University of Virginia History

Newspapers | Yearbooks | Course Catalogs | University News | Directories | Other Student Publications | Alumni Publications | Professional School Publications | Other UVA Publications

The Cavalier Daily. The major student newspaper, formerly College Topics (see below). 1948-present. 

• Available online via the CD website: 1999-present.
• Online content is inconsistent 1999-2010 or so. 
• Available online via Google News Archive - not searchable, sometimes low quality scans. 1923-1996. 
• Available in print by request and in the Shannon Library Reference Room: 1948-present. 
• Available on microfilm: from 1948, volumes are scanned to film every 2 years. 

A handwritten index to CT and The CD (through 1994) is located in the Shannon Library Reference Room. Ask at the Shannon Reference Desk for an introduction. On 35k slips of paper housed in a card catalog, you'll find both broad topics and specific people, events, and organizations. 

College Topics. Now The Cavalier Daily. The University's second student newspaper. 1890-1948. 

• Available online via the Library of Virginia: 1890-1916. 
• Available in print by request and in the Shannon Library Reference Room: 1890-1948. 
• Available on microfilm, 1890-1948.  

A handwritten index to CT and The CD (through 1994) is located in the Shannon Library Reference Room. Ask at the Shannon Reference Desk for an introduction. On 35k slips of paper housed in a card catalog, you'll find both broad topics and specific people, events, and organizations. 

Corks and Curls. The yearbook. 1888-2018. 

• Available online in Virgo. NB: Scroll left and right to view all issues. Issues are not in chronological order, so you may need to browse to find the issue you're seeking. 
• Available in print in Shannon's Reference Room. Copies are also available to check out, by request. 
• A handwritten index to Corks and Curls, through 1966, is available in Special Collections. The resource indexes poetry and short story authors, department heads, clubs, sports, etc. Useful when researching niche topics, groups, or individuals. 

Professional school yearbooks are listed below. 

The UVA Record, or the Record. Also called The Catalog until 1907. Our course catalog. 1825-2008. The Record organizes classes by school, so a bound issue of the Record will contain several printed books for that year, often one per school. 

• Available in print in Shannon's Reference Room and to check out, by request, 1850-1907, and 1907-2008. 
• Available in print in Special Collections, 1825-1907 and 1907-2008. 
• Available online: via HathiTrust, 1865-1923.
• To browse professional school catalogs only, these are listed below; these are included in the Record as well. 
• After 2008, the Record is online only. 

NB: Early copies of the Record include lists of faculty, students, and administrators, prior year's graduates, and Board of Visitors members. They also include advertisements, student directory information, as well as course descriptions, graduation requirements, fees, and university policies. Later copies dropped the student directories but still contain a wealth of information. Beginning with Summer 2005 session, the catalog went online-only. View these via the University Registrar. 

UVA Today. Published by the University News, a unit of University Communications. 2008-present. 

• Available online via their website. 

Inside UVA. Published by the University's Office of Publications, a predecessor to UVA Today. 1979-2007. 

• Available in print by request and in the Shannon Library Reference Room. 

University Register. Published by the University's Office of Publications, a predecessor to Inside UVA. 1971-79. 

• Available in print by request. 
• Available in print in Special Collections.

A handwritten index to the University Register and Inside UVA dating through the mid 1980s is available in Special Collections. This resource indexes topics, individuals, buildings, schools, programs, departments, events, and more. 

See also the Record, above, for pre-1900 student directories. 

University Directory. 1886-2014. An awesome resource that includes advertisements and campus information in addition to student information.

• Available online: 1886 - 1965. 
• Available in print in the Shannon Reference Room: 1900 - 2014. 
• Available in Special Collections: 1886-1974. 

Faces: a student and sometimes staff directory. For incoming students. 

• Available in print in Special Collections: students: 1972-73 through 1999-2000, 2003-04, and 2011-12. Staff, 1990-91 through 1993-94,1997-98 through 1999-2000. 

Search UVA Theses and Dissertations in Virgo, our catalog. Use the advanced search to search within that collection. 

