University of Virginia History and Research
Reference Team
Digitized Photograph Collections
The two largest digitized photograph collections are keyword searchable in Virgo. This includes:
- Visual History Collection and the
- Printing Services Photograph File (partially digitized, see below to view the entire collection by request in Special Collections)
These collections, which together consist of more than 23,000 images, include a huge range of topics, including buildings, student life, visitors to the university, portraits, group photographs, events, and much more, including photographs related to the professional schools and hospital. Some, but not all, photographs are dated, and range from the 1860s through the early 2000s. Date range searching is available in advanced search (select the appropriate digital collection(s) then add the date range and/or keyword).
Photograph Collections available in Special Collections
These selected photograph collections are available to view in-person at the Special Collections. Find a full list of photograph collections on the University in Virgo. In addition, many other archival collections include a handful of photographs, so be sure to search in the University Archives more broadly if you're seeking images around a specific topic.
The collections described above, are also available for viewing in the Special Collections. In addition to the Visual History Collection, which is available for browsing in the SC Reading Room, the Printing Services Photo files, also called the Skinner Files, are available by request: 1965-1973; 1974-1977. David Skinner, 1922-2009, worked at UVA as a photographer for 28 years.
- Corks and Curls Photographs"Photographs taken for Corks and Curls, the University of Virginia yearbook, depicting students, athletics, dramatic productions, student organizations, professors and administrators, and buildings and scenes at the University." Dates from 1963-1978, contains more than 1500 items.
- University Communications Photos"The collection consists of black and white photographs of buildings and grounds at the University of Virginia; sports events; student life; and some portraits of faculty and staff members." Dates from the 1950s through the 1970s, contains more than 150 items.
- University Photographer"Of interest are photographs of the 1970 student strike, showing damage done to Maury Hall (May 6, 1970), protests (May 8-9), and President Shannon's speech (May 10, 1970) at the Rotunda." Dates from 1966 - 1973, contains more than 750 items.