It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Provides annotated links to scholarly resources of particular interest to students & faculty researching at U.Va.
Historical map collection has over 100,000 maps and related images online.
The David Rumsey Historical Map Collection focuses on 16th through 21st century maps of North and and South America, as well as maps of the World, Asia, Africa, Europe, and Oceania. The collection includes atlases, globes, school geographies, maritime charts, and a variety of separate maps including pocket, wall, children's and manuscript maps. The online selection is an expanding cross section of images designed to highlight the depth and breadth of the collection. The digital images and associated descriptive data are copyright Cartography Associates. The physical map collection is housed at the David Rumsey Map Center at Stanford University. .
The World Map Collections include materials from the University of Florida's Map & Imagery Library and the Department of Special and Area Studies Collections, particularly the P.K. Yonge Library of Florida History and the University Archives. Additional content is provided through the contributions of partner institutions including the University of North Florida, the University of the Virgin Islands, and the St. Augustine Campus Library' West Indiana and Special Collections Division at the University of the West Indies. Collections are heavily weighted toward historic or antique maps, but selected modern maps are also included. Images are provided with high resolution, zoomable images.
Additional map collections are also available with specialized interfaces, including: Aerial Photography: Florida; Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps of Florida; Ephemeral Cities (experimental interface linking archival, library and museum materials to geo-referenced maps); and the Map Literature Collection.