Classics portal: Welcome
Welcome
Welcome to the Classics library portal. The portal provides quick links to the resources you need to succeed in your course. Whether you are online or on-Grounds, UVA Library services and support are available to all students.
Your Librarian
Your Librarian is Dimitri Kastritsis
Each school/department at UVA is assigned a research librarian. Connect with Dimitri for help with your assignments. This service is available to all Classics students, and meeting with a librarian early in your research process can help you save time and get a better grade.
Dimitri can help with: learning how to use the Library online, brainstorming your research topic, developing your search strategy, capstone/thesis/dissertation planning, identifying relevant databases/journals for your literature reviews, tracking down resources, and citation management.
Dimitri can meet with you in-person or online via Zoom.
Ask a Librarian
Sign Up for Library events
Sign up for Library orientations, workshops, and events with our online calendar. UVA Library programming is offered in-person and online.
Search Virgo
Search for academic articles
Academic databases contain peer-reviewed articles, academic papers, reports, and more. Here are some useful general databases for Classics. For more specialized resources for different languages and other areas of study, ask your instructor.
- Brill Dictionary of Ancient Greek This link opens in a new windowThe Brill Dictionary of Ancient Greek is the English translation of Franco Montanari’s Vocabolario della Lingua Greca. With 140,000 entries and new entries being added (online) on a regular basis, this is an important modern dictionary for Ancient Greek and an invaluable tool for students and advanced scholars alike.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to millions of journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. The Archive Journal Collection is included.
API available, more information here: APIs for Scholarly Research - Loeb Classical Library This link opens in a new window
The digital Loeb Classical Library makes Greek and Latin literature accessible to the broadest range of readers. Harvard University Press presents an interconnected, fully searchable, perpetually growing, virtual library of all Greek and Latin literature: Epic and lyric poetry; tragedy and comedy; history, travel, philosophy, and oratory; the great medical writers and mathematicians; those Church Fathers who made particular use of pagan culture — in short, our entire Greek and Latin Classical heritage with up-to-date texts and accurate English translations. More than 520 volumes of Latin, Greek, and English texts are available in a modern interface, allowing readers to browse, search, bookmark, annotate, and share content.
- Open Greek and Latin (OGL)Library of Greek and Latin texts that includes open access to the First 1K Greek Repository and The Perseus Library among other open access repositories. Continuously updated.
- Thesaurus Linguae Latinae ( TLL ) Online This link opens in a new windowThe Thesaurus linguae Latinae is not only the largest Latin dictionary in the world, but also the first to cover all the Latin texts from the classical period up to about 600 A.D.
- WorldCat.org This link opens in a new windowOnline listing with locations of books, videos, manuscripts, and other materials in thousands of libraries worldwide. Some UVa books are not included. UVa users will see full records and holdings; others will get brief information.
Help me with Chicago Manual of Style citations
For most courses in MESA our preferred citation style is the Chicago Manual of Style.
- Use Zotero to organize your sources and generate bibliographiesGuide to downloading and using Zotero, a free application that collects, manages, and cites research sources.
- Use Zoterobib to generate example citationsConvenient citation generator (for both footnotes and bibliographies) in any style. Some citations may need manual editing. Check them against your original source, and when in doubt, refer to the Chicago Manual of Style of ask a librarian.