Accessing Electronic Resources

Large collection of e-books. Topics include history, archaeology, area studies, art, folklore, literature, music, philosophy, political science, religion, and women's studies. Individual titles are listed in Virgo.

Each of the several hundred Cambridge Companions is a collection of introductory essays on aspects of a writer, artist, philosopher, religious thinker, cultural topic or period.

Searchable full-text of hundreds of reference handbooks in engineering, chemistry, biology, medicine, technology and the environment.

Electronic books by university presses and other scholarly publishers, as well as a collection of older titles by major authors. Individual titles are listed in Virgo.
Requires both Ebsco and Adobe Digital Editions accounts.

Over 140,000 recent e-books from university presses and other scholarly publishers. Individual titles are listed in Virgo.
Includes Every Voice: Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion collection.

HathiTrust Digital Library is a digital preservation repository which provides long-term preservation and access services for public domain and in copyright content from a variety of sources, totaling nearly 11 million titles. All users can view the content online, but only UVa-affiliated researchers can download titles for offline use.

Handbooks and other information on chemistry and engineering. Topics include textiles, adhesives, metals, plastics, and other materials; biotechnology; food science; pharmaceuticals; industrial safety; aerospace; and most areas of engineering. Individual titles are listed in Virgo.

A large collection of basic information on many subjects drawn from reference books published by Oxford University Press.

Recent books published by Oxford University Press. Individual titles are listed in Virgo. The Library has these browsable subject collections: Economics and Finance, History, Philosophy, Political Science, and Religion. Access to pre-2015 content is limited to 5 simultaneous users, everything else is unlimited.

Full-text e-books of classic works in philosophy, religion, and literature.

Full books and chapters from APA books, classic books published by others, and the full electronic release of the Encyclopedia of Psychology. New books are added each month.

Platform has changed to O'Reilly for Higher Education. Books on all aspects of computers, programming and the Web from such publishers as O'Reilly, Sams, New Riders, Adobe.

Full text of articles from most journals and some book series published by Elsevier Science.

Searchable full-text of journals and ebooks published by Springer and its subsidiaries such as Physica and Birkhäuser in chemistry, geosciences, computer science, life sciences, mathematics, medicine, physics, engineering, ecology, law, and economics.

Full text of ca. 600 books on the lives and works of U.S. and international authors. Recommended books and articles.