LibGuides: Chemical Engineering Library Portal: Welcome

Your Librarian

Your Librarian: Shannon McCullough

Connect with Shannon for help with your assignments. This service is available to all UVA students, and meeting with a librarian early in your research process can help you save time and improve your grade. Shannon can help with: research skills, data management, citation management, research tools and databases, and literature reviews and systematic reviews. She can meet with you in-person or online via Zoom.

Email Shannon

Request content any time

Ask a Librarian

Sign Up for Library events

Sign up for Library orientations, workshops, and events with our online calendar. UVA Library programming is offered in-person and online.

Search for academic articles

Academic databases contain peer-reviewed articles, scientific papers, reports, and more. These are the most used databases for chemical engineering research.

Engineering Village This link opens in a new window
Combines the databases Compendex, Inspec, Inspec Archive, and NTIS with one search interface.
API available, more information here: APIs for Scholarly Research
SciFinder-N This link opens in a new window
Provides access to Chemical Abstracts, including the CAplus database of chemical literature and U.S. and foreign chemical-related patents, CASREACT, and the Registry database.
Web of Knowledge/Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Includes Book Citation Index- Science (2005-), Book Citation Index- Social Science & Humanities (2005-), Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Science (1990-), Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Social Sciences & Humanities (1990-), Current Chemical Reactions (1985-), Index Chemicus (1993-), Science Citation Index Expanded (1900-), Social Sciences Citation Index (1900-), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-), and Emerging Sources Citation Index (2005-present).

API available, more information here: APIs for Scholarly Research
Use the Journal Citation Reports (JCR) to find impact factors for journals in science, social sciences, and technology.

Consult handbooks

Knovel Library This link opens in a new window
Handbooks and other information on chemistry and engineering. Topics include textiles, adhesives, metals, plastics, and other materials; biotechnology; food science; pharmaceuticals; industrial safety; aerospace; and most areas of engineering. Individual titles are listed in Virgo.
AccessEngineering This link opens in a new window
AccessEngineering is an engineering reference tool that provides seamless access to the world's best-known, most-used collection of authoritative, regularly updated engineering reference information. AccessEngineering also comprises dynamic online features, such as instructional, faculty made videos, calculators, interactive tables and charts, as well as personalization tools allowing users to organize crucial project information as they work.

Patent Searching

US Patent & Trademark Office

The US Patent & Trademark Office (USPTO) is the federal agency which serves as the national patent office and trademark registration authority for the United States

Google Patents

Google Patents is a search engine from Google that indexes patents and patent applications

Lens.org

Lens serves global patent and scholarly knowledge as a public good to inform science and technology enabled problem solving. No account required.

Basic Introduction to Patent Searching
A first stop for learning how to find existing patents

Chemical Engineering Library Portal: Welcome

Welcome

Your Librarian

Request content any time

Ask a Librarian

Sign Up for Library events

Search for academic articles

Consult handbooks

Patent Searching

Contact Us

About the Library

Using the Library

Other Sites