Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Technical Reports - United States

Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)

The EPA was created in 1970 from other agencies to consolidate the U.S. effort to fight air, land and water pollution. Most of what GIR owns is indexed in VIRGO. However many EPA reports are not distributed to UVA because the reports are sponsored by contactors outside the government. See the following indexing and full-text resources: 
 
 
  • Government Reports Annual Index (print) 1977-1994. Call number C 51.9/4:. Located in Government Information Resources. This index is the precursor to the NTIS database.

  • NTIS Database UVA only 1964-current
    (Scroll down page to access NTIS)
    Index only. Contains bibliographic citations and summaries of information products, including technical reports, software packages, and data files. The NTIS database is the online version of the Government Reports Announcements & Index.

  • EPA Publications Source
    Several resources for accessing online EPA current and archival documents, as well as ordering EPA documents. Includes the NEPIS database (see next item listed).  
     
  • NSCEP/NEPIS - EPA's Gateway to Free Digital & Paper Publications 
    This site is EPA’s premier site for accessing EPA publications, with more than 7,000 in stock and 27,000 digital titles, free of charge! EPA’s print publications are available through the National Service Center for Environmental Publications (NSCEP), and EPA’s digital publications are stored in the National Environmental Publications Internet Site (NEPIS) database! You can search and retrieve, download, print and/or order only EPA publications from this site. 

     
  • Emission Inventory Improvement Program ten volume Technical Report Series (full-text). See also resources from the PM 2.5 Inventory Resource Center

  • See also web sites of U.S. State Environmental Agencies.