LibGuides: Latin American & Iberian Studies: 1b.3 Statistics &amp; Country Data

FINDING STATISTICS & COUNTRY DATA

Statista
Statista.com consolidates statistical data on over 80,000 topics from more than 22,500 sources.
UNData: a world of information
UNdata is an internet-based data service which brings UN statistical databases within easy reach of users through a single entry point. Useful features like Country Profiles, Advanced Search and Glossaries are also provided to aid research. The numerous databases, tables and glossaries containing over 60 million data points cover a wide range of themes including Agriculture, Crime, Education, Employment, Energy, Environment, Health, HIV/AIDS, Human Development, Industry, Information and Communication Technology, National Accounts, Population, Refugees, Tourism, Trade, as well as the Millennium Development Goals indicators

International Financial Statistics (IMF eLibrary) : Web version | Print Edition | Country Notes (Print)
This monthly publication published by the International Monetary Fund: Data and Statistics is a standard source of international statistics on all aspects of international and domestic finance. It reports, for most countries of the world, current data needed in the analysis of problems of international payments and of inflation and deflation, i.e., data on exchange rates, international liquidity, international banking, money and banking, interest rates, prices, production, international transactions, government accounts, and national accounts. Information is presented in country tables and in tables of area and world aggregates

World Development Indicators : Web version ; Print Version
The primary World Bank collection of development indicators, compiled from officially-recognized international sources. It presents the most current and accurate global development data available, and includes national, regional and global estimates.

Worldbank.org
DataBank is an analysis and visualisation tool that contains collections of time series data on a variety of topics. You can create your own queries; generate tables, charts, and maps; and easily save, embed, and share them

World Bank.Open Data
DataBank is an analysis and visualisation tool that contains collections of time series data on a variety of topics. You can create your own queries; generate tables, charts, and maps; and easily save, embed, and share them

World Bank. Research & Outlook
he Development Economics Group (DEC) increases understanding of development policies and programs by providing intellectual leadership and analytical services to the World Bank and the wider development community. DEC is the premier research and data arm of the World Bank

OECD iLibrary
Full text (in PDF format) of all books, reports, periodicals, and statistical databases published by the Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD).

FAOSTAT
FAOSTAT provides time-series and cross sectional data relating to food and agriculture for some 200 countries. From 23 October 2014, this version of FAOSTAT will no longer be updated. Please refer to the new FAOSTAT3

FAOSTAT3
New Beta Version

Global Financial Data
Contains long-term historical indexes on stock markets, interest rates, exchange rates, and inflation rates throughout the world
ILOSTAT Database
International Labour Organization (ILO)’s central statistics database ILOSTAT – the primary source for cross-country statistics on the labour market. The database contains over 100 indicators covering more than 230 countries and economies.
ICPSR (Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research
ICPSR, the Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research, is the largest repository of social science data in the world. Since 1962, the ICPSR, based at the University of Michigan, has collected and made available the datasets of many major government studies in their entirety, along with polls and surveys conducted by organizations and individual researchers. ICPSR contains over 7,000 data collections and over 500,000 individual data files, most of which are already prepared for easy use with statistical software such as SPSS and SAS.

Inter-American Development Bank: Statistics and Databases
Established in 1959, IDB is the largest source of development financing for Latin America.

Statistical databases created by the Inter-American Development Bank:

