Welcome
Welcome to the library dashboard for ENWR courses. The dashboard provides quick links to the resources you need to succeed in your course. Whether you are online or on-Grounds, UVA Library services and support are available to all students.
Your Librarian
Your Librarian is Sherri Brown.
Each school/depa
rtment at UVA is assigned a research librarian. Sherri is the research librarian for the English department and is happy to help with your assignments. Schedule an appointment with her below. Other research librarians also provide instruction and consultation. Connect with a research librarian to discuss your research needs.
This service is available to all ENWR students, no matter your major, and meeting with a librarian early in your research process can help you save time and find the best resources.
Librarians can help with any part of your research process: brainstorming a research topic/question and creating a search strategy; finding, evaluating, and organizing your sources; integrating your sources in your writing; and creating appropriate citations. No question is too basic! Librarians can meet with you in-person or online via Zoom.
Ask a Librarian
Sign Up for Library events
Sign up for Library orientations, workshops, and events with our online calendar. UVA Library programming is offered in-person and online.
Search Virgo
Search for academic articles
Academic databases contain peer-reviewed articles, scientific papers, reports, and more. Since ENWR course topics vary widely, below you'll find some interdisciplinary databases that are useful for researching in many disciplinary areas. See the Library's A-Z database list or refer to specific Subject Guides to help you find the best databases for your research needs -- and contact us if you want advice!
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowLarge general database of articles from scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers on many topics. Also includes content from reference books, biographies, speeches, images, and other primary source documents.
- ProQuest This link opens in a new windowUse this link to search across 66 ProQuest databases. You can also use the "Search by subject area" feature on the site to limit your searches to databases in particular fields (e.g., History, Language & Literature, Performing Arts) or by format (e.g., News & Newspapers)
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new windowProject MUSE hosts more than 800 journals and more than 90,000 books covering the humanities and social sciences from nearly 400 leading university presses, scholarly societies, and related publishers.
Watch tutorials
The UVA Library offers many short tutorials and guides to help you get started with using the library and conducting research. A few are listed below. Find more at the How do I . . . ? tutorials page.
- Who is a Scholar and How do I Become One?Introduction to the concept of "scholarship as a conversation" (10-15 minutes to complete)
- Peer Review in 3 MinutesVideo providing an overview of scholarly writing and peer review.
- How Do I Start My Research?Introduction to the idea that "research is a process." (10-15 minutes to complete)
- Getting Started with VirgoGuide providing useful tips and tricks on how to search in and utilize built-in features of Virgo, the Library's catalog.
Locate resources by topic or program
More in-depth subject guides are available for many disciplines and topics. Watch a short video on how to best use subject guides for your research.