Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Statistics

This guide supports students, faculty and staff who manipulate, visualize and/or analyze data using statistical methods and software.

Library Covid Response


Library Changes because of COVID-19 Response:

https://www.library.virginia.edu/news/covid-19

 

We will also post about major changes when they happen. Sign up to get those in your email:
http://news.library.virginia.edu/

Available Statistical Software

The University of Virginia provides access to several statistical software packages. The list below details what we offer and how to access it. The information on this page is subject to change. Please visit Research Software Support for the most up-to-date information.

MATLAB

Faculty, staff and students at the University of Virginia may access MATLAB through public computers with the UVA software build on them, via the UVA Hive, or by installing MATLAB on your own computer. Visit https://data.library.virginia.edu/research-software/matlab/ for more information.

Minitab

Faculty, staff and students at the University of Virginia may access Minitab through public computers with the UVA software build on them, via the UVA Hive, or by installing Minitab on your own computer. Note: The full version of Minitab is only available for Windows. Visit https://data.library.virginia.edu/research-software/minitab-2/ for more information. Minitab Express is available for Mac. Visit https://data.library.virginia.edu/research-software/minitab-express-for-mac-os/ for more information.

R/RStudio

R and RStudio are open source and free to download. To download R, visit https://cloud.r-project.org/ and select the version appropriate for your operating system. Versions for Linux, Mac and Windows are available. To download RStudio, visit https://www.rstudio.com/products/rstudio/download/ and select the free RStudio Desktop. Again download the version appropriate for your operating system. Support and training for R and RStudio is available through the UVA Library StatLab.

SAS

Faculty, staff and students at the University of Virginia may access SAS through public computers with the UVA software build on them, via the UVA Hive, or by installing SAS on your own computer. Visit https://data.library.virginia.edu/research-software/sas/ for more information.

SPSS

Faculty, staff and students at the University of Virginia may access SPSS through public computers with the UVA software build on them, via the UVA Hive, or by installing SPSS on your own computer. Visit https://data.library.virginia.edu/research-software/spss/ for more information. Support and training for SPSS is available through the UVA Library StatLab.

Stata

Faculty, staff and students at the University of Virginia may access Stata through public computers with the UVA software build on them or via the UVA Hive.  The University only supports 50 concurrent users. These apply to both computer labs AND The Hive usage. Users trying to access Stata may experience waiting periods for a license to open. Visit https://data.library.virginia.edu/research-software/stata/ for more information. Support and training for Stata is available through the UVA Library StatLab.

Materials for Learning Statistics

OpenIntro Statistics

OpenIntro Statistics is an introductory statistics textbook. Its core derives from the classic notions of statistics education and is extended by recent innovations. The textbook meets high quality standards and has been used at Princeton, Vanderbilt, UMass Amherst, and many other schools. Includes labs, exercises, selected student solutions, videos, slides and computing code (R, Python, SAS, and Stata)

Introductory Statistics

Introductory Statistics follows the scope and sequence of a traditional one-semester statistics course. It is geared toward students majoring in fields other than math or engineering and uses TI-83/84 calculators (rather than a statistical computing platform) to demonstrate applied statistical methods. This text assumes students have been exposed to intermediate algebra, and it focuses on the applications of statistical knowledge rather than the theory behind it. Includes labs, exercises, selected student solutions, and slides.

Online Statistics Education: A Multimedia Course of Study

This web site contains introductory statistical topics presented in textbook format and as video presentations. Features include interactive demonstrations and simulations, case studies, and an analysis lab. Includes exercises, selected solutions, and videos.

Find Data for your Research

Do you need help finding or accessing data for your research? Our Data Librarian can work with you to

  • search for and locate existing data sources,
  • access and use data sources, software tools, and online databases licensed by the Library,
  • purchase “small” data sets as part of our managed collection,
  • understand data documentation and codebooks.

Contact our Data Librarian, Jenn Huck, at data@virginia.edu to schedule an appointment. Explore the Find Data pages to learn more about our data collections or visit our Data Sources Guide.