VIRGO-- The U.Va. Library Catalog
Keyword search should be "Google-like," just enter whatever terms you want; no need for connectors like and.
Will search the title, author's name or description of the item.
There are also some Subject terms that indicate primary source materials:
Archives*
Correspondence*
Diaries*
Early works to 1800
Facsimilies
Notebooks, sketchbooks, etc.
Pamphlets
Personal narratives (used in relation to specific events only)
Songs and music
Sources
Speeches, addresses, etc.*
Treaties
*Used with individuals' names,classes of persons (e.g., soldiers), and organizations.
Google Books Searches the full text of thousands of books. If used in conjunction with Amazon.com full text search of a book, can get most of the text of a book.
WorldCat Online listing of books, videos, manuscripts, and other materials held by thousands of libraries worldwide. Libraries that own each item are listed. Searchable by title, author, or keyword.
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography Lives of British persons from the earliest times to the end of the 20th century. IMPORTANT: our access is limited; please click the LOGOUT link when done.
Journal Finder —Perhaps the Library’s best-kept secret. Type in the title of your journal to see which databases provide access to it in full text. (Access from the Library’s main page using the drop-down for “Also Try” beneath the VIRGO search box.) This and Google Scholar are the best ways to track down citations.
Churchill Archive (trial for Fall 2017) More than 800,000 pages of original documents, produced between 1874 and 1965, ranging from Winston S. Churchill’s personal correspondence to his official exchanges with kings, presidents, politicians, and military leaders. You can access the full archive, as well as specially commissioned essays written by leading historians and curated groups of documents focusing on wide areas of study and research.
Hansard 1803-2005 (Hansard Millbanks) Searchable site of debates in Parliament, produced from digitised editions of Commons and Lords Hansard, the Official Report of parliamentary activities. This is part of a project led by the Commons and Lords libraries.
Search = aeroplanes Iraq
British Parliamentary Papers in Shannon Library This guide is meant for those beginning research in British Parliamentary Papers. It focuses on Shannon Library's 19th and 20th century holdings and lists indexes and finding aids for Sessional papers (Bill, Reports and Command Papers), Journals, and Debates.
British Documents on Foreign Affairs--Reports and Papers from the Foreign Office Confidential Print. Diplomatic dispatches and other papers that, went to the king, were sent to important embassies abroad, or were circulated to other major departments of government. As its name indicates, the Confidential Print was not available to the public because it included sensitive information. Series B, parts II and II, cover the Near and Middle East; series G, parts I and II, covers Africa, including Egypt. Held in Shannon Library.
Mass Observation Online -- Mass Observation Online makes available original manuscript and typescript papers created and collected by the Mass Observation organisation, as well as printed publications, photographs and interactive features. A pioneering social research organisation, Mass Observation was founded in 1937 by anthropologist Tom Harrisson, film-maker Humphrey Jennings and poet Charles Madge. Their aim was to create an 'anthropology of ourselves', and by recruiting a team of observers and a panel of volunteer writers they studied the everyday lives of ordinary people in Britain. This resource covers the original Mass Observation project, the bulk of which was carried out from 1937 until the mid-1950s, offering an unparalleled insight into everyday life in Britain during these transformative years.
The Listener Historical Archive 1929-1951 --The Listener was a weekly publication, established by the BBC in 1929 as the medium for reproducing radio - and later, television - programs in print. It is the only record and means of accessing the content of many early broadcasts. It covered both intellectual and current events in British society.
British Pathe -- Pioneering producer of newsreels from 1902-1970. The collection includes "Churchill: a Life on Film." Many more newsreels can be found at Youtube or The U.Va. Library's Streaming Videos Guide.
Nineteenth Century British Library Newspapers Searchable full text and page images of 48 national and regional British newspapers from the collections of the British Library. For "The Times" see "The Times: Digital Archive."
