Welcome
Welcome to the Chemistry Library dashboard. The dashboard provides quick links to the resources you need to succeed in your course. Whether you are online or on-Grounds, UVA Library services and support are available to all students.
Your Librarian
Your Librarian is Shannon McCullough
E
ach school at UVA is assigned a research librarian. Connect with Shannon McCullough for help with your assignments. This service is available to all UVA students, and meeting with a librarian early in your research process can help you save time and improve your grade. Shannon can help with: research skills, data management, citation management, research tools and databases, and literature reviews and systematic reviews. She can meet with you in-person or online via Zoom.
Ask a Librarian
Sign Up for Library events
Sign up for Library orientations, workshops, and events with our online calendar. UVA Library programming is offered in-person and online.
Search for academic articles
Academic databases contain peer-reviewed articles, scientific papers, reports, and more. These are the most used databases for chemistry research.
- SciFinder-N This link opens in a new windowProvides access to Chemical Abstracts, including the CAplus database of chemical literature and U.S. and foreign chemical-related patents, CASREACT, and the Registry database.
- Web of Knowledge/Web of Science This link opens in a new windowIncludes Book Citation Index- Science (2005-), Book Citation Index- Social Science & Humanities (2005-), Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Science (1990-), Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Social Sciences & Humanities (1990-), Current Chemical Reactions (1985-), Index Chemicus (1993-), Science Citation Index Expanded (1900-), Social Sciences Citation Index (1900-), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-), and Emerging Sources Citation Index (2005-present).
API available, more information here: APIs for Scholarly Research - Reaxys This link opens in a new windowReaxys is a unique web-based chemistry database consisting of deeply excerpted compounds and related factual properties, reaction and synthesis information as well as bibliographic data, navigated and displayed via an actionable interface.
Consult handbooks
- Knovel Library This link opens in a new windowHandbooks and other information on chemistry and engineering. Topics include textiles, adhesives, metals, plastics, and other materials; biotechnology; food science; pharmaceuticals; industrial safety; aerospace; and most areas of engineering. Individual titles are listed in Virgo.