Subject Guide
Off-Grounds Access
Most databases are available only when you're connected to the UVa network. For off Grounds use you'll need a connection through the proxy server or UVaAnywhere. More information.
Searching Virgo
Searching Virgo
Library homepage is http://www.lib.virginia.edu/
To search Special Collections manuscript holdings go to Virgo and click on Manuscripts in "Catalog Searches" box:
Keyword Anywhere = World War I and nurse$
Regular Virgo Search: Keyword = United States and Civil War monuments
Note that clicking on a subject heading will take you to additional works.
Finding Scholarly Articles
A list of all our major online databases is found in Virgo at http://guides.lib.virginia.edu/ . Remember, to access our databases from off-Grounds you need a proxy server account, or a UVA Anywhere or Anywhere-Lite account: see http://www.library.virginia.edu/services/off-grounds-access/
America History and Life Covers the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to present with records from 2,000 English-language journals published worldwide. Includes book reviews.
Search = women AND World War II Note that you can narrow your search results.
JSTOR Full-text backfiles of many important scholarly journals. Coverage is usually from the first issue to 3-5 years before the present.
Academic Search Complete Large general database of articles from scholarly journals and a few newspapers on many topics. The interface is almost identical to America History & Life, above. A good source for articles covering recent issues, such as PTSD. Also covers some speeches and interviews.
Search = "women soldiers" AND ptsd
Historical Newspapers & Magazines
A list of all our major online databases is found in Virgo at http://guides.lib.virginia.edu/ . Remember, to access our databases from off-Grounds you need a proxy server account, or a UVA Anywhere or Anywhere-Lite account: see http://www.library.virginia.edu/services/off-grounds-access/
ProQuest Historical Newspapers Searchable backfiles of the New York Times (1851-2006), Wall Street Journal (1889-1991), Chicago Tribune (1849-1986), Los Angeles Times (1881-1986)and Washington Post (1877-1992).
Search New York Times: Search = "women strike for peace" Date range = 1960-1970
Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers Searchable full text and page images of several hundred U.S. newspapers from the 19th century. You can limit your search to particular states or cities.
Search = women and soldiers Date range = 1860-1865
America's Historical Newspapers, 1690-1922 Searchable full text collection of U.S. newspapers. Can limit by place.
Search = "army nurse corps" Date range = 1914-1918
The Civil War: A Newspaper Perspective - 1860-1865 Searchable text and page images from The New York Herald, the Richmond Enquirer, and The Charleston Mercury, published between November 1, 1860 and April 30, 1865, including many battlefield maps and other illustrations.
American Periodicals Series Full text of over 1,000 magazines and journals published in the U.S. between 1740 and 1900.
Search = Great War AND women AND peace Date range = 1914-1920
Sources for Personal Accounts and Image Sources
A list of all our major online databases is found in Virgo at http://guides.lib.virginia.edu/ . Remember, to access our databases from off-Grounds you need a proxy server account, or a UVA Anywhere or Anywhere-Lite account: see http://www.library.virginia.edu/services/off-grounds-access/
Diary Research: A Guide to Selected Library and Web Resources A guide to finding our Library's numerous print and online diary sources.
North American Women's Letters and Diaries Searchable full text database of American and Canadian women's letters and diaries written from the Colonial period through 1950.
Search Diaries: Search = crops destroyed Years written = 1861-1865 Where written = Virginia
Proximity searching: same sentence
American Civil War Letters and Diaries Letters, diaries and memoirs from the American Civil War, many still in manuscript form. Also includes selected biographies, a bibliography and a chronology of the War.
Search word = nursing Subject heading = select hospital wards and hospitals
In the First Person: An Index to Letters, Diaries, Oral Histories and Personal Narratives Indexes collections of oral histories, letters, diaries, autobiographies, and other personal narratives in the first-person in English from around the world, with some full text included. Contains some material that UVA does not subscribe to. Note that boolean connectors in searches must be capitalized.
Search Documents: keyword = women AND work Year discussed = 1941-1945
Also browse All Subjects for a helpful guide to content (eg. World War, 1939-1945 - Women)
Valley of the Shadow Details life in Augusta County, Va. and Franklin County, Pa. during the Civil War and Reconstruction. Contains letters, diaries, newspapers, speeches, census records and church records.
To Search: Search each component of the archive or search them grouped in each "Reference Center:Search the Valley Databases": "Search the Valley Personal Papers"/ "Search the Letters"/ word or phrase = widow$ keyword menu = women
Of special interest:"TheAftermath: Memory of the War"/"Augusta County Memory of the War"/
"Remembering the War,Augusta County Newspapers"/"Remembering the Confederate Dead"
Documenting the American South Primary sources that document the cultural history of the American South from the Southern point of view. Includes diaries, autobiographies, slave narratives, travel accounts, titles about slavery, and regional literature. Emphasis is on the 19th century. Search the entire collection or browse in "Collections" and in the "Subjects" index:
Subjects Index: See Women (e.g. Women-Confederate States of America-diaries; Women in War;
Women spies-Confederate States of America; etc.)
Duke University's Digital Collections Click on "Women's History" for the "Civil War Women" collection, which contains transcripts of the correspondence of two women spies, one for the Confederacy and one for the Union.
Images Subject Page A page that provides resources and help for finding images to support research.
Image Collection Search for recent and historical photographs of people and places, and for illustrations from articles in Ebsco journal databases.
Microform Collections
Microforms are located on the 3rd floor of Shannon Library. Staff in Government Information Resources can assist you with finding and using microforms.
Women's Studies Resources in Microfilm lists a number of extensive microform collections in women's studies, as well as other resources pertaining to women's studies. Some major collections that might be useful in this course include American Women's Diaries: New England and Southern Women; Gerritsen Collection of Women's History; Pamphlets in American History; Records of Ante-Bellum Southern Plantations; and Southern Women and Their Families in the 19th Century.