A large collection of reference sources published by Oxford University Press, including the Oxford Dictionary of Dance. This is a good place to search for definitions and brief biographical background on choreographers or performers.
Indexes over 2000 journals with full text for over 700 and for books and other publications. Topics covered include archaeology, art, dance, drama, ethnic and women's studies, history, literature, music, philosophy, poetry, religion.
Project MUSE hosts more than 800 journals and more than 90,000 books covering the humanities and social sciences from nearly 400 leading university presses, scholarly societies, and related publishers.
This journal of the American Dance Therapy Association reports the latest findings in dance/movement therapy theory, research, and clinical practice. The American Journal of Dance Therapy (AJDT) presents original contributions, case material, reviews, and studies by leading educators and practitioners in the field.
Offering the best from both established dance historians and the new generation of dance scholars, this journal covers a wide variety of topics, including dance and music, theater, film, literature, painting, and aesthetics.
DRJ is a peer-reviewed premiere publication for dance scholarship of international reach and includes articles, book reviews, and lists books received. Published articles address dance history, theory, pedagogy, politics, science, ethnography, and intersections with cultural, gender, critical race, and diasporic studies among others.
TDR provides scholarship on performances and their social, economic, and political contexts. With an emphasis on the interdisciplinary, experimental, and avant-garde, the journal covers dance theater, performance art, popular entertainment, media, sports, and rituals in politics and everyday life.
This journal examines screendance in the context of contemporary cultural debates about interdisciplinarity, artistic agency, practice as theory, and curatorial practices. Critiques are grounded in pre-existing and yet to be articulated methodologies from the fields of dance, performance, visual art, cinema and media arts, drawing on their practices, technologies, theories and philosophies.
Contains both scholarly and practical articles relevant to various populations within the dance community, including public schools K-12, private schools, private studios, higher education, and community education. Topics within the journal include but are not limited to: training of dancers, curriculum, pedagogy, teaching methodology, best practices, standards, assessment, dance administration, collaboration, creativity, dance advocacy and social justice issues.
PAJ explores innovative work in theatre, performance art, dance, video, writing, technology, sound, and music, bringing together all live arts in thoughtful cultural dialogue. Issues include critical essays, artists’ writings, interviews, plays, drawings and notations, with extended coverage of performance, festivals, and books.
Performance Research is a specialist journal that aims to promote a dynamic interchange between scholarship and practice in the expanding field of performance. Interdisciplinary in vision and international in scope, its emphasis is on contemporary performance arts within changing cultures.
Writings on Dance is a journal of analysis, commentary, theory of the moving body, committed to supporting alternative practices in dance and other arts through documentation, critical reflection, and commentary. It is primarily a journal by and for artists.
Patrons using Google Chrome must have the newest version of the Chrome browser in order to continue watching content on Digital Theatre+.
Digital Theatre+ collaborates with over 50 world-class theatre companies, industry associations, practitioners, teachers, examination boards and scholars to capture and curate live performance in stunning quality. The database also brings a range of insights from behind the scenes and educational resources to support study at every level.
Drama Online introduces new writers alongside the most iconic names in playwriting history, providing contextual and critical background through scholarly works and practical guides. The constantly growing collection meets the full range of teaching needs for theatre studies, literature courses and drama schools. From the epic to the monologue; ensemble to one-person plays; comedy to tragedy; the historical to the contemporary; and from the highly political to the profoundly personal, there is plenty to discover.
Jacob’s Pillow is a National Historic Landmark, a National Medal of Arts recipient, and home to America’s longest running dance festival. Each year thousands of people from across the U.S. and around the globe experience the Festival with more than 50 dance companies and 200 free performances, talks, and events. Jacob’s Pillow Dance Interactive is an ever-growing collection of dance videos filmed at Jacob’s Pillow from the 1930s to today.
Free access to video and audio recordings held in the Jerome Robbins Archive of the Recorded, Mikhail Baryshnikov Archive, Dance Theater Workshop Video Archive, Victor Jessen Video Archive, National Dance Institute Archive, PS 122 Archive, Merce Cunningham Archive, and David Gordon Archive.
Numeridanse offers free access to filmed performances, documentaries, interviews, and dance videos. Numeridanse is headed and coordinated by the Maison de la Danse, Lyon, and offers access to butoh, classical ballet, neo-classical ballet, baroque, Indian, African, flamenco, contemporary, traditional dances, hip-hop, tango, jazz, circus arts, performance, etc.
Large collection of classical and world music from the Naxos and Marco Polo labels. Recordings plus descriptive information.NOTE: 1) Please logout at the end of your session. 2) Bookmarks won't work unless "default.asp" is removed from the end of the URL.
The Free Music Archive is an interactive library of high-quality, legal audio downloads directed by WFMU, the most renowned freeform radio station in America. Radio has always offered the public free access to new music. Every MP3 you discover on The Free Music Archive is pre-cleared for certain types of uses that would otherwise be prohibited by copyright laws that were not designed for the digital era.
Browse more than 4,321 items and 13 collections in the digital American Vaudeville Museum Archive to learn more about how this popular form of entertainment helped shape American Popular culture we know today.