LibGuides: Researching the University of Virginia: Administration and Faculty

This Page

Useful General Resources | President's Papers | Faculty | See also Home page resources

Useful General Resources

UVA Leadership
"The President's Cabinet meets regularly to advise the President and fellow cabinet members on any subjects relating to the duties of his/her department or organization. ...includes a listing of Cabinet members and their contact information, along with a brief list of links to other administration resources that report directly to the President." See also UVA Office of the President and Executive Vice-President and Provost
Board of Visitors Minutes
Online transcriptions of BOV minutes. See also 1817-2007 U.Va. Board of Visitors Public Minutes Archive where users may also find tips on searching this material. The BOV serve as the corporate board for the University of Virginia, and are responsible for the long-term planning of the University. See current Board of Visitors
University of Virginia Archives
Scroll down the page for a list of the record groups, including those relevant to University Administration, e.g. Office of the President. Explore these materials in VIRGO with an Advanced Catalog search. Enter term as Author or Subject and add "University of Virginia." Example search: Author= Office of the President University of Virginia. Add keywords or date limits to refine your results. Questions about the materials in UVA Archives? Use the "form" link for the online request form.
JUEL - Jefferson's University; the early life
"JUEL is a study of what life was like in the first 50 years of the University of Virginia, from its founding through end of the Civil War. Jefferson’s vision of a secular university, dedicated to enriching public life and sustaining the new republic, was both embodied in and transformed by the people who lived, worked, and studied at the University. This project will bring together a trove of personal and administrative documents, as well as images of the university, to examine the day-to-day life of students, faculty, workers, and townspeople and their architectural and social environment."
Includes transcriptions of resources like the Journal of the Chairman of the Faculty, Faculty Minutes, the University Catalog, and more.
UVA Budget
Budget summaries from 2000 to current year. See also the Budget Portal page.
See also print volumes, Call number LD5663. 2009-2013 in Shannon Reference. Earlier volumes (1936-2009) located in Shannon Stacks. Special Collections also has copies of the Budget.
See also
Local History Files and Newspapers

President's Papers, University of Virginia

The papers of the University presidents are among the best sources of information about policies, decision making, and daily operations at the University and they are all held in UVA's Special Collections Library. There was no president until 1904. Here is a listing of the presidents since then:

1904–1931        Edwin Anderson Alderman
1931–1947        John Lloyd Newcomb
1947–1959        Colgate W. Darden, Jr.
1959–1974        Edgar F. Shannon, Jr.
1974–1985        Frank L. Hereford, Jr.
1985–1990       Robert M. O’Neil
1990–2010        John T. Casteen III
2010–current   Teresa A. Sullivan

To find the papers of individual presidents, use a VIRGO Catalog Advanced Search. Enter a name in the Author field, e.g. Edwin Anderson Shannon, and in the Title Field enter "president papers". Add keywords or date limits to narrow your search results. Please be aware that access to the papers of the most recent presidents may be restricted for specific time periods. Questions? Use the Special Collections reference request "form" link on this page.

cccc

Faculty

Current Faculty by Department, School or Program
Select desired department, school or program. Next, select the "faculty" or "people" link.
Data on Faculty
Back to 1998. From Institutional Assessment & Studies
Local History File and Newspapers
See especially subject index to Local History File folders and Slip Index to Cavalier Daily.
UVA Faculty Senate
Includes Minutes and Documents archives back to the late 1990s. See VIRGO records for earlier materials held in Special Collections.
Faculty Minutes
Faculty Minutes from 1825-1856 - from Jefferson's University - The Early Life (JUEL)
Academic Faculty Minutes 1899-1984
In Special Collections. 30 volumes plus 4 indexes.
Journals of the Chairman of the Faculty, 1827-1864
Digitized beginning with 1835. Earlier volumes are available in manuscript form in Special Collections - see this VIRGO record Earlier volumes discuss a variety of University business involving the Board of Visitors, proctors, janitors, patrons, and hotel keepers. The earliest contain verbatim transcripts of the chairman's correspondence, student petitions, etc. Later volumes focus on student affairs.
University of Virginia Faculty Salaries
LD5663.A3 (1996-2008) Special Collections. Formerly part of the Budget, then a separate publication. See also current faculty and staff salary information, available from the Cavalier Daily database.
See also the Richmond Times Dispatch State Employees Salaries database
See also Fabled Faculty
From the online exhibit All the Hoos in Hoosville.
Card File of University of Virginia Faculty and Administrative Staff 1825-Ca.1915 [manuscript] Ca. 1915-1934.
Special Collections Card File - The index, begun ca. 1915, and continued sporadically through 1934, is an attempt at a comprehensive listing of faculty and administrative staff (bursars, proctors, librarians, etc.) from 1825 forward. It varies considerably in the quantity and quality of information about the individuals listed. In some cases only a name is given. Others cards may contain birth and death dates, degrees, positions held, and references to biographical information.
Card File of University of Virginia Faculty Appointees, 1825-1972 [manuscript] 1940-1972.
Special Collections Card File - An alphabetical index of appointees to positions at the University of Virginia, Clinch Valley College, Mary Washington College and "Northern Virginia" [George Mason College]
The index was compiled by Bundy Vunnell Hambley and others from 1940-1972. It contains names, dates of birth and death and positions held by the earlier professors; and names, known birthdates, and appointments and resignations for later professors. Cards for the latter also contain citations to the dates of the Board of Visitors actions.
A Revision of "A List of the Residents of the Pavilions on the Lawn at the University of Virginia" [manuscript] 2015.
UVA Historian, Sandy Gilliam's research on the residents of the Pavilions.

Researching the University of Virginia

This Page

Useful General Resources

President's Papers, University of Virginia

Faculty

Contact Us

About the Library

Using the Library

Other Sites