French Studies

In the online catalogue you can:

• explore the resources of the Archives Nationales via over 24,000 finding aids detailing the collections and 14 000 notes defining the entities (organisations and individuals) from which the archives originate;
  
• directly consult over 1.9 million digitised archives and LEONORE database documents (records of Légion d'honneur holders, 1800-1976, partly digitised).
  
• The online catalogue is regularly updated with new finding aids that describe and record the archival holdings held by the Archives Nationales, regardless of medium: parchment or paper,, photographic or digital.
  

These descriptions give access to:

• the archives of mediaeval and Ancien Régime institutions: the Trésor des Chartes (royal archives), ministerial departments under the Ancien Régime, sovereign courts, ecclesiastical establishments of the diocese of Paris, etc;
  
• the archives of central state institutions from 1789 to the present day: the archives of heads of state and government, ministries (excluding defence and foreign affairs) and their dependent institutions, parliamentary assemblies, high courts (Council of State, Court of Cassation, Court of Auditors, etc.), and bodies linked to the two World Wars;
  
• the deeds and repertories of the Paris notaries;
  
• the archives of individuals, families and private organisations of national interest.
  

The online catalogue also searches the following databases, directly accessible using these links:
ARCADE : information on state purchases of works of art, 1800-1969;
ARCHIM : a collection of digitised images of emblematic documents;
LEONORE : Légion d'honneur holders' records, 1800-1976.

More information check here.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------

ArchiveGrid is a collection of over seven million archival material descriptions, including MARC records from WorldCat and finding aids harvested from the web. It is supported by OCLC Research as the basis for our experimentation and testing in text mining, data analysis, and discovery system applications and interfaces, and it provides a foundation for our collaboration and interactions with the archival community.

ArchiveGrid provides access to detailed archival collection descriptions such as documents, personal papers, family histories, and other archival materials held by thousands of libraries, museums, historical societies, and archives. It also provides contact information for the institutions where these collections are kept.

The majority of archival material descriptions in ArchiveGrid are from WorldCat and primarily represent archival collections held by institutions in the United States. This reflects the contribution patterns for descriptions of materials under archival control in WorldCat. We may extend ArchiveGrid beyond its current scope if it is necessary to support OCLC Research experimental objectives.