It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Archaeology: Mediterranean and European
Resources for ancient and medieval archaeology of the Mediterranean
Library of Greek and Latin texts that includes open access to the First 1K Greek Repository and The Perseus Library among other open access repositories maintained by partners in the consortium. Continuously updated.
The First 1K Greek is part of the Open Greek and Latin Project (OGLP) and affiliated with the Perseus Digital Library. The aim of this Open Access resource is to provide a repository for multiple digital editions of ancient Greek and Latin texts.
Expanded on a regular basis by departments in Berlin, Istanbul, Athens, and Rome, Zenon is the central online catalog of the German Archaeological Institute (DAI). Contains open access archaeology bibliographies of the Iberian Peninsula, Eurasia, and the Roman-German Commission.
Indexes articles on the literature, languages, and history of ancient Greece and Rome from journals, books and conference proceedings. Coverage in the online version begins with 1959 and goes up to 2-3 years before the current year.
The BTL Online database provides electronic access to all editions of Latin texts published in the Bibliotheca Teubneriana, ranging from antiquity and late antiquity to medieval and neo-Latin texts. A total of approximately 13 million word forms are thus accessible electronically.
The Brill Dictionary of Ancient Greek is the English translation of Franco Montanari’s Vocabolario della Lingua Greca. With 140,000 entries and new entries being added (online) on a regular basis, this is an important modern dictionary for Ancient Greek and an invaluable tool for students and advanced scholars alike.
The Thesaurus Linguae Graecae (TLG) represents the first effort in the Humanities to produce a large digital corpus of literary texts. Since its inception the project has collected and digitized most texts written in Greek from Homer (8 c. B.C.) to the fall of Byzantium in AD 1453. Its goal is to create a comprehensive digital library of Greek literature from antiquity to the present era. TLG research activities combine the traditional methodologies of philological and literary study with the most advanced features of information technology.
LLT is the world’s leading database for Latin texts. It contains texts from the beginning of Latin literature (Livius Andronicus, 240 BC) through to the texts of the Second Vatican Council (1962-1965). The texts have been taken from the Corpus Christianorum series and from many other leading editions.
The digital Loeb Classical Library makes Greek and Latin literature accessible to the broadest range of readers. Harvard University Press presents an interconnected, fully searchable, perpetually growing, virtual library of all Greek and Latin literature: Epic and lyric poetry; tragedy and comedy; history, travel, philosophy, and oratory; the great medical writers and mathematicians; those Church Fathers who made particular use of pagan culture — in short, our entire Greek and Latin Classical heritage with up-to-date texts and accurate English translations. More than 520 volumes of Latin, Greek, and English texts are available in a modern interface, allowing readers to browse, search, bookmark, annotate, and share content.
The study of the ancient world is a cornerstone of Western scholarship. It possesses a long history with a rich, well-established critical literature. The OBO Classics provides ready access to key primary source texts and a range of electronic resources including over 50 authoritative essays and more than 8,000 citations on the classical world.
The Thesaurus Linguae Latinae is the largest Latin dictionary in the world, covering all the Latin texts from the classical period up to about 600 A.D. It covers all the works from the classical period, the most important patristic works, a very extensive corpus of Medieval Latin literature as well as works of recentior latinitas.