LibGuides: HIEU 4502: France and Algeria: Home

Finding Scholarly Articles and Other Secondary Sources

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Large general database of articles from scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers on many topics. Also includes reference books (World Almanac, American Heritage Dictionary), biographies, speeches, images, and other primary source documents.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Find articles about the history of the world from 1450 to the present, published in over 2,000 journals from many countries. Includes book reviews. Does not include articles about the US or Canada. For these see America: History & Life.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to millions of journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. The Archive Journal Collection is included.
API available, more information here: APIs for Scholarly Research
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Project MUSE hosts more than 800 journals and more than 90,000 books covering the humanities and social sciences from nearly 400 leading university presses, scholarly societies, and related publishers.
Political Science Complete This link opens in a new window
Political Science Complete provides nearly 340 full-text reference books and monographs and more than 44,000 full-text conference papers, which includes those from the International Political Science Association. The database also provides a subject-specific thesaurus with more than 23,500 terms to provide subject searching guidance to researchers.Subject coverage includes comparative politics, humanitarian issues, international relations, law and legislation, non-governmental organizations and political theory.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
SocINDEX with Full Text offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. These include abortion, criminology and criminal justice, demography, ethnic and racial studies, gender studies, marriage and family, political sociology, religion, rural and urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse and other addictions, violence and many others.

Journal Finder
Type in the title of your journal to see which databases provide access to it in full text. (Access from the Library’s main page using the drop-down for “Also Try” beneath the VIRGO search box.) This and Google Scholar are the best ways to track down citations.
Google Scholar
A useful free index to scholarly literature. "Cited by" can show more recent articles that have used a source of interest. "Related articles" also provides links to additional sources. In Settings, you can create "access links" for the University of Virginia Library (Find@UVA).

Finding Books and Government Documents

Keyword search should be "Google-like," just enter whatever terms you want; no need for connectors like and.
Will search the title, author's name or description of the item.

There are also some Subject terms that indicate primary source materials:

Archives*
Correspondence*
Diaries*
Facsimilies
Notebooks, sketchbooks, etc.
Pamphlets
Personal narratives (used in relation to specific events only)
Songs and music
Sources
Speeches, addresses, etc.*
Treaties

*Used with individuals' names,classes of persons (e.g., soldiers), and organizations.

VIRGO Classic In Basic Search mode choose "Begins With" and then select "Title" when searching for a known item, or "Subject" when searching for terms like Pirates will reveal related subject headings and different subdivisions--for example, Pirates--Africa, North--History--18th century.

Google Books Searches the full text of thousands of books. If used in conjunction with Amazon.com full text search of a book, can get most of the text of a book.

Gallica
Digitized collections of the Bibliotheque Nationale de France.

ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new window
Information by and about the U.S. Congress: documents and reports, Legislative Histories, hearings, and members and committees. Search the Congressional Record, Federal Register, Federal Regulations, The Hill, and Roll Call. Formerly LexisNexis Congressional.
U.S. Declassified Documents Online This link opens in a new window
Searchable collection of over 70,000 scanned declassified U.S. documents from the 1940s onwards taken from presidential libraries, the CIA, the FBI and other agencies. Covers the Cold War, Vietnam, the civil rights movement and other events.

Foreign Relations of the United States
1932-present. Presents the official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions and diplomacy. Contains documents from the departments of State and Defense, the National Security Council, CIA, presidential libraries, etc. This searchable online version from the Department of State includes many volumes from the Truman through the Ford administrations. The print volumes are in the Government Information Resources Stacks, Shannon 3rd floor, call number 1.1
Wilson Center Digital Archive
Declassified documents from around the world. Many in English translation. User can search in full text, and browse by geography, theme, and collection .
CIA CREST Archive
. The CREST system is the publicly accessible repository of the subset of CIA records reviewed under the 25-year program in electronic format (manually reviewed and released records are accessioned directly into the National Archives in their original format). Over 11 million pages have been released in electronic format and reside on the CREST database, from which researchers have printed about 1.1 million pages.

Previously, in order to directly access CREST, a researcher was required to visit the National Archives at College Park, Maryland. CIA recognized that such visits were inconvenient and presented an obstacle to many researchers. Therefore, in January 2017, the CIA published the records of the CREST collection online.
House of Commons Hansard archives
Read debates from the Commons Chamber and Westminster Hall, Public Bill and General Committees, from November 1988 to March 2016. You can also view House of Commons Historic Hansard for debates from 1803-2005. This is now an archive and the latest debates can be found in Hansard.
House of Lords Hansard Archive
Read debates on bills, delegated legislation, statements, questions, introductions, general debates and grand committees, from November 1995 to March 2016. You can also view House of Lords Historic Hansard for debates from 1803-2005.
Europeana, the Database of EU Sources
Vast collection of primary source materials in many different formats from all countries of the European Union
Historical Archives of the European Union
Includes some digitized material, but the research guides are also very useful overviews and finding aids.

Getting Materials Not in U.Va. Library--Interlibrary Loan

Unavailable through VIRGO or unavailable in full-text via our article databases does not mean inaccessible or even seriously inconvenient. U.Va. Library has a great interlibrary loan service that should put the needed article in your inbox or the book in your hands within a few days of your requesting it.

Create an account with our Interlibrary Loan Department.

Finding Newspaper Articles

Factiva This link opens in a new window
Company and business information from Dow Jones; articles from over 6,000 newspapers and periodicals plus news photographs. Select "News pages" to browse daily issues of recent newspapers from many countries; use "Search" to find older articles. Access, provided through VIVA Consortium, is limited to 70 concurrent users.
Times Digital Archive: 1785-2019 This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1785 - 2019
The full text of the Times of London from 1785-2019.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Chicago Defender, Chicago Tribune, Norfolk Journal and Guide, Pittsburgh Courier, NY Amsterdam News, Baltimore Afro-American, Washington Post, and The Guardian & The Observer.

HIEU 4502: France and Algeria

Finding Scholarly Articles and Other Secondary Sources

Finding Books and Government Documents

Getting Materials Not in U.Va. Library--Interlibrary Loan

Finding Newspaper Articles

Contact Us

About the Library

Using the Library

Other Sites