnaire des Journaux, 1600-1789 by la direction de Jean Sgard ; comité de rédaction, Jean-Daniel Candaux [and others]. Paris : Universitas, 1991.
Édition électronique revue, corrigée et augmentée du Dictionnaire des journalistes (1600-1789) sous la direction de Jean Sgard, avec la collaboration de Michel Gilot et Françoise Weil.. Grenoble : Presses universitaires de Grenoble, 1976
e-newspaperarchives.ch est le site des journaux suisses numérisés par la Bibliothèque nationale suisse et ses partenaires. Cette collection de journaux contient 128 titres (61 en Français) pour un total de 587,732 éditions, 4,973,421 pages et 40,545,935 articles.
Le Journal de Genève
Fondé par James Fazy, le quotidien suisse paraît le 6 janvier 1826 et son dernier numéro est daté du 28 février 1998. Le quotidien milite dès ses débuts en faveur d’un libéralisme à visage humain. Il plaide pour le suffrage universel et la liberté de la presse. La collection complète représente 550'000 pages imprimées équivalant à 2'000'000 articles.
La Gazette de Lausanne
Fondé par Gabriel-Antoine Miéville, le premier numéro publié est daté du 1er février 1798 sous le nom de Peuple Vaudois. Le titre « Gazette de Lausanne » a été adopté en 1803, précédé par « Peuple Vaudois », « Bulletin Officiel », « Bulletin Helvétique », « Journal Suisse » et « Journal Helvétique ». La collection complète représente 450'000 pages imprimées équivalant à 1'700'000 articles.
Le Nouveau Quotidien
Fondé par Jacques Pilet, Le Nouveau Quotidien parut de 1991 au 28 février 1998. Sous-titré «Journal Suisse et Européen», il figure comme un symbole de la presse suisse d'avant-garde des années 1990. La collection complète représente 50'000 pages imprimées équivalant à 200'000 articles.
Include: 1. New York Times, 2. Wall Street Journal, 3. Chicago Defender, 4. Chicago Tribune, 5. Los Angeles Times,
6. Norfolk Journal and Guide, 7. Pittsburgh Courier,   8. New York Amsterdam News, 9. Baltimore Afro-American, and
10. Washington Post.
The Baltimore Afro-American, (1893-1988) The most widely circulated black newspaper on the Atlantic coast. It was the first black newspaper to have correspondents reporting on World War II, foreign correspondents, and female sports correspondents.
Chicago Defender (1910-1975). A leading African-American newspaper, with more than two-thirds of its readership outside Chicago.
New York Amsterdam News, (1922-1993). The leading Black newspaper of the 20th century reached its peak in the 1940s. The Amsterdam News was a strong advocate for the desegregation of the U.S. military during World War II, and also covered the historically important Harlem Renaissance.
The Norfolk Journal and Guide (1921-2003). The only black newspaper to provide on-the-scene, day-to-day coverage of the Scottsboro trial, and was one of the best researched and well written black newspapers of its time.
Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002). One of the most nationally circulated Black newspapers, the Pittsburgh Courier reached its peak in the 1930s. A conservative voice in the African-American community, the Pittsburgh Courier challenged the misrepresentation of African-Americans in the national media and advocated social reforms to advance the cause of civil rights
Chronicling America is a Website providing access to information about historic newspapers and select digitized newspaper pages, and is produced by the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP). NDNP, a partnership between the National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH) and the Library of Congress (LC), is a long-term effort to develop an Internet-based, searchable database of U.S. newspapers with descriptive information and select digitization of historic pages. Supported by NEH, this rich digital resource will be developed and permanently maintained at the Library of Congress. An NEH award program will fund the contribution of content from, eventually, all U.S. states and territories.
This database provides access to 5 consolidated collections containing thousands of American periodicals, published between 1684 and 1912. The individual collections, each covering a particular timeframe, can also be searched independently.
Historical Periodicals Collection Series 1-5
EBSCO partners with American Antiquarian Society (AAS), the premier library documenting the life of America's people from the Colonial Era through the Civil War and Reconstruction, to provide digital access to the most comprehensive collection of American periodicals published between 1684 and 1912.
