Skip to main content

American Studies Distinguished Majors

Accessing Databases from Off Grounds

The Libraries provide three types of Web resources:

  • E-books, images and other databases created by the Libraries. These are either out of copyright or were created at the University and are generally freely available to all.
  • E-books, e-journals, and other databases provided via open access.  These are generally provided by a publisher or government agency and are freely available to all.
  • E-books, e-journals, images and other databases that are covered by copyright. The Libraries license their use for the University and the contracts generally restrict use to students, faculty and staff of the University. See access policy information if you’re not sure about your user status.

These licensed databases can normally be used only from computers on Grounds, but there are workarounds to allow use from home or while traveling.

EZproxy: ITS maintains a proxy server (EZproxy) that provides access to selected Web resources, including all UVA Library databases. You simply logon via the NetBadge prompt when attempting to access a database that you would link to from the Library’s website.

EZProxy can provide good access to licensed Web resources. It simply requires a NetBadge login, and will also work on any platform/browser, including mobile devices.

UVA Anywhere: ITS provides a “virtual private network” that puts your computer temporarily on the UVA network. You’ll need to register with ITS to put a certificate on your computer, and then download and install the network software.

UVA Anywhere is available for Windows, Linux, and Macintosh computers. Once configured, UVA Anywhere provides reliable, fast access not only to Library databases, but also to non-Web resources such as EndNote and Home Directory. Setup is more complicated than for proxy and requires downloading software. There can be problems with software firewalls and with some Internet service providers, including AOL.

UVA Libraries Reload Button

Doing research off-Grounds? Try out the reload button! Add the button to your browser's bookmark toolbar (see instructions below), and whenever you come across a journal or article you think you should be able to access, click the button to reload the page through the UVA Library proxy.

 

Reload @ UVA

 

Firefox:
Drag the button to the bookmarks toolbar or right click and select the "Bookmark This Link" option.

Chrome or Safari:
Drag the button to the bookmarks toolbar. If the bookmarks toolbar isn't visible, press Ctrl + Shift + B (in Chrome).

Internet Explorer:
Right click the button and choose the "Add to favorites..." option. You may get a warning about adding unsafe links. While it's good practice to be wary, we believe this link is safe.

*Note: Reloading the page through the proxy still won't give you access if it's a resource we don't subscribe to. To verify access, look up the journal or database in the appropriate list.  Credit to Robin Dasler at UMD for developing this simple, yet key, research tool!