FACTIVA VERSUS LEXIS NEXIS FOR FRENCH STUDIES
______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
Factiva versus LexisUni Resources in French | update September 1, 2023
Factiva provide access to more than 800 French sources (such as newspapers, journals,
magazines, television, blogs, etc) published in the world.Although Le Monde is not included in Factiva educational, this database includes 38 majors
newspapers and magazines published in French language.You can consult the entire list of titles included in Factiva (File in Excel format, September 1, 2023)
Nexis Univ
Lexis Univ. provide access to more than 100 French sources (such as newspapers, journals,
magazines, television, blogs, etc) published in France.Note that Le Monde is include in Lexis Univ. You can consult the list of major newspapers and magazines published in France and
includes in Lexis Univ. (File in Excel format, January 20, 2020)You can also consult the entire list of French language titles included in Lexis Univ.
Factiva versus Lexis Univ:
French major newspapers and magazines.
You can also consult a comparative list of major newspapers and magazine
between these two databases. (File in Excel format, January 20, 2020)
______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
Searching Factiva: The Basics
Click on Serach and select: Search builder
Change, Date, Region and/or language as needed.
Write your term(s) to search in the Free Text to search
:
________________ _____________________________
Learn more complex searching in Factiva:
- Searching in non-English languages
- Searching blocked sources
- Custom Search Fields in Factiva.com
- Search Builder: How to search using Dates - pre-set date ranges, entering a date range, and using dates in Free Text searches
- Using Non-searchable Characters
- More Help
______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
How Do I Find Sources on Nexis Univ?
Nexis Uni includes over 15,000 sources, but makes it difficult to identify them. Follow these steps to identify sources included and limit to specific sources.
Click on the Menu link at the top left of the search page
Click on All Sources
Go to Search Within Sources in the left panel and enter a search term
Nexis Uni will display a list of results.
-
Click Add All These as Search Filters to limit your search to this title. You can repeat this process to search multiple titles.
-
Click the three dot menu for more information. This includes years of coverage and how frequently a title is updated
-
This text displays at the bottom of every page in the source list, so it may seem as though your source is archived. That icon will appear next to the title if it is archived, as shown in the example below.
Your selected source now displays in the search box at the top of the page
For more information consult the Lexis Uni help page