Series 1 (1684-1820): Title List
Series 2 (1821-1837): Title List
Series 3 (1838-1852): Title List
Series 4 (1853-1865): Title List
Series 5 (1866-1912): Title List
Include: (August 2016)
1. Early American Newspapers Series 1.
Providing unprecedented access to the nation’s early periods, Series 1 enables researchers to explore essential newspapers from 23 states and the District of Columbia. Series 1 offers 340,000 fully searchable issues from over 730 historical American titles. Focusing largely on the 18th and early 19th centuries, this online collection is based on Clarence S. Brigham’s “History and Bibliography of American Newspapers, 1690-1820” and other authoritative bibliographies. The core of the Readex digital collection consists of American Antiquarian Society (AAS) founder Isaiah Thomas’ own collection of colonial and early national period newspapers and is supplemented by issues added by Thomas’ successors at the AAS. Title List
2. Early American Newspapers, Series 2, 1758-1900
Series 2 offers more than 290 significant 18th- and 19th-century newspapers from every region of the United States. Series 2 focuses on the period between 1820 and 1860, when the number of American newspapers rose dramatically. In the first half of the 19th century, the number of American newspapers increased from less than 200 to more than 3,000. During this time period, westward expansion and the penny press helped create thousands of local newspapers, and daily editions replaced many weeklies. In addition, the format of newspapers was transformed by an increasing emphasis on society, industry, scientific advances, investigative journalism and stories of human interest. Title List
3. Early American Newspapers, Series 3, 1783-1922
Series 3 provides more than 120 important 19th- and 20th-century newspapers from every region of the United States. The titles focus on the period between 1861 and 1900. Like Series 2, Series 3 provides in-depth coverage of the mid-19th century and the Civil War, but Series 3 also focuses on Reconstruction, the Gilded Age, the Progressive Era and beyond. Between 1861 and 1900, the number and size of newspapers continued to grow rapidly, as the adoption of the telegraph and the prevalence of the Associated Press contributed to a second transformation of the newspaper industry in the 19th century. Title List
3. 20th-Century American Newspapers, Series 1
Includes these titles:
The Times-Picayune (New Orleans, Louisiana; 1923-1988)
The Plain Dealer (Cleveland, Ohio; 1923-1991)
The Oregonian (Portland, Oregon; 1923-1987)
One of America's most important newspapers, The Times-Picayune has been a mainstay of Louisiana life for nearly 200 years. In 1925, when newspapers printed literature as well as news, The Times-Picayune published short pieces by a young William Faulkner. Also in these 20th-century pages are essential reporting on the rise, rule and assassination of Governor Huey Long; disenfranchisement and segregation of the region's African Americans; Louisiana's French, Spanish, Acadian, African and French West Indian heritage; and more.
The nation's fifth largest city in the 1920s and '30s, Cleveland has long benefited from The Plain Dealer, winner of numerous awards in widely respected newspaper competitions. These issues of Ohio's largest daily paper chronicle attempts to energize the region after the Great Depression, the local boom after World War II and the election in 1967 of the first black mayor of a major U.S. city. Also in these pages are the diverse citizens whose joint efforts led to Cleveland's five-time recognition—first in 1949—as an All-American City.
The longest-running newspaper on the West Coast, The Oregonian has won numerous Pulitzer Prizes. The major daily paper in Portland features extensive reporting on the people and events that shaped the modern history of the Pacific Northwest. These issues cover the local growth that followed construction of the Bonneville Dam on the Columbia River and regional expansion of the food and timber industries. In addition, these pages document the conflicts that have polarized Oregon residents in the 20th century, including, for example, those pitting social progressives against small government conservatives.
About American Periodicals Series Online Title List American Periodicals Series Online™ (APS Online) includes digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals published from colonial days to the dawn of the 20th century. Titles range from Benjamin Franklin's General Magazine and America's first scientific journal, Medical Repository; popular magazines such as Vanity Fair and Ladies' Home Journal; regional and niche publications; and groundbreaking journals like The Dial, Puck, and McClure's.
APS Online chronicles the development of America across 150 years. The journals in this collection cover three broad periods:
89 journals published between 1740 and 1800 offer insights into America's transition from colonial times to independence. The journals support research for a range of academic fields. Titles include Massachusetts Magazine, which published America's first short stories, and Thomas Paine's Pennsylvania Magazine, which reported on inventions. One of the first mass printings of the Declaration of Independence, a letter by George Washington on the crucial Battle of Trenton, and the thoughts of Benjamin Franklin are among the highlights of content from this period.
The first 60 years of the 19th century became the golden age of American periodicals, with general interest magazines, children's publications, and more than 20 journals for women. Many of the publications reflect on the growing debate over slavery, including the serialization of Harriet Beecher Stowe's Uncle Tom's Cabin in National Era that preceded the novel. Also available are hard-to-find materials, such as Edgar Allan Poe's contributions to the Southern Literary Messenger, as well as the first appearances of Nathaniel Hawthorne's stories in New England Magazine, and Margaret Fuller's contributions to The Dial.