•  Chameleon, the first student newspaper. 1831.
  • Available online in Virgo and in print in Special Collections. 
• The Declaration: an alternative student newspaper. 1976-1995
  • Available on microfilm, by request: 1973-2020. Available in print in Special Collections: 1973-2014. 
• The Yellow Journal, a satirical newspaper. 1913-1927; 1987-1999; 2003, 2010-present. 
  • Available in print in Special Collections: 
    • 1913-1927; 1987-1999; 2003, 2010-present. 
• Q*, a queer literary magazine. 2017-present. 
  • Available online, some issues in Special Collections. 
• Meridian. Annual literary magazine edited by Creative Writing MFA students. 1998-present. 
  • Available in print in the Shannon Reference Room. 
• Rag & Bone, a student literary magazine. 1993-2008. 
  • Available in print in Special Collections.
• The Sally Hemings, a student magazine of the May Day protests. 1970. 
  • Available in print in Special Collections. 
• Oculus, an "attempt to bring out certain University issues that either have received little publicity, or that deserve more discussion." 1985-1991. 
  • Available in print in Special Collections. 
• Rapier, a student satire magazine. 1966-1969. 
  • Available in print by request or in Special Collections.
• The UVA Magazine. Published by the Jefferson Society. 1956-1969.
  • Available in print by request. Available in print in Special Collections. 
• The Virginia Spectator, student literary magazine. Also called the University Literary Magazine. 1856-1962. 
  • Available in print in the Shannon Reference Room and by request. Available online via HathiTrust to the public, 1856-1929. 
  • A handwritten index to this publication is available in Special Collections; covers 1939-1954. 
• Crust, a student magazine. Later merged with the Virginia Spectator. 1940-1947. 
  • Available in print by request. Available in print in Special Collections. 
• The Virginia Reel, a student magazine. 1920-1937. 
  • Available in print by request and in print in Special Collections. 
• The Collegian, a student magazine. 1838-1842. 
  • Available online, in print in the Shannon Reference Room, by request, and in Special Collections. 

Virginia: The University of Virginia Magazine. The alumni magazine, published by the Alumni Association. 1993-present. 

• Available online via the magazine's website: 2006 to present
• Available in print by request and in the Shannon Library Reference Room: 1993 to 2005

Alumni News. The former alumni magazine, published by the Alumni Association. 1913-1993. 

• Available in print by request and in the Shannon Library Reference Room. Class notes on alumni included. 

A handwritten index to the Alumni News and the Alumni Bulletin is located in the Shannon Library Reference Room. Ask at the Shannon Reference Desk for an introduction. 

Alumni Bulletin. The first alumni magazine. 1894-1924. 

• Available in print by request and in Special Collections. First 14 volumes in the Shannon Reference Room. The Alumni Bulletin is focused on news of the university and faculty and do not contain class notes. 

A handwritten index to the Alumni News and the Alumni Bulletin is located in the Shannon Library Reference Room. Ask at the Shannon Reference Desk for an introduction. 

Alumni directories

For the first century of the University, alumni directories were published every few decades. These directories were called lists, catalogs, or were titled generically such as 'Alumni of UVA'. For the first 75 or so years of the University, students were not always consistently recorded for a wide variety of reasons. For example, a professor's daughter may have attended courses at UVA but never have been 'registered' as a student. Because of this, there can be inconsistencies between the University Registrar, the yearbook, and other resources such as these directories. Check the item to see if it's available in print in Shannon's Reference Room, by request, or at Special Collections. 

1878 (also online); 1910; 'lost' alumni, 1912; 'overseas' alumni, 1918; 1921 (also online); women grads, 1921-1925; living alumni, 1931; 1981.

See professional school alumni magazines below. 

All materials are in print at the Health Sciences Library unless otherwise noted. Contact the Health Sciences Historic Collections with questions at (434) 924-0052 or hsl-historical@virginia.edu; for Nursing School materials, the Bjoring Center can also be consulted at (434) 924-0083. Visitors should call ahead before visiting in person. 

