Skip to main content

STS Thesis Guide

A complete overview to the thesis process in STS 4500/4600 from the history to binding.

Overall Look of Thesis Title Pages and Contents

Resources for Common Knowledge

General Databases

  • Large general database of articles from scholarly journals and a few newspapers on many topics. Also includes reference books (World Almanac, American Heritage Dictionary), biographies, speeches and other primary source documents.

MasterFILE Premier

  • Large collection of general interest journals and magazines, plus reference books such as the World Almanac, American Heritage Dictionary, biographies, speeches and other documents, country reports, and several hundred thousand photos, maps, and flags.

Oxford English Dictionary

  • Has definitions for most of the words in the English language but also information on their origins and quotations showing their range of meanings from the time they entered the language to the present.

Oxford Reference Online

  • A large collection of basic information on many subjects drawn from reference books published by Oxford University Press.

Statistical Abstract of the United States

  • The Statistical Abstract of the United States is a one-volume, comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Use the Abstract as a convenient volume for statistical reference, and as a guide to sources of more information both in print and on the Web.

U. S. History in Context

  • Primary documents, secondary reference sources (Scribner's Dictionary of American History and the Dictionary of American Biography, etc.), and journal articles covering all areas of U.S. history from pre-colonial times to the present day.

Discipline-Specific Databases

Bioscience

  • BioscienceNetBase
  • Searchable full-text of over 180 reference handbooks in the biosciences.

Business

  • Mergent Online
  • Information on over 35,000 current and former publicly traded companies, both from the US and from around the world. Company histories and over 200,000 annual reports in pdf, 30 years of stock prices, etc.
  • ReferenceUSA
  • ReferenceUSA provides numerous databases for business and consumer research. It offers access to over 20 million businesses and 222 million consumers.

Engineering

  • CRCnetBase
  • Searchable full-text of hundreds of reference handbooks in engineering, chemistry, biology, medicine, technology and the environment.
  • EngNetBase
  • Handbooks and other reference books from CRC Press dealing with all areas of engineering. Individual titles are listed in the Virgo Library Catalog.
  • Referex Engineering
  • Large collection of e-books from Elsevier and some other publishers. Search for keywords or for particular books or browse subject lists. Includes titles on materials, mechanical, electronic, electrical, chemical, petrochemical, and process engineering.

Medicine

  • Health Source - Consumer Edition
  • Magazines, pamphlets and reference books covering a wide range of health topics. Includes a drug guide and a medical dictionary.
  • Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
  • Scholarly journals and some reference books covering nursing and allied health professions.
  • UpToDate
  • Practical clinical reference designed to provide quick access to synthesized medical information in an easy-to-use format.

Philosophy

  • Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy
  • Search by keyword or browse alphabetically. Includes references to journal articles. Cf. Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy and Dictionary of the History of Ideas.

Need a resource that's not on this list? Email Maggie at maggie[at]virginia[dot]edu