Primary Sources about Women

Diaries of eight women, written from the mid-18th through the late 19th centuries. Women's roles, marriage, family, education, slavery and the Civil War are major topics covered in these records. Print guide contains detailed description of each diary.

Nineteenth century life - education, courtship, marriage, kinship, childrearing, plantation life, politics and the Civil War - is the focus of this collection. 32 middle and upper class women are represented by their "life diaries", spiritual journals, adolescent diaries and travel journals. Print guide contains detailed description of each diary.

A spin-off from the Commission on Interracial Cooperation, this group raised the South's consciousness and brought about a decrease in Black lynchings. Note: Print guide can be found in either Micfilm 1541 or 1563.

4,471 books and pamphlets, plus extensive runs of 265 periodicals, mostly from Western Europe and the U.S. Most material in collection published from 1860-1930.

Contains women's periodicals from the International Women's History Periodical Archive assembled by the Women's History Research Center. Hard to find journals and newspapers of the women's movement from 1956 to 1974. University of Missouri's guide (similar to the print guide in Shannon) is online.

Nearly 1,000 reels covering a collection of pre-1920 literature. Arranged chronologically, it includes printed books from pre-1799 to 1920; pamphlets; periodicals, plus manuscripts and photographs.

You can search within the collection in Virgo.

See publisher's reel guide. To search for reel numbers of items listed in this guide, click on Search at top of first screen that displays. Next screen, select History of Women from the Collection Title drop-down menu. You may now enter a term in the full-text search box. Or, enter a term in one of the boxes under Additional Search Options.

"The Nineteenth Century is a thirty-year publishing programme based at the British Library which reproduces on microfiche a significant proportion of English-language works first published between 1801 and 1900."

Search online guide to find material on women or topics related to women. Use the microfiche number listed in the online record you retrieve to locate the microfiche card you need.

Includes 646 nineteenth- and early twentieth-century pamphlets on women's roles and issues. See publisher's description.

Pt. 1. Meetings of the Board of Directors and the Executive Committees : minutes and related documents, 1918-1974. Pt. 2, ser. A. Transcripts and records of National Conventions, 1919-1944, and of General Councils, 1927-1943. Pt. 2, ser. B. Transcripts and records of National Conventions, 1946-1974, and of General Councils, 1945-1973. Pt. 3, ser. A. National office subject files, 1920-1932.

Large set, in series (A-N), arranged by region. Print and online guides are available.

See also an important finding aid to the guides themselves: A Genealogical index to the guides of the microfilm edition of Records of ante-bellum Southern plantations from the Revolution through the Civil War. Indexes this set by state and by city and county, by plantation name and by surname of plantation owner.

UVA has Series A-G. See online guides for each series.

Contains 1,099 works originally published from the 15th to the early 20th century and attempts to show the social and intellectual background that made the persecutions possible. See publisher's reel guide.

To search this guide, click on Search at the top of the screen. Then select "Witchcraft in Europe and America" from the Collection Title drop-down menu. Then enter your search terms.

Prescriptive literature for the Victorian and Edwardian woman. Sources from the Bodleian Library, Oxford. Library has pt. 1 only.

Filmed by the Women's History Research Center. Covers: Physical and mental health of women; Physical and mental illness of women; Biology, women and the life cycle; Birth control/population control; Sex and sexuality; Black and third world women - health; Special issues of mass periodicals [pertaining to the subjects of each of the preceding sections of the microfilm].

Music, principally by European and North American women composers, originally published between ca. 1780 and 1950.

Covers: Law/General; Politics; Employment; Education; Rape/prison/prostitution; Black and third world women and law.