• Newsletters and bulletins
  • UVA Health's Current Newsletters and Publications
  • The Medical Examiner, UVA Med School bulletin, in print: 1986-1994. 
  • The Link, UVA Hospital Bulletin. 1987-1989; 1989-2011. 
  • The Draw Sheet, UVA Hospital bulletin. In print, 1952-1989. 
• Medical School Alumni magazine:
  • Virginia Medicine Magazine, online: 2019-present. 
  • Vitals: 2011-2019 online and in print. 
  • UVa Medical AlumNews: in print, 1992-2011. 
  • Chart: in print, 1993-95
  • Other current news from the Medical Alumni Association. 
• Nursing School - Bjoring Center for Nursing Historical Inquiry newsletter: 
  • Windows in Time, a newsletter of nursing history, sometimes focusing on UVA, also covering news and events from the Bjoring Center, online: 2002-present. 
• Nursing School Alumni magazine: 
  • Virginia Nursing Legacy Magazine, online: 2018-present. 
  • The Virginia Legacy, in print: 1995-2014, 2014-2015. 
  • Nursing Alumni News, in print. 1991-1993. 
  • School of Nursing Newsletter, in print. 1988-1991. 
  • Nursing Alumni, in print. 1987-1989. 
  • School of Nursing Alumni Newsletter, in print. 1977-1986. 
  • School of Nursing Alumni News, in print. 1975-1976. 
• Medical School Yearbooks: 
  • Vitruvius, then a variety of other titles: 1989-2016. Also in the Shannon Reference Room, 1989-1996. 
  • Corks and Curls: Med School Edition: 1982-1988. Also in the Shannon Reference Room. 
  • Biopsy: 1947, 1948, 1949, and 1970. 
• Medical School Course Catalog: 
  • Available in print: 1952-1963; 1963-2002. 

All materials are in print at the Law Library unless otherwise noted. Contact the Law Library Special Collections with questions at (434) 924-3384 or archives@law.virginia.edu. Professional school library access is generally limited to students, staff, and faculty of that school; visitors should call ahead before visiting in person. 

• Law School News and other newsletters 
• Law's alumni magazine: UVA Lawyer, online 2002-present. 
  • In print, 1987-1994 and 1994-present. 
• Law School yearbooks:
  • Corks and Curls: Barrister edition: 1983-1991. Also in the Shannon Reference Room. 
• Law Department / School course catalogs:
  • 1868-1986; 1920-2007.

All materials are available in print at Darden's Camp Library. Contact them at 434-924-7321 or library@darden.virginia.edu with questions. Professional school library access is generally limited to students, staff, and faculty of that school; visitors should call ahead before visiting in person. 

• The Darden Report, Darden's alumni magazine and online news outlet
  • In print: 1974-2019, available by request. 2012-present available online. 
• Darden School Yearbook: 1977-2012.
  • Available in print and by request. 
• Darden Course Catalog: 1955-1986.
  • Available in print and by request. 
• Bound clippings (photocopies) of articles about Darden (from a variety of publications): 1987-1994. 

There are many other UVA, especially student, publications for which we hold just a handful of issues. Find a full list of UVA Periodicals held by the library in Virgo. Many academic departments send out newsletters, see each department's website or staff for details. Some academic departments have historic materials in the University Archives, but not all; check Virgo and the UA Record Groups. 

Final Exercises Programs

Final exercises (graduation) programs are available in print in Special Collections: 1888-1986, 1894-1941, 1984-present. Some years missing. Contain lists of graduates for all schools of the University and information on awards, honorary societies, and departmental degree ceremonies. 

The University of Virginia Newsletter

Published by the Weldon Cooper Center for Public Service from 1918 through 2008, this newsletter is available in print by request, 1925-63, and on microfilm from 1925-65, in print 1997-2008; also in Special Collections from 1918-1997 and 1997-2008. These newsletters are an awesome resource on a wide variety of topics, including articles on Virginia history, University history, contemporary issues, public policy, and more. A handwritten index to this publication is available in Special Collections covering 1932-1978. 

The UVA Press

The University of Virginia Press was founded in 1963 - all titles are approved by the Board of Visitors. The Press focuses primarily on the humanities and social sciences with special concentrations in American history, African American studies, southern studies, literature, ecocriticism, architecture, and regional books. 

The Virginia Quarterly Review

The VQR was founded in 1925 and is still a part of the University, though fairly independent. A quarterly publication publishing literature, poetry, journalism, photography, and graphic arts. Available online and in print in Shannon's Reference Room and by request. 

Studies in Bibliography

Published by the Bibliographic Society, this annual journal focuses on print materials, textual criticism, maps, manuscripts, etc. The group also provides scholarships, supports exhibits, and runs a Book Collecting Contest. SiB is available online and in print; view their other publications.