Welcome
Welcome to the Slavic Languages and Literatures library dashboard. The dashboard provides quick links to the resources you need to succeed in your course. Whether you are online or on-Grounds, UVA Library services and support are available to all students.
Your Librarian
Your Librarian is Erin Pappas
Each school/department at UVA is assigned a research librarian. 
Connect with Erin for help with your assignments. This service is available to all students. Meeting with a librarian early in your research process can help you save time and research more efficiently.
Erin can help with: locating academic sources, brainstorming research topics, developing search strategies, capstone/thesis/dissertation planning, identifying relevant databases/journals for your research and literature reviews, and citation management. Meetings take place online via Zoom.
Ask a Librarian
Sign Up for Library events
Sign up for Library orientations, workshops, and events with our online calendar. UVA Library programming is offered in-person and online.
Search for academic articles
Academic databases contain peer-reviewed articles, scientific papers, reports, and more. These are the most used databases for Slavic research.
- ABSEEES: American Bibliography of Slavic, East European, and Eurasian Studies This link opens in a new windowLists articles, books, dissertations, etc. published in the U.S. and Canada on all aspects of eastern Europe, Russia, and other states of the former Soviet Union.
- Eastview This link opens in a new windowProvides access to several Slavic-language databases, including newspapers and academic journals.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowJSTOR provides access to millions of journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. The Archive Journal Collection is included.
API available, more information here: APIs for Scholarly Research - Pravda Digital Archive This link opens in a new windowPravda ("Truth") was the official voice of Soviet communism and the Central Committee of the Communist Party between 1918 and 1991. Founded in 1912 in St. Petersburg, Pravda originated as an underground daily workers’ newspaper, and it soon became the main newspaper of the revolutionary wing of the Russian socialist movement. Throughout the Soviet era, party members were obligated to read Pravda. Today, Pravda still remains the official organ of the Communist Party of the Russian Federation, an important political faction in contemporary Russian politics.
Search Virgo
Consult handbooks
The Palgrave Handbook of Slavic Languages, Identities and Borders by ISBN: 9781137348388This book analyzes the creation of languages across the Slavophone areas of the world and their deployment for political projects and identity building, mainly after 1989. It offers perspectives from a number of disciplines such as sociolinguistics, socio-political history and language policy.
Routledge Handbook of Russian Politics and Society by ISBN: 9781003218234Politically, economically, and socially, Russia has one of the most interesting development trajectories of any major country. This Handbook answers questions about democratic transition, the relationship between the market and democracy, stability and authoritarian politics, the development of civil society, the role of crime and corruption, the development of a market economy, and Russia's likely place in the emerging new world order.
Historical Dictionary of Russian Literature by ISBN: 9780810871823Russian literature is most celebrated for its Romantic and modernist poetry and 19th-century novels. While literary traditions of varying sorts have been part of Slavic and Russian culture for over a millennium, it is only since the 18th century that they came to resemble literature from the West. The Historical Dictionary of Russian Literature contains a chronology, an introductory essay, appendixes, and an extensive bibliography. The dictionary section has over 100 cross-referenced entries on significant people, themes, critical issues, and the most significant genres that have formed Russian Literature. This book is an excellent access point for students, researchers, and anyone wanting to know more about Russian literature.