DataGov
'DataGov is a database that contains governance indicators around the world.
more...less...
The DataGov indicators come from publicly available sources including academic institutions, non-governmental organizations, private firms and multilateral agencies. They cover four major areas: democracy, markets, public sector management and rule of law, as well as a number of key socioeconomic indicators. DataGov can be useful for journalists, researchers, policy analysts, members of civil society groups and other persons interested in tracking and evaluating governance performance and the impact of reforms in their countries. Users can download data and construct comparative tables and graphs that can be printed or exported to commonly used software formats. The portal, which is available in Spanish and English, also has information on the methodology used to build the indicators, their reliability, conceptual validity and suitability for analyzing changes over time and differences across countries';
DataIntal
DATAINTAL offers users foreign trade data, which begins in 1992 and encompasses thirty-one countries (Latin America and the Caribbean, the US and Canada).
more...less...
This statistical database enables users to make a general search or to opt for eight-to-ten-digit disaggregation. Trade partners can be found by country or be grouped in geographical areas or sub-regional blocks. Trade flow information is expressed in terms of value (thousands of USD) and weight (kg). The data has been collected from governmental agencies in charge of national statistics and some agencies and organizations working for regional integration. With this information, INTAL aims at meeting the needs of researchers, analysts and decision-makers concerned with international trade.
GEPPAL
Trade statistics of countries in the Americas developed by the Institute for the Integration of Latin America (INTAL)
more...less...
Género y Partidos Políticos en América Latina (GEPPAL) es una base de datos creada a partir de una encuesta a 94 partidos políticos en países de América Latina. Con el fin de determinar las limitaciones y oportunidades que existen para definir cursos de acción y guiar la identificación de estrategias de género, es importante entender en qué estado se encuentran la representación y participación de la mujer dentro de los partidos políticos, así como los factores que definen el nivel de compromiso y respuesta de estos últimos a las demandas específicas de género. Los datos, que fueron recolectados entre el 15 de enero y el 15 de octubre de 2009, son presentados en la base de datos GEPPAL
Indigenous Legislation DataBank
This databank contains information on indigenous legislation classified by country and by theme for all countries of Latin America.
more...less...
There are 20 themes and their respective subthemes, covering from cultural diversity, identification criteria and language to land and territories, economic rights and civil registry. In addition to the transcription of all legislation at the constitutional, primary and secondary levels and, in some cases, jurisprudence, the database also includes an analysis of the relative progress made in the legislation, both in quantitative and qualitative terms.
INTradeBID
The Integration and Trade Sector of the Inter-American Development Bank develops specialized databases, models and tools to monitor and assess the impact that integration and trade has on the Region
more...less...
This portal provides public access to these data and tools. INTradeBID includes an innovative database of product level rules of origin, codified at the maximum level of detail. This database, along with the associated tools, allows the identification and interpretation of the origin requirements of preferential trade arrangements. INTradeBID contains an expansive module on Sanitary and Phytosanitary measures, including searchable databases of rejected imports in major markets and WTO SPS disputes, and guides for exporting to the USA and Europe
Latin America and Caribbean Macro Watch Data Tool
Latin American and Caribbean Macro Watch Data Tool
more...less...
Over 500 indicators consolidating data on macroeconomics, social issues, trade, capital flows, markets and governance. Updated with information based on national sources available as of December 2013. Since 2001, the Latin American and Caribbean Macro Watch (LMW) has been a key source of independent macroeconomic analysis for regional monitoring and forecasts. Data is organized at the global, sub-regional, and country level, the latter typically divided into economic activity and employment, prices and wages, fiscal accounts and public debt, external accounts, money and banking, and financial markets
Country's Indicators Tool
Complement the previous Latin American and Caribbean Macro Watch Data Tool
Revelación de expectativas en Latinoamérica (REVELA)
REVELA is a free Web-based monthly service on inflation and growth expectations in Latin America
more...less...
REVELA’s Web site offers an up-to-date report and a database with historical information. This service compiles data from the expectations surveys of eight Latin American countries with inflation-targeting regimes
Sociómetro-BID
Sociómetro-BID is a diverse dataset of social indicators designed to capture social conditions in Latin America.
more...less...
The Sociómetro-BID database presents a diverse set of social indicators, both traditional and LAC-specific, including demographics, education, labor market, housing, and income. The indicators are derived from national household survey data, covering 21 countries from 1990 to 2009 and are disaggregated by ethnicity, race and gender, amongst others
Working Parents and Childcare Database
The Working Parents and Childcare Database is part of a larger IDB project on childcare alternatives for working families, and how they affect their economic participation. It includes legislation for Latin-American and Caribbean Countries on: childcare, early childhood, early education, financing, children’s rights, family education and support, and maternity legislation.
______________________________________________________________________________
MOxLAD Database (Oxford University),/span>
MOxLAD - Statistical series for more than forty economic and social indicators over the whole twentieth century, covering twenty countries in the region. It is designed as a resource for economic and social historians worldwide. It is the only source that brings together publicly available data for 1900-2000 from a wide range of official publications and presents them on a consistent basis. Coverage is now being expanded, both backwards to 1870 and forwards to 2010"
Regional Core Health Data Initiative
In 1995, the Regional Core Health Data and Country Profile Initiative was launched by the Pan American Health Organization / Regional Office of the World Health Organization (WHO) to monitor the attainment of health goals and compliance with the mandates of the Member States, in addition to ensuring the availability of a basic set of data to be collected annually that would make it possible to characterize the health situation and trends in the countries of the Region of the America
USAID
Latin America and the Caribbean Selected Economic and Social Data (1991-2011)

