LibGuides: EGMT 1540: The Ethics of Piracy, from the High Seas to Torrents: Home

Finding Scholarly Articles and Other Secondary Sources

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Large general database of articles from scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers on many topics. Also includes reference books (World Almanac, American Heritage Dictionary), biographies, speeches, images, and other primary source documents.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Topics such as marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Find articles plus financial data, books, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, market, industry, and country reports, company profiles, and SWOT analyses.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Find articles about the history of the world from 1450 to the present, published in over 2,000 journals from many countries. Includes book reviews. Does not include articles about the US or Canada. For these see America: History & Life.
America: History & Life (1964-present) This link opens in a new window
Covers the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to present with records from 2,000 English-language journals published worldwide. Includes book reviews.
MLA International Bibliography (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window
Lists books plus articles and essays from journals and books on literature, linguistics, and folklore. Before 1956 covered only scholarship published in North America.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to millions of journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. The Archive Journal Collection is included.

Journal Finder
Type in the title of your journal to see which databases provide access to it in full text. (Access from the Library’s main page using the drop-down for “Also Try” beneath the VIRGO search box.) This and Google Scholar are the best ways to track down citations.
Google Scholar
A useful free index to scholarly literature. "Cited by" can show more recent articles that have used a source of interest. "Related articles" also provides links to additional sources. In Settings, you can create "access links" for the University of Virginia Library (Find@UVA).

Finding Books and Government Documents

Keyword search should be "Google-like," just enter whatever terms you want; no need for connectors like and.
Will search the title, author's name or description of the item.

There are also some Subject terms that indicate primary source materials:

Archives*
Correspondence*
Diaries*
Early works to 1800
Facsimilies
Notebooks, sketchbooks, etc.
Pamphlets
Personal narratives (used in relation to specific events only)
Songs and music
Sources
Speeches, addresses, etc.*
Treaties

*Used with individuals' names,classes of persons (e.g., soldiers), and organizations.

VIRGO Classic In Basic Search mode choose "Begins With" and then select "Title" when searching for a known item, or "Subject" when searching for terms like Pirates will reveal related subject headings and different subdivisions--for example, Pirates--Africa, North--History--18th century.

Google Books Searches the full text of thousands of books. If used in conjunction with Amazon.com full text search of a book, can get most of the text of a book.

Calendar of State Papers Index to British government documents, including summaries and excerpts of correspondence, reports and other papers. The 16th and 17th centuries are most relevant for the purposes of this course. The Calendars are divided by series (Foreign, Domestic,Ireland, Colonial) and by reign (ex., Elizabeth I, Charles I, Charles II). Many are available in full text from Hathi Trust. For an example, see Calendar of State Papers Relating to Ireland , v. 1, and search foir "Baltimore" and "Turks." Gale, a company that has produced online editions of the State Papers (which we haven't purchased at this time), has provided some essays explaining the types of materials available in the State Papers, and putting them in context:

Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800 This link opens in a new window
Searchable full text with page images of books published in 17th- and 18th-century America. Browsable by genre, subject, author, printer, place of publication, and language. See also Early English Books Online and Eighteenth Century Collections Online.
ECCO: Eighteenth Century Collection Online (1701-1800) This link opens in a new window
Searchable full text and page images for books, almanacs, broadsides, magazines, pamphlets, etc in any language from the British Isles and North America, and in English from the rest of the world. See also Early American Imprints.
State Papers Online, 1509-1714: Part III: The Stuarts and Commonwealth, James I - Anne I, 1603-1714: State Papers Domestic This link opens in a new window
State Papers Online offers original historical materials across the widest range of government concern, from high level international politics and diplomacy to the charges against a steward for poisoning a dozen or more people. The correspondence, reports, memoranda, and parliamentary drafts from ambassadors, civil servants and provincial administrators present a full picture of Tudor and Stuart Britain.

The National Archives of the UK: SP 8, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 20, 21, 22, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 44
(714,092 manuscript images (single or double folio) and 270,596 calendar entries)
State Papers Online: Eighteenth Century 1714-1782 Part I: State Papers Domestic, Military, Naval and Registers of the Privy Council This link opens in a new window
Offers online access to approximately 300,000 government manuscripts that reveal the behind the scenes, day to day running of the British government during the reigns of King George I (1714-1727), George II (1727-1760), and part of the reign of George III (up to 1782), plus Military, Naval, Plantation Registers, Sheriffs Lists and State Papers Scotland and Ireland. Key themes covered are the establishment of the British Empire as a dominant colonial power, the development of agriculture and industrialization, and Britain during the Age of Enlightenment.
ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new window
Information by and about the U.S. Congress: documents and reports, Legislative Histories, hearings, and members and committees. Search the Congressional Record, Federal Register, Federal Regulations, The Hill, and Roll Call. Formerly LexisNexis Congressional.

Getting Materials Not in U.Va. Library--Interlibrary Loan

Unavailable through VIRGO or unavailable in full-text via our article databases does not mean inaccessible or even seriously inconvenient. U.Va. Library has a great interlibrary loan service that should put the needed article in your inbox or the book in your hands within a few days of your requesting it.

Create an account with our Interlibrary Loan Department.

Finding Newspaper Articles

Factiva This link opens in a new window
Company and business information from Dow Jones; articles from over 6,000 newspapers and periodicals plus news photographs. Select "News pages" to browse daily issues of recent newspapers from many countries; use "Search" to find older articles. Access, provided through VIVA Consortium, is limited to 70 concurrent users.
America's Historical Newspapers (1690-1991) This link opens in a new window
Searchable full text collection of US newspapers. For additional titles see 19th Century U.S. Newspapers.
Times Digital Archive: 1785-2014 This link opens in a new window
The full text of the Times of London from 1785-2014.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Chicago Defender, Chicago Tribune, Norfolk Journal and Guide, Pittsburgh Courier, NY Amsterdam News, Baltimore Afro-American, Washington Post, and The Guardian & The Observer.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Full-text of newspaper, magazine, and journal articles from 200 ethnic, minority, and native publications in the U.S., in English and in Spanish.

Finding Legal Resources

Hein Online This link opens in a new window
Retrospective, full-text .pdf coverage of hundreds of legal periodicals, U.S. Supreme Court cases, the U.S. Statutes at Large, Congressional Record, hearings and other legislative history materials, Federal Register, U.S. Attorney General opinions, U.S. treaties and agreements, Foreign and International Law, Israel Law Reports, English Reports, Hague Academy Recueil des Cours, Parker School of Foreign and Comparative Law collection, and the Virginia Law Weekly archive. Searchable by citation, author/title, and keyword.
LexisNexis Academic (now NexisUni) This link opens in a new window
News and business information from sources around the world; book reviews, biographical, and other reference sources; U.S. Code, constitution, and court cases. Includes many newspapers. Most entries are full-text, some updated daily.

Finding Images

ArtStor Images of world art from all periods, including paintings, drawings, prints, historic photographs, architecture and design. Tips on using ArtStor.

EGMT 1540: The Ethics of Piracy, from the High Seas to Torrents

Finding Scholarly Articles and Other Secondary Sources

Finding Books and Government Documents

Getting Materials Not in U.Va. Library--Interlibrary Loan

Finding Newspaper Articles

Finding Legal Resources

Finding Images

Contact Us

About the Library

Using the Library

Other Sites