University of Virginia History and Research

UVA student newspapers are an excellent resource for learning more about student life, university concerns, and changes on campus, as well as regional news and events and town-gown relations. Resources for researching the main student newspaper are below; see other student publications for additional student newspapers. 

The Cavalier Daily. The major student newspaper, formerly College Topics (see below). 1948-present. 

• Available online via the CD website: 1999-present.
  • Online content is inconsistent 1999-2010 or so. 
• Available online via Google News Archive - not searchable, sometimes low quality scans. 1923-1996. 
• Available in print by request and in the Shannon Library Reference Room: 1948-present. 
• Available on microfilm: from 1948, volumes are scanned to film every 2 years. 

College Topics. Now The Cavalier Daily. The University's second student newspaper. 1890-1948. 

• Available online via the Library of Virginia: 1890-1916. 
• Available in print by request and in the Shannon Library Reference Room: 1890-1948. 
• Available on microfilm, 1890-1948.  

Searching in the Cavalier Daily and College topics: 

A handwritten index to CT and The CD (through 1994) is located in the Shannon Library Reference Room. Ask at the Shannon Reference Desk for an introduction. On 35k slips of paper housed in a card catalog, you'll find both broad topics and specific people, events, and organizations. 

Clippings, or vertical, files are available to use by appointment in Shannon Library: email library@virginia.edu. These files contain more than 3k folders containing newspaper clippings and other ephemera organized by topic. View topics in the UVA and Local History files. 

Corks and Curls. The university's main yearbook. 1888-2018. 

• Available online in Virgo. NB: Scroll left and right to view all issues. Issues are not in chronological order, so you may need to browse to find the issue you're seeking. 
• Available in print in Shannon's Reference Room. Copies are also available to check out, by request. 
• A handwritten index to Corks and Curls, through 1966, is available in Special Collections. The resource indexes poetry and short story authors, department heads, clubs, sports, etc. Useful when researching niche topics, groups, or individuals. 

UVA Wise, formerly Clinch Valley College: 

• Find CVC's yearbook, The Outpost, in the Shannon Reference Room and in Special Collections, 1954-82.

University of Mary Washington, formerly Mary Washington College (UMW):

• Find UMW's yearbook, The Battlefield, online via UMW's Special Collections, 1913-2014.
• Other university publications including commencement programs, student publications, and more online via UMW's Special Collections. 

Find professional school yearbooks.  

•  Chameleon, the first student newspaper. 1831.
  • Available online in Virgo and in print in Special Collections. 
• The Declaration: an alternative student newspaper. 1976-1995
  • Available on microfilm, by request: 1973-2020. Available in print in Special Collections: 1973-2014. 
• The Yellow Journal, a satirical newspaper. 1913-1927; 1987-1999; 2003, 2010-present. 
  • Available in print in Special Collections: 
    • 1913-1927; 1987-1999; 2003, 2010-present. 
• Q*, a queer literary magazine. 2017-present. 
  • Available online, some issues in Special Collections. 
• Orphée Noir, a publication of OAAA. 2017. 
  • Available in print in Special Collections. 
• Ujamaa, a publication of OAAA. 1982-84. 
  • Available in print in Special Collections. 
• Meridian. Annual literary magazine edited by Creative Writing MFA students. 1998-present. 
  • Available in print in the Shannon Reference Room. 
• Rag & Bone, a student literary magazine. 1993-2008. 
  • Available in print in Special Collections.
• The Sally Hemings, a student magazine of the May Day protests. 1970. 
  • Available in print in Special Collections. 
• Oculus, an "attempt to bring out certain University issues that either have received little publicity, or that deserve more discussion." 1985-1991. 
  • Available in print in Special Collections. 
• Rapier, a student satire magazine. 1966-1969. 
  • Available in print by request or in Special Collections.
• The UVA Magazine. Published by the Jefferson Society. 1956-1969.
  • Available in print by request. Available in print in Special Collections. 
• The Virginia Spectator, student literary magazine. Also called the University Literary Magazine. 1856-1962. 
  • Available in print in the Shannon Reference Room and by request. Available online via HathiTrust to the public, 1856-1929. 
  • A handwritten index to this publication is available in Special Collections; covers 1939-1954. 
• Crust, a student magazine. Later merged with the Virginia Spectator. 1940-1947. 
  • Available in print by request. Available in print in Special Collections. 
• The Virginia Reel, a student magazine. 1920-1937. 
  • Available in print by request and in print in Special Collections. 
• The Collegian, a student magazine. 1838-1842. 
  • Available online, in print in the Shannon Reference Room, by request, and in Special Collections. 

Selected resources, from the list above:

• Black student publications in the Shannon Reference Room and in Special Collections.