Observatorio de la Seguridad ciudadana de la OEA / OAS observatory on citizen security .
Alertamerica.org: The OAS Hemispheric Citizen Security Observatory is constantly updating and publishing information for all the countries in the hemisphere. The Observatory presents official information disclosed by the States, assembled into indicators that cover all social phenomena of crime and violence, as well as the initiatives developed to control and penalize them. These indicators constitute the most extensive repertoire of official information on citizen security in the hemisphere.
Web Version: 2011 -
e-book in pdf format: 2011 | 2012

Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean (ECLAC) United Nations: Data And Statistics

CEPALSTAT. CEPALSTAT is the gateway to all the statistical information of Latin America and the Caribbean countries collected, systematized and published by ECLAC..

REDATAM. Creates and processes hierarchical databases from censuses, surveys, vital statistics and other sources for local, regional, and national analyses; produces thematic maps.
Free download of all Redatam versions. And, REDATAM On-Line Process

RPADI . Program for the Analysis of Industrial Dynamics (PADI)

MAGIC PLUS. Module to Analyse the Growth of International Commerce (MAGIC)

SIGCI. Interactive Graphic System for International Trade Data (SIGCI). Provides graphed data on the trade activity of 33 Latin American and Caribbean countries, the original 15 member countries of the European Union and other selected countries (mainly members of the Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC) Forum).

Statistical Yearbook for Latin America and the Caribbean
          Web Version: 1997 - to date
          Print Format: Law Library, 1985- 2000
          Print Format: Shannon, 1984- to date

Economic survey of Latin America and the Caribbean (CEPAL / ECLA Publication)
         Web Version: 1996 -
          Print Format and CD ROM: Shannon, 1982-to date.
          Print Format and CD ROM: Law Library, 1980-1997.

Preliminary overview of the economy of Latin America and the Caribbean (CEPAL / ECLA)
Web Version: 1997 -
Print Format: Shannon, 1993- to date);

Foreign investment in Latin America and the Caribbean (CEPAL / ECLA Publication)
Web Version: 1997 -

Social panorama of Latin America (CEPAL / ECLA Publication)
Web Version 1997 -

Latin America & the Caribbean in the world economy. (CEPAL / ECLA Publication)
Web Version: 1997 -
Print and CD ROM: 1998-2003

Demographic Observatory / Observatorio demográfico (CEPAL / ECLA Publication)
Web Version 1997 -

Latin America & Caribbean: Economic and Social Data
Provides the socio-economic data on countries in the Latin America and Caribbean region, relating to economy, health, education, environment, democracy, trade, investment, assistance, and poverty
e-Book in pdf format: 1991-2011
Print Format: 1991-

National Statistical Agencies

Anguilla:

Anguilla Statistics Department

Argentina:

Instituto Nacional de Estadística y Censos (INDEC)
Centro de Economía Internacional
Anuarios Estadísticos Educativo
Anuario estadístico de la Republica Argentina: 1979-1980 ; 1999 | 2002 | 2013 | 2014 | 2015 | 2016 | 2017 | 2018 | 2019 | 2020 | 2021 |

Aruba:

Central Bureau of Statistics

Bahamas:

Department of Statistics

Barbados:

Barbados Statistical Service

Belize:

Statistical Institute of Belize

Bermuda:

Department of Statistics

Bolivia:

Brasil:

Cayman Islands:

Economics and Statistics Office

Chile:

Instituto Nacional de Estadística de Chile

Colombia:

Departamento Administrativo Nacional de Estadística

Costa Rica:

Instituto Nacional de Estadistica y Censos

Cuba:

Curaçao:

Central Bureau of Statistics

Dominican Republic:

