Crime
Subject Guide
Dabases - Finding Articles
- America: History & Life (1964-present) This link opens in a new windowCovers the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to present with records from 2,000 English-language journals published worldwide. Includes book reviews.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowOlder issues of scholarly journals, from the start to 3-5 years ago. Use Subject Guides to find newer articles. Periodicals Archive Online has 400 similar journals.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowLarge general database of articles from scholarly journals and a few newspapers on many topics. Also includes reference books (World Almanac, American Heritage Dictionary), biographies, speeches and other primary source documents.
- Dictionary of American Biography This link opens in a new windowPrimary documents, secondary reference sources (Scribner's Dictionary of American History and the Dictionary of American Biography, etc.), and journal articles covering all areas of U.S. history from pre-colonial times to the present day.
- Reader’s’ Guide to Periodical Literature (1900-1990) – Shannon Ref Room - AI3 .R48This is a complete index of articles in popular magazines, such as Time, US News and World Reports, Life, etc.
- Proquest (LexisNexis) Statistical InsightProvides access to a variety of statistical publications on crime, government, etc.
- Proquest (LexisNexis) CongressionalA searchable database of all Congressional reports, hearings, and documents. Some of the documents are digitized and available through the database; those that are not are available in print and can be found by searching the library catalog.
- Periodicals Archive Online This link opens in a new windowSearch the full text of nearly 400 international humanities and social sciences journals published from 1770 to the 1990s.