Created in the 1970's, the Department of Energy is involved in contracted research in all areas under its domain: nuclear and solar power, energy conservation, biomass and synthetic fuels and more.
Library holdings in microfiche
The library owns a collection of over 200,000 DOE microfiche, filed under the class number E 1.28 and E 1.99. The E 1.99 collection is currently being refiled by technical report number (CONF, ORNL,etc.). Some of these reports are indexed in VIRGO, but most are not individually indexed in VIRGO.
Index and full-text resources
Energy Research Abstracts 1977-1995
E 1.17, GIR
Use this print source to locate individual reports on fiche. ERA supplied both the report number (CONF-9109162) and the DE number (DE94-08723). Reports are currently (2004) being refiled from DE number to report number.
Energy Citations Database 1948-present
"Provides free access to over 2.3 million science research citations with continued growth through regular updates. There are over 179,000 electronic documents, primarily from 1940's and forward, available via the database." Also covers material from DOE's predecessor agencies: Energy Research & Development Administration (ERDA) and Atomic Energy Commission (AEC). Note that the Information Bridge database (next item listed) is a major resource for items published since 1995.
Information Bridge 1995 -present
Index and full text of DOE sponsored research literature received in paper copy or electronic format from DOE Laboratories and Grantees at the DOE Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI) since January 1995. This includes literature indexed in the Energy Citations Database.
EnergyFiles:Energy Science and Technology Virtual Library
"At this site you will find over 500 databases and Web sites containing information and resources pertaining to science and technology of interest to the Department of Energy, with an emphasis on the physical sciences."
NETL Database of Oil and Natural Gas Research
The National Energy Technology Laboratory (NETL) is part of DOE’s national laboratory system. The database portal provides access to content from dozens of CDs and DVDs related to oil and natural gas research that FE’s National Energy Technology Laboratory has published over the years. It also provides links to reports, data sets, and project summaries from ongoing research. The database includes more than 9,000 files and will be expanded in the future to include geographical information system capabilities that will allow visualization of data.