Oficina Nacional de Estadística
Dominicana en Cifras: : 2008 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014 | 2015 | 2016 | 2017 | 2018 | 2019 | 2020 | 2021 |

Ecuador:

Instituto Nacional de Estadística y Censos

El Salvador:

Guatemala:

Instituto Nacional de Estadística

Haiti:

Institut Haïtien de Statistique et d'Informatique (IHSI)

Honduras:

Instituto Nacional de Estadística

Jamaica:

Statistical Institute of Jamaica (STATIN)

Mexico:

Nicaragua:

Instituto Nacional de Informacion y Desarrollo (INIDE) Formerly INEC

Panama:

Contraloría General de la República de Panamá

Paraguay:

Dirección General de Estadísticas, Encuestas y Censos

Peru:

Portugal:

Instituto Nacional de Estatistica / Statistics Portugal

Puerto Rico:

Instituto de Estadísticas de Puerto Rico.
Instituto de Estadísticas de Puerto Rico: datos recientes
Geodatos
ABRE Puerto Rico

St. Lucia:

Government Statistics Department

St. Martin:

Department of Statistics

Trinidad and Tobago :

Central Statistical Office

Turks and Caicos Islands :

Department of Economic Planning and Statistics

Uruguay:

Instituto Nacional de Estadística

Venezuela:

Instituto Nacional de Estadística

Spain:

Instituto Nacional de Estadística
Anuario estadístico de España
Web Version: 1858 - to date
Print Format in UVA: 1858 - 2000

International historical statistics: 1750-2010
The latest edition of an authoritative collection of statistics. Updated to 2010 wherever possible, it provides key economic and social indicators for the last 260 years, serving as an essential reference source.
Older editions.1750-1983 |1750-1988| 1750-1993 | 1750-2005

The world economy : historical statistics 2003
Maddison offers insights into the history and political influence of national accounts and national accounting. He demonstrates that such statistical data can enlighten the contemporary and later observer in the analysis of economic phenomena such as growth, market formation and income distribution. This approach is particularly interesting for developing countries which often lack the expertise or data to produce good national accounts and are thus deprived of a vital policy-making tool.
Statistical abstract of Latin America for ... / prepared by Committee on Latin American Studies
The annual Statistical Abstract of Latin America (SALA) published (up to 2002) current reliable statistics on the societies, economies, and politics of Latin America and guides users to additional quantitative publications and statistical sources on the region. Also explore Supplementary titles cataloged separately.
Data-Planet Statistical Datasets
Provides easy access to an extensive repository of standardized and structured statistical data. The repository contains more than 18.9 billion data points from over 70 source organizations, including the U.S. Census Bureau, Statistics Canada, and Zillow Real Estate Metrics. Search for data by keyword or browse 16 subject categories. Users can create charts, graphs, and maps and download data in a variety of file formats (e.g., Excel, SAS, XML, Shapefile) for use with statistical or GIS software.

Finding Data: Migrations

Latin American Migration Project
The Latin American Migration Project (LAMP) is a collaborative research project based at Princeton University and the University of Guadalajara.
more...less...
The LAMP was born as an extension of the Mexican Migration Project (MMP), which was created in 1982 by an interdisciplinary team of researchers to advance our understanding of the complex processes of international migration and immigration to the United States. Data gathered by the MMP have been the source of a sizable amount of research on international migration. The purpose of the LAMP is to extend this research to migration flows originating in other Latin American countries.
Mexican Migration Project
The Mexican Migration Project was created in 1982 by an interdisciplinary team of researchers to further our understanding of the complex process of Mexican migration to the United States.
more...less...
Since its inception, the MMP's main focus has been to gather social as well as economic information on Mexican-US migration.