Search: Gordon Khartoum Dates Between = Jan 1, 1885 - June 30, 1885
Manchester Guardian (1821-2003) and The Observer (1791-2003) The Observer is a British newspaper published on Sundays. In the same place on the political spectrum as its sister papers the Guardian and the Guardian Weekly. It takes a social liberal or social democratic line on most issues. First published in 1791, it is the world's oldest Sunday newspaper.
The Times: Digital Archive, 1785-1985 Search the full text of The Times (London), including articles, advertisements, and picture captions.
Search: Amritsar Publication Date Between = April 13, 1919 - Dec 31, 1919
British Periodicals This database provides access to the searchable full text of hundreds of periodicals from the late seventeenth century to the early twentieth, comprising millions of high-resolution facsimile page images. Topics covered include literature, philosophy, history, science, the social sciences, music, art, drama, archaeology and architecture
Periodicals Archive Online Search the full text of nearly 400 international humanities and social sciences journals published from 1770 to the 1990's.
Advanced Search: "Boer War" Publication Date Between = Oct 1, 1899 - Dec 31, 1905
Document Type = Article
Economist Historical Archive, 1843-2006 Weekly reporting, commentary and analysis of global developments in politics, business, science, technology and culture from 1843 to 2006.
Search: war and "New Zealand" Publication Date Between = 1860-1872
Limit results by Article Type = News
ProQuest Congressional provides mostly full-text publications from the U.S. Congress, including testimony from Congressional hearings, legislative histories of laws, reports to Congress, etc.
Search: NATO Date is Between = Jan 1, 1948 - Dec 31, 1950
Search: "Marshall Plan" Date is Between = June 1, 1947-Dec 31, 1951
Digital National Security Archive contains declassified documents used by the U.S. government in conducting foreign policy. The materials are obtained through the Freedom of Information Act. The non-subscription National Security Archive site at George Washington University contains some documents that are not included in the Digital National Security Archive.
Search Documents: Keyword = Korea Truman Date = Jan 1,1948 - Dec 31,1951
Declassified Documents Reference System provides access to collections of declassified documents from the CIA, FBI, presidential libraries, and other agencies, from the 1940's through the 1980's. Put a phrase in single quotes.
Advance Search: 'Berlin blockade' Issue Date = 1948-1949
Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS) , 1932-present. Presents the official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions and diplomacy. Contains documents from the departments of State and Defense, the National Security Council, CIA, presidential libraries, etc. This searchable online version from the Department of State includes many volumes from the Truman through the Ford administrations. The print volumes are in the Government Information Resources Stacks, Shannon 3rd floor, call number 1.1
Frontline Diplomacy: the Foreign Affairs Oral History Collection Oral history interviews with hundreds of U.S. diplomatic personnel. Most inteviews cover the late 1940's to the 1990's, with some coverage from the 1920's through World War II. In addition to searching the collection, you can browse by a diplomat's name or by subject.
Search this Collection = Turkey "Truman Doctrine"
Presidential libraries of most Chief Executives since Harry Truman provide some online documents on their web sites. This National Archives site points to various presidential library web sites.
The Library has a number of significant microform collections pertaining to International Relations (CIA Research Reports; Confidential US State Department Central Files; OSS/State Department Intelligence and Research Reports; Records of the Joint Chiefs of Staff) and United States History (President Franklin D. Roosevelt's Office Files; President Harry S. Truman's Office Files; Harry S. Truman Presidential Oral Histories Collection) as well as filmed collections of Personal Papers (Dean Acheson; Cordell Hull; George C. Marshall; Henry L. Stimson). Microforms are located on Shannon Library 3rd floor and staff in the Government Information Resources department can assist you.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers Searchable full text backfiles of the New York Times (1851-2006), Wall Street Journal (1889-1991), Chicago Tribune (1849-1986), Los Angeles Times (1881-1986), Washington Post (1877-1992), and Chicago Defender (1910-1975).
Search NY Times: Advanced Search = Turkey AND communism AND Truman
Date Range = 1945-1947