Science & Engineering Librarian
Maggie Nunley
she/her
Contact:
Brown Library, Clark Hall
Office I-053
(Intermediate Floor, Room 053)
Office I-053
(Intermediate Floor, Room 053)
434-924-1343
Online to Print
How this page is organized:
First - materials that are either public or open access. That way if you cite them on Wikipedia, anyone can go and look at your source.
Second - databases that we have a subscription to through the Library.
Third - books and journals that we have available in print/online.
If you find something great that isn't part of this guide, email me and I'll add it!
If you find something great that the Library doesn't have, please please please, take a minute for one of these two options:
1. If it's something you need and you need it quickly, you can request it through InterLibrary Loan
- It lets you borrow items from other libraries!
- You'll need to sign up for an account if you've never used it
- They can get you a PDF of a article, book chapter, and more in 24-48 hours!
- They'll also ship things to UVA for you - take a bit longer but a great option
- And it's FREE!!!
2. If it's something you think should be part of our collection, ask us to buy it!!
- Fill out the Purchase Recommendation form
- We'll contact you if we buy the item
- AND we'll put it on reserve for you so you're the first person to check out out!
- It does take a bit - typically 21+ days but don't hesitate to Recommend and ILL! One for you ASAP and one for the UVA community!
Getting Started
- Asian Americans Advancing Justice"Asian Americans Advancing Justice is a national affiliation of five leading organizations advocating for the civil and human rights of Asian Americans and other underserved communities to promote a fair and equitable society for all. "
- The Berkley RevolutionA digital archive of over 500 items related to the Bay Areas in the 1960s and 70s.
- Densho"Online education center featuring multidisciplinary curriculum, instructional guides, and primary source material that allow teachers and students to connect with the lived experiences of Japanese Americans."
- Michigan State University - Radicalism CollectionFrom the MSU website, "The Radicalism Collection includes books, pamphlets, periodicals, posters, and ephemera covering a wide range of viewpoints on political, social, economic, and cultural issues and movements in the United States and throughout the world.
It is strongest in publications of the American left beginning in the 1960s. There are also notable collections of underground newspapers, Christian right publications, alternative periodicals, Communist Party of the United States, and a large clipping file collection.
The Radicalism Collection includes materials on the internment of Japanese Americans during World War II. Works on Asian immigration and Asian American life are also here, especially in the Nye Popular Culture Collection." - SF State College Strike CollectionDigital archive of San Fransicso State College during student strikes in 1968-69. Includes "publications, broadsides, flyers, scrapbooks, student newspapers, and other documents."
- South Asian American Digital ArchiveSAADA shares accounts of South Asian Americans.
- UC San Diego's Primary Materials for Asian AmericansOffers links to a variety of projects, exhibits, and digital histories.
Databases!
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowLarge general database of articles from scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers on many topics. Also includes reference books (World Almanac, American Heritage Dictionary), biographies, speeches, images, and other primary source documents.
- America: History & Life (1964-present) This link opens in a new windowCovers the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to present with records from 2,000 English-language journals published worldwide. Includes book reviews.
- Bibliography of Asian Studies (1971-present) This link opens in a new windowLists journal articles and book chapters on all subjects related to Asia. Most articles are in western languages. Includes book reviews.
- ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowERIC provides access to more than 1.4 million bibliographic records of journal articles, most of which are peer-reviewed, and other education-related materials, with hundreds of new records added multiple times per week. If available, links to full text are included.
- Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new windowFull-text of newspaper, magazine, and journal articles from 200 ethnic, minority, and native publications in the U.S., in English and in Spanish.
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new windowProject MUSE hosts more than 800 journals and more than 90,000 books covering the humanities and social sciences from nearly 400 leading university presses, scholarly societies, and related publishers.
- APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowBeginning in the 1800s, covers journal articles in more than 30 languages and books in English about psychology and related disciplines including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education.
- SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new windowSocINDEX with Full Text offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. These include abortion, criminology and criminal justice, demography, ethnic and racial studies, gender studies, marriage and family, political sociology, religion, rural and urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse and other addictions, violence and many others.
- Women and Social Movements This link opens in a new windowWomen and Social Movements in the United States is a resource for students and scholars of U.S. history and U.S. women's history. Organized around the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000, this collection includes 108 document projects and archives with almost 4,300 documents and more than 150,000 pages of additional full-text documents, written by more than 2,200 primary authors. It also includes book, film, and website reviews, notes from the archives, and teaching tools.
- Women and Social Movements: International This link opens in a new windowWomen and Social Movements, International is a collection of primary materials. Through the writings of women activists, their personal letters and diaries, and the proceedings of conferences at which pivotal decisions were made, this collection lets you see how women’s social movements shaped much of the events and attitudes that have defined modern life.
These are materials that are in our collections through Virgo. There will be books and e-books as well as online and print journals and newspapers!
Asian American History and Culture by ISBN: 9780765680778Publication Date: 2010-02-15With overview essays and more than 400 A-Z entries, this exhaustive encyclopedia documents the history of Asians in America from earliest contact to the present day. Organized topically by group, with an in-depth overview essay on each group, the encyclopedia examines the myriad ethnic groups and histories that make up the Asian American population in the United States. "Asian American History and Culture" covers the political, social, and cultural history of immigrants from East Asia, Southeast Asia, South Asia, the Pacific Islands, and their descendants, as well as the social and cultural issues faced by Asian American communities, families, and individuals in contemporary society. In addition to entries on various groups and cultures, the encyclopedia also includes articles on general topics such as parenting and child rearing, assimilation and acculturation, business, education, and literature. More than 100 images round out the set.