Finding Data: Data on Elections - Latin America

Data on Elections - Latin America
Directory of selected Web archived sources dealing with elections in Latin America (special focuss on Mexico and Brazil). Organized by Data and Statistical Services at Pricenton
Latin American Electoral Data
Directory containing links, organized by country, to sites containing electoral data, including the official electoral tribunal, individual collections of electoral data, and several Web archived sources.
Latin American Election Statistics: Sources
Latin American Election Statistics: A Guide to Sources. Quotations from scholarly sources providing a chronology of election developments and data in the Caribbean countries of Latin American since approximately 1800. Created by Karen Lindvall-Larson UC San Diego

Latin American Public Opinion Project (LAPOP)
Datasets of surveys of democratic public opinion and behavior in the Americas using national probability samples of voting-age adults. Also known as AmericasBarometer. (Vanderbilt University)
Polling the nations
Compilation of public opinion surveys conducted in the United States and more than 80 other countries. Each record includes the question asked and the responses given, the polling organization responsible for the work, the date the information was released, the sample size, and the groups or areas included in the interview. 1986+

CIA World Factbook
Descriptive data about countries throughout the world.
CIAO: Columbia International Affairs Online
Includes country data and maps provided by The Economist Intelligence Unit. Search for a country and organize the result by year.
more...less...
Also includes working papers from research institutes, occasional papers series from NGO's, conference proceedings, current tables of contents and article abstracts from selected journals, and full-text of selected books.
ISA (International Strategic Analysis)
ISA is an international research and consulting firm headquartered in Luxembourg. It provides country intelligence, economic forecasting, and international market analysis to companies, financial institutions, government bodies, and universities.
more...less...
ISA was founded in 2003 by American economist Michael Weidokal, who continues to serve as executive director. The firm specializes in geopolitics and international economics, and the journal of the Strategic Culture Foundation describes it as "closely tied to US political establishment". It has clients in more than 150 countries.
Subscription include:
ISA Country Reports: ISA publishes 118 individual ISA Country Reports that provide coverage and analysis of the political, economic, demographic, and environmental issues and trends in each country.
ISA Region Reports: ISA publishes 8 individual ISA Region Reports that contain graphs, charts, and detailed descriptions of each region's economic data, trade and investment statistics, recent elections and other related topics.
ISA Economic Forecasts: ISA publishes Economic Forecasts for nearly 180 countries, including historical economic data back to 1993 and forecast data that goes forward five years.
ISA Risk Forecasts: ISA publishes Risk Forecasts for nearly 180 countries, with risk forecasts covering domestic and international political risk, domestic and international economic risk, demographic and social risk, and environmental and natural disaster risk.
The ISA Global Update: The ISA Global Update is ISA's weekly electronic newsletter covering the key political, economic and business issues and events of the past week as well as an outlook for the week ahead in global business, economics, and politics.
The Global Economic and Risk Outlook: ISA publishes the annual ISA Global Economic and Risk Outlook that previews the global economy for the coming year.

México, Central, South American & Iberian	Country Reports :
Argentina Country Profile Political Risk Yearbook: Argentina country report Argentina Country Risk Report Argentina Country Monitor "Political Risk Yearbook: Bolivia Country Report Brazil Country Report Brazil Country Profile Brazil Country Risk Brazil Country Monitor Chile Country Report Chile Country Profile Chile Political Risk Yearbook: Chile Country Monitor Colombia Country Report Political Risk Yearbook: Colombia Colombia Country Profile Colombia Country Monitor Costa Rica Country Report Costa Rica Country Monitor Cuba Country Report Dominican Republic Country Report Ecuador Country Report Ecuador Country Monitor El Salvador Country Report El Salvador Country Monitor Guatemala Country Report Guatemala Country Monitor Guyana Country Report Haiti Country Report Honduras Country Report Honduras Country Monitor Jamaica Country Report	Mexico Country Report Mexico Country Profile Mexico Country Risk Mexico Country Monitor Nicaragua Country Report Nicaragua Country Monitor Panama Country Report Panama Country Monitor Panama Country Review Panama Country Monitor Paraguay Country Report Paraguay Country Review Peru Country Report Peru Country Risk Peru Country Profile Peru Country Monitor Portugal Country Report Portugal Country Monitor Portugal Country Profile Portugal Country Review Spain Country Report Spain Country Monitor Spain Country Profile Spain Country Review Suriname Country Report Trinidad & Tobago Country Report Uruguay Country Report Uruguay Country Monitor Uruguay Country Review Venezuela Country Profile Venezuela Country Report Venezuela Country Monitor Venezuela Country Risk Venezuela Country Review

México, Central, South American & Iberian

Country Reports :