118 periodicals published during the Civil War (1861-1865) and Reconstruction (1865-1877) eras reflect the nation in turmoil and growth, and titles from the 1880s through 1900 capture the settling of the West and the emergence of modern America. Early professional journals, including Publications of the American Economic Association and Proceedings of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, popular titles such as Scribner's and Lippincott's issued by publishing houses, celebrations of Americana in Ladies’ Home Journal, and the incisive political and social commentary of Puck and McClure's illustrate the variety of the American experience. Because the database contains digitized images of periodical pages, researchers can see all of the original typography, drawings, graphic elements, and article layouts exactly as they were originally published.
a full-text searchable, facsimile-image database — provides an as-it-happened window on events, culture, and daily life in nineteenth-century America that is of interest to both professional and general researchers.
The collection features publications of all kinds, from the political party newspapers at the beginning of the nineteenth century to the mammoth dailies that shaped the nation at the century's end. Every aspect of society and every region of the nation is found in the archive — rural and urban, large cities and small towns, coast to coast, etc. Includes major newspapers as well as those published by African Americans, Native Americans, women's rights groups, labor groups, the Confederacy, and other groups and interests. Also included are illustrated papers that bring the nineteenth century to life through the drawings of many artists
The current collection, Ethnic NewsWatch™, covers 1990-present, and the historical collection, Ethnic NewsWatch: A History™, spans 1959-1989. Ethnicities include: African American/Caribbean/African; Arab/Middle Eastern; Asian/Pacific Islander; European/Eastern European; Hispanic; Jewish; Native People. Title List
he African American Historical Serials Collection, developed in conjunction with American Theological Library Association (ATLA) as an effort to preserve endangered serials related to African American religious life and culture, features more than 170 unique publications spanning from 1829 through 1922. This collection includes periodicals, newspapers and magazines, in addition to reports and annuals from various African American organizations, including churches and educational and service institutions.
Here you can find links to individual important titles. Please click in the appropriate tab. If not indicated otherwise the source is open access
The Mercure François is a precursor to the modern newspaper. Published since 1605 and from 1611 onwards by the Richer brothers in Paris, the Mercure François covered important political, religious and international news providing chronological accounts of these events and including detailed reports,
T. 1. 1605-1610 -- t. 2. 1610-1612 -- t. 3. 1612-1615 -- t. 4. 1615-1617 -- t. 5. 1617-1619 -- t. 6. 1619-1621 -- t. 7. 1621 -- t. 8. 1621-1622 -- t. 9. 1622-1624 -- t. 10. 1623-1625 -- t. 11. 1625-1626 -- t. 12. 1626-1627 -- t. 13. 1626-1627 -- t. 14. 1627-1628 -- t. 15. 1628-1629 -- t. 16. 1629-1630 -- t. 17. 1631 -- t. 18. 1632-1633 -- t. 19. 1633-1634 -- t. 20. 1634-1635 -- t. 21. 1635-1637 -- t. 22. 1637-1638 -- t. 23. -- t. 24. -- t. 25. 1643-1644
Tome 1. Mercvre françois: ov, La svitte de l'histoire de la paix.; Commençant l'an M.DC.V pour suitte du Septenaire du D. Cayer, & finissant au sacre du tres-chrestien roy de France & de Nauarre Loyys XIII.
Tome 2. Continvation dv Mercvre françois, ov, Svitte de l'histoire de l'avgvste regence de la royne Marie de Medicis, sous sons fils ... Loys XIII; t. 2;
Tome 3. Mervre françois.; Diuisé en deux liures. Le premier contient, La svitte de l'histoire de l'avgvste regence de la royne Marie de Medicis. Et le second, L'histoire de nostre temps, commençant a la majorité du tres-chrestien roy de France & de Nauarre, Lovys XIII;
Tome 4-24. dv; Mercvre françois, ov Svitte de l'histoire de nostre temps,; sous le regne du tres-chrestien roy de France & de Navarre Lovis XIII
La Gazette was the first weekly magazine published in France. It was founded by Théophraste Renaudot and published its first edition on 30 May 1631. It progressively became the mouthpiece of one royalist faction, the Legitimists. With the rise of modern news media and specialized and localized newspapers throughout the country in the early 20th century, La Gazette was finally discontinued in 1915