Subject encyclopedias can provide detailed and authoritative background information that can help you to begin your research. The articles can define terms, give an overview of a topic and suggest directions for narrowing your research. They can also provide bibliographies of books and articles for more in-depth research.
y. 2004. Covers many aspects of Russian and Soviet history. Alderman Reference DK 14 .E53 2004 4 vols.
Harvard Project on the Soviet Social System Online The digital collection consists chiefly of summary transcripts of 705 interviews conducted with refugees from the USSR during the early years of the Cold War. A unique source for the study of Soviet society between 1917 and the mid-1940s, the HPSSS includes vast amounts of one-of-a-kind data on political, economic, social and cultural conditions.
Keyword search should be "Google-like," just enter whatever terms you want; no need for connectors like and.
Will search the title, author's name or description of the item.
There are also some Subject terms that indicate primary source materials:
Notebooks, sketchbooks, etc.
Personal narratives (used in relation to specific events only)
Songs and music
Speeches, addresses, etc.*
*Used with individuals' names,classes of persons (e.g., soldiers), and organizations.
VIRGO Classic In Basic Search mode choose "Begins With" and then select "Title" when searching for a known item, or "Subject" when searching for terms like Soviet Union will reveal related subject headings and different subdivisions--for example, Soviet Union--1917-1936--Politics and Government.
Some large primary source collections:
Cumings, Alex G., ed. Documents of Soviet History. Gulf Breeze, FL: Academic Engagement Press, 1998. Organized chronologically. Covers period 1917-1936. Communist Party discussions and statements of policy. If a document is abridged, the abridgement should be noted, and the original sources (usually in Russian) supplied for further reference.
The Russian Revolution from the October Revolution to the Moscow Trials, 1917-1936. Nendeln, Liechstenstein: Kraus Reprint, 1975. Six-volume set organized by broad theme, then chronology. Includes oppositional documents, as well as works by Communist leaders. Some are in English, some in German.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Chicago Defender, Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, Norfolk Journal and Guide, Pittsburgh Courier, NY Amsterdam News, Baltimore Afro-American, and Washington Post.
Unavailable through VIRGO or unavailable in full-text via our article databases does not mean inaccessible or even seriously inconvenient. U.Va. Library has a great interlibrary loan service that should put the needed article in your inbox or the book in your hands within a few days of your requesting it.
Create an account with our Interlibrary Loan Department (log on as